You are not logged in.

#1 2020-08-01 22:23:45

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 158
Website

[SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

I have an issue on my up to date Xorg DWM Arch Dell 9550 laptop where the UI sometimes does not update while I'm typing. It's inconsistent but sometimes when I stop typing the UI does not display the last 1-3 ish characters I've typed. It does not appear to matter what application I am using, I've seen it happen in xterm + ssh or tmux, the WhatsApp browser interface in Firefox, etc.

This is obviously infuriating, but I don't even know where to start investigating, I believe it may have started when I attempted to add some power saving settings, but I haven't managed to track down any changes that I can revert to fix the issue.

Last edited by JamieKitson (2020-08-02 15:35:08)

Offline

#2 2020-08-01 22:25:13

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,009
Website

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

Do you have the intel video driver installed? If so, remove it and use the kernel's native modesetting.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#3 2020-08-02 09:41:27

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 158
Website

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

Is that the xf86-video-intel package? I didn't have that installed yet I could still see i915 in lsmod, and I had i915 in mkinitcpio.conf. I tried blacklisting i915 and installing xf86-video-intel. But none of this seems to have any effect on lsmod, dmesg or the issue.

Offline

#4 2020-08-02 10:17:02

ondoho
Member
Registered: 2013-04-30
Posts: 636
Website

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

^ not totally convinced.

pacman -Qs intel

please.

JamieKitson wrote:

I believe it may have started when I attempted to add some power saving settings, but I haven't managed to track down any changes that I can revert to fix the issue.

More information on this please.

Last edited by ondoho (2020-08-02 10:17:57)

Offline

#5 2020-08-02 11:27:38

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 158
Website

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

[jamie@jamie-laptop ~]$ pacman -Qs intel
local/enblend-enfuse 4.2-6
    Intelligent blend tool for overlapping picture
local/intel-gmmlib 20.1.1-1
    Intel Graphics Memory Management Library
local/intel-media-driver 20.1.1-1
    Intel Media Driver for VAAPI — Broadwell+ iGPUs
local/intel-media-sdk 20.2.0-1
    API to access hardware-accelerated video on Intel Gen graphics hardware platforms
local/intel-ucode 20200616-1
    Microcode update files for Intel CPUs
local/lib32-vulkan-intel 20.1.3-1
    Intel's Vulkan mesa driver (32-bit)
local/libmfx 20.2.0-1
    Intel Media SDK dispatcher library
local/tbb 2020.2-1
    High level abstract threading library
local/xf86-video-intel 1:2.99.917+908+g7181c5a4-1 (xorg-drivers)
    X.org Intel i810/i830/i915/945G/G965+ video drivers
ondoho wrote:
JamieKitson wrote:

I believe it may have started when I attempted to add some power saving settings, but I haven't managed to track down any changes that I can revert to fix the issue.

More information on this please.

I think I went through https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … wer_saving but I'm sorry, I don't remember exactly what I did.

Offline

#6 2020-08-02 12:43:30

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 15,701

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

Try passing "intel_idle.max_cstate=1" and also post the output of "systool -vm i915"

The more suspicious entries in that link are https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … e)_support and https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … Management so you should investigate on whether you did anything in that regard.

Offline

#7 2020-08-02 12:48:54

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 158
Website

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

[jamie@jamie-laptop xorg.conf.d]$ sudo systool -vm i915                               
Module = "i915"                                                                      
                                                                                     
  Attributes:                                                                        
    coresize            = "2617344"                                                  
    initsize            = "0"                                                        
    initstate           = "live"                                                     
    refcnt              = "4"                                                        
    srcversion          = "329A6964BC7B02F68A57885"
    taint               = ""                                                         
    uevent              = <store method only> 
                                                                                     
  Parameters:                                                                        
    disable_display     = "N"                                                        
    disable_power_well  = "1"                                                        
    dmc_firmware_path   = "(null)"                                                   
    edp_vswing          = "0"                                                        
    enable_dc           = "-1"                                                       
    enable_dp_mst       = "Y"                                                        
    enable_dpcd_backlight= "-1"                                                      
    enable_fbc          = "1"                                                        
    enable_guc          = "0"                                                        
    enable_gvt          = "N"                                                        
    enable_hangcheck    = "Y"                                                        
    enable_ips          = "1"                                                        
    enable_psr          = "-1"                                                       
    error_capture       = "Y"                                                        
    fastboot            = "-1"                                                       
    force_probe         = "*"                                                        
    force_reset_modeset_test= "N"                                                    
    guc_firmware_path   = "(null)"                                                   
    guc_log_level       = "-1"
    huc_firmware_path   = "(null)"
    invert_brightness   = "0"
    load_detect_test    = "N"
    lvds_channel_mode   = "0"
    mmio_debug          = "0"
    modeset             = "-1"
    nuclear_pageflip    = "N"
    panel_use_ssc       = "-1"
    reset               = "3"
    vbt_firmware        = "(null)"
    vbt_sdvo_panel_type = "-1"
    verbose_state_checks= "Y"

  Sections:
    .altinstr_aux       = "0xffffffffc117da11"
    .altinstr_replacement= "0xffffffffc117d7b6"
    .altinstructions    = "0xffffffffc11e0253"
    .bss                = "0xffffffffc1264440"
    .data..cacheline_aligned= "0xffffffffc12639c0"
    .data..read_mostly  = "0xffffffffc125f760"
    .data.once          = "0xffffffffc125f6dc"
    .data               = "0xffffffffc1254000"
    .exit.text          = "0xffffffffc117d9c7"
    .fixup              = "0xffffffffc117da59"
    .gnu.linkonce.this_module= "0xffffffffc12640c0"
    .init.rodata        = "0xffffffffc12b1000"
    .init.text          = "0xffffffffc12b0000"                                       
    .note.Linux         = "0xffffffffc117e024"                                       
    .note.gnu.build-id  = "0xffffffffc117e000"                                       
    .orc_unwind         = "0xffffffffc120dd9c"
    .orc_unwind_ip      = "0xffffffffc11e0914"
    .parainstructions   = "0xffffffffc1252140"
    .ref.data           = "0xffffffffc1260080"
    .rodata             = "0xffffffffc117e0a0"
    .rodata.str1.1      = "0xffffffffc11d2414"
    .rodata.str1.8      = "0xffffffffc11a8ce8"
    .smp_locks          = "0xffffffffc11d13dc"
    .strtab             = "0xffffffffc12df1b0"
    .symtab             = "0xffffffffc12b2000"
    .text               = "0xffffffffc1030000"
    .text.unlikely      = "0xffffffffc1175ee5"
    __bpf_raw_tp_map    = "0xffffffffc125f800"
    __bug_table         = "0xffffffffc125bc8c"
    __ex_table          = "0xffffffffc125221c"
    __jump_table        = "0xffffffffc1253000"
    __ksymtab_gpl       = "0xffffffffc117e03c" 
    __ksymtab_strings   = "0xffffffffc1252294"
    __mcount_loc        = "0xffffffffc11a1500"
    __param             = "0xffffffffc1251c68"    
    __tracepoints_ptrs  = "0xffffffffc1252330"
    __tracepoints_strings= "0xffffffffc1252420"
    __tracepoints       = "0xffffffffc12612e0"
    __verbose           = "0xffffffffc1262050"
    _ftrace_events      = "0xffffffffc125fec0"

Offline

#8 2020-08-02 12:51:59

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 15,701

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

Certainly "enable_fbc=0", maybe explicitly "enable_psr=0"

Offline

#9 2020-08-02 15:12:15

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 158
Website

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

@seth Thanks very much, "enable_psr=0" appears to fix the issue. Do you think this is something that is worth further investigation and/or reporting upstream since it's been enabled by default since 2016?

Offline

#10 2020-08-02 15:20:54

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 15,701

Offline

#11 2020-08-02 15:34:53

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 158
Website

Re: [SOLVED] UI not updating when typing

Great, thanks very much for your help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB