You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-26 15:46:55

michi1990
Member
Registered: 2015-02-19
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] GDM doesn´t start unless i change to a different tty and back

I got a HP Envy x360 13-ay0251ng (AMD 4500U + Vega 6) with GDM and Gnome installed.

After the System has booted, the Screen goes black with a blinking cursor.
If i switch to another tty and check the status of the gdm.service it says: "active (running)" and the Logs are:

Started GNOME Display Manager.
GdmDisplay: Session never registered, failing
Child process -925 was already dead.
Child process -925 was already dead.
Child process -994 was already dead.

I tried the following without or partial success:
1) Disabling Wayland and using X11 -> problem stays the same but after tty switching it indeed shows X11 as Windowing System
2) Checking the entropy (was okay) and even installed haveged and enabled it -> same problem
3) Editing the service to:

 [Service]
 Type=idle

-> same problem

I tried lightdm and it works without changes. So i thought it could be a timing problem and added a 1 second sleep to the gdm.service and gdm starts now in the most cases.

Could anyone explain this behavior and can tell me a "true" fix instead of adding more time to my boot process ?

Here is the link to the full Dmesg: https://pastebin.com/amxnHP6r

any help would be appreciated

Last edited by michi1990 (2020-07-04 08:27:37)

Offline

#2 2020-06-29 07:42:59

michi1990
Member
Registered: 2015-02-19
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] GDM doesn´t start unless i change to a different tty and back

Update: It doesn´t matter if I use Kernel 5.7 or the mainline 5.8-rc3 kernel, the problem persists.

It also works more reliable after a non-coldstart.

Offline

#3 2020-06-29 13:49:38

eda2z
Member
From: Woodstock, IL
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 35

Re: [SOLVED] GDM doesn´t start unless i change to a different tty and back

Your problem sounds exactly like the one I was having as soon as I updated to the 5.7 kernel. In my case I have a Dell Precision 5720 AIO and it uses the i915 driver. I was able to fix my problem by adding the driver to /etc/mkinitcpio.conf inside MODULES=() and then rebuilding the kernel. I found the solution in the wiki.

Offline

#4 2020-07-02 05:38:36

michi1990
Member
Registered: 2015-02-19
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] GDM doesn´t start unless i change to a different tty and back

Thanks for your suggestion. I did add "amdgpu" to the Modules and it seems to work just fine.
Ill report back in a few days and close the Thread if it continues to work as its sometimes pretty random.

Offline

#5 2020-07-04 08:28:02

michi1990
Member
Registered: 2015-02-19
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] GDM doesn´t start unless i change to a different tty and back

Update: It still works. Thank you smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB