You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-28 03:46:43

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

(solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

One of the reasons I like Arch is minimalism. I use framebuffer more than  a desktop or wm. Fbterm has been my good friend in this. As of today, it disappeared from the AUR. This is so disturbing to me that I may go back to Debian or Ubuntu though even saying that is also disturbing too. Fbterm-git just vanished today. I use it on about 15 machines and poof ... gone from the repo.

Last edited by archfan777 (2020-07-01 20:54:48)

Offline

#2 2020-06-28 03:59:20

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,681

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

The project is long dead, why would having it in the AUR matter? You have the package, you're set for now, right?

Offline

#3 2020-06-28 04:10:17

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

No. I don't have the package on the machine I was installing. One of the reasons I use an application is because it is easy to obtain in the distro I use. Now it is not easy to obtain in AUR and no warning -- just disappears. If this can happen so easily in Arch, then Arch is too transient for me. Arch boasts thousands of apps in their repo but apps can just vanish without a trace or a way to get old apps. Ubuntu and debian take away things too from time to time, but there are old repos available of older software. Aur was to have this in their archives, but they don't even keep archive.

Offline

#4 2020-06-28 04:27:20

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

also, I tried to use the pkg from another machine, but it tried to update from git. ERROR failure while updating working copy of fbterm git repo. I don't know how to remake it from an existing install.

Offline

#5 2020-06-28 04:27:38

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,681

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

If you have the package on other machines, you should still  have the package. Plus, the git repo is still there in the AUR, you can still get the PKGBUILD, but if a dead and buried program is that important to you, maybe this is the wrong distro

Offline

#6 2020-06-28 04:42:01

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

I need to be able to reinstall it on other machines, but this involves me knowing how to take the fbterm-git pkg from the ~/.cache/yay directory and rebuilding it on another machine. But when it tries, it looks to the dead link in the git repo. "could not read from the remote repository." I don't know how to bypass that. When it installed on the other machines, the git repo was there. Now it seems to be gone.

Offline

#7 2020-06-28 04:54:02

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

The beauty of Arch was that dead and buried programs often still find usefulness and availability. I can name at least 20 examples of this. Take this away from Arch and I will be inclined to change to something else. IMHO, Arch is great because of its ability to make the older programs useful again. If you consider the #1 spot on distrowatch, it is so because it revived the usefulness of the old while keeping up with the new also. Again, Arch isn't great just because of the bleeding edge, but the bread and butter goodness of the older setups.

Offline

#8 2020-06-28 04:58:45

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 164

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

Scimmia wrote:

Plus, the git repo is still there in the AUR, you can still get the PKGBUILD

It is indeed gone, perhaps someone approved its deletion instead of simply orphaning the AUR package. If it can still be recovered from git history, then it can still be available as an orphaned package.

Anyway, there is nothing stopping you from building directly from upstream sources.
This is the upstream source that used by the once available AUR package. It had been archived and no longer maintained by the owner.
https://github.com/izmntuk/fbterm

This is a fork that is still being maintained
https://github.com/zhangyuanwei/fbterm

Last edited by liewkj (2020-06-28 05:21:35)

Offline

#9 2020-06-28 05:07:13

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

I figured it out. I took the fbterm-git package from the yay cache on another machine and put it into the cloud. Then I inserted it into the yay .cache of the new install  and ran makepkg -i in it. It installed.

Ugh. It installed but doesn't work... just hangs.

Last edited by archfan777 (2020-06-28 05:13:32)

Offline

#10 2020-06-28 05:16:24

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

Anyway. Thank you for your replies (liewkj & Scimmia). I will figure something out using your advice. Thank you again for the help.

Last edited by archfan777 (2020-06-28 05:20:16)

Offline

#11 2020-06-28 05:20:06

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 164

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

Actually, it is still available with:

$ git clone ssh://aur@aur.archlinux.org/fbterm-git.git

You should just download the PKGBUILD and build the package to keep it for all future installation.

Offline

#12 2020-06-28 05:21:06

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

THANKS! lifesaver

ah poo. "The authenticity of the host 'aur.archlinux.org yadayada bunch of numbers  can't be established. ECDSA key fingerprint is yadayada
"fatal, could not read from remote repository. Make sure you have the correct access rights and the repository exists. "

Last edited by archfan777 (2020-06-28 05:26:52)

Offline

#13 2020-06-28 08:03:42

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 15,326

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

git clone https://aur@aur.archlinux.org/fbterm-git.git

Offline

#14 2020-06-28 08:35:34

desaparecido
Member
From: Liège, Belgium
Registered: 2010-03-14
Posts: 151

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

ans you can always modified "source" line in PKGBUILD to target your local file,.  Archlinux is too "learn" so read about all possibilities of PKGBUILD to customize your package and about makepkg because is a powerful tool.  and certainly you will learn because you became the mainteiner of your own package, and all dependencies stuff to build (and than works) successfully.


KF5 & Plasma5 (git versions) - Awesome WM
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX - AMD FX8350 - ATI Radeon HD 7970
[testing] repo

Offline

#15 2020-06-29 00:02:53

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

I am grateful for the advice and help. We can mark this solved.

Offline

#16 2020-06-29 05:46:10

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 15,326

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

To mark it solved, edit your initial post and alter the subject line by prepending "[SOLVED]"

Offline

#17 2020-06-29 08:31:33

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,792
Website

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

Please change your topic title to something that actually describes the problem while you're marking it as solved.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … ow_to_post

Mod note: Moving to AUR Issues


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#18 2020-07-01 21:04:14

archfan777
Member
Registered: 2020-06-28
Posts: 18

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

I would say that it is an install issue, an arch issue, an aur issue, and fbterm is the problem in Arch and Arch for fbterm. SO I am correct too.

Offline

#19 2020-07-01 21:32:50

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,792
Website

Re: (solved) fbterm-git removed from AUR

  • install issue: nope, the installation of Arch Linux doesn't depend on this software.

  • arch issue: nope, AUR packages are not supported by Arch.

  • aur issue: yep. That's why I moved the topic to the AUR subforum.

smile


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB