You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-22 17:07:30

ephase
Member
Registered: 2010-04-13
Posts: 6

[solved] Random error on package installation about Zstd

I've got a random error package decompression with pacman and zstd. The message say :

error : <file> extraction failed (zstd decompression failed : corrupt block detected)

A package concerned by this error could be installed when I try again. This can't be a corrupted package because the package is in the cache (and package signature verification will throw an error).

I've got error on fresh install sometimes when using pacstrap :

pacstrap /mnt base linux linux-firmware

I though about a RAM problem but I tested it with memtest and test it with others RAM modules . I change my SSD too.

Motherboard / CPU / RAM is under warranty then I return it to my local vendor for testing it. But on Windows with his usuals tests utilities all is OK.

my hardware :

  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600

  • 16 GB DDR4 3200

  • MSI B450 Mortar Titanium

  • Powercolor Red Devil RX5700XT

Did someone encounter a similar issue or have an idea?

Last edited by ephase (2020-06-24 08:40:21)

Offline

#2 2020-02-23 20:27:36

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 279

Re: [solved] Random error on package installation about Zstd

Reinstall zstd package. If you can't do this from installed system, use archiso, arch-chroot and install from there.

By the way: amd-ucode package installed (microcode for AMD CPU)?

Offline

#3 2020-02-24 09:04:12

ephase
Member
Registered: 2010-04-13
Posts: 6

Re: [solved] Random error on package installation about Zstd

Hi @xerxes_ and thank you for replying,

xerxes_ wrote:

Reinstall zstd package. If you can't do this from installed system, use archiso, arch-chroot and install from there.

I tried a full install tens of time but the same error occurs sometimes on the pacstrap step, sometimes on arch-chroot, sometimes with pacman on the system itself. The only thing i have not tried is change my install media (which work on my T400 laptop).

xerxes_ wrote:

By the way: amd-ucode package installed (microcode for AMD CPU)?

Yes it is.

Last edited by ephase (2020-02-24 09:07:22)

Offline

#4 2020-02-25 08:18:53

Sinn12
Member
Registered: 2020-02-22
Posts: 6

Re: [solved] Random error on package installation about Zstd

try

badblocks -v /dev/sdxy

sdxy beeing your root partition. If you encounter the problem at

pacstrap /mnt base base devel

then it is not the packages but your filesystem.

Offline

#5 2020-02-25 17:12:19

ephase
Member
Registered: 2010-04-13
Posts: 6

Re: [solved] Random error on package installation about Zstd

Hi @Sinn12,

I made the test and there is no badblock on my drive, in fact this is a new one bought last week. I'll try to downgrade bios (and AGESA) version and made a test.

Offline

#6 2020-06-24 08:39:55

ephase
Member
Registered: 2010-04-13
Posts: 6

Re: [solved] Random error on package installation about Zstd

After some tests, I return my processor to AMD for testing, they sent me a new one and problem disappeared.

Last edited by ephase (2020-06-24 08:40:06)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB