You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-15 19:35:36

gkun
Member
Registered: 2016-06-11
Posts: 72

Cairo dock - wayland

I just installed my new system with gnome and everything was working quite fine. Then I tried to set up cairo-dock and it would be configured easily (set up for staying in the lower part of the screen, but it won't move from mid-upper screen. I was a bit baffled by the problem, then I found out I am running wayland (I was not used to wayland even working!). Now, I will probably disable wayland for now, but is there a dock which will work with Wayland? Or a way to make cairo work correctly?

Regards,

Gian

Offline

#2 2020-09-03 19:29:32

imtiaz
Member
Registered: 2020-09-03
Posts: 1

Re: Cairo dock - wayland

Unfortunately, facing the same issue. Did you find any solution?

Offline

#3 2020-09-04 16:01:40

CarbonChauvinist
Member
Registered: 2012-06-16
Posts: 266

Re: Cairo dock - wayland

I know latte-dock definitely works well in a wayland session - though it's made in mind for plasma - my understanding is that it should work in gnome et al. as well.

Edit -- Check V1del's post below for correction. Thanks V1del.

Last edited by CarbonChauvinist (2020-09-05 00:28:09)


"the wind-blown way, wanna win? don't play"

Offline

#4 2020-09-04 16:15:23

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,774

Re: Cairo dock - wayland

"Wayland" depends on the compositor making such information available to the relevant panel. AFAIK there isn't really a global standard so latte dock is unlikely to work with gnome and vice versa should a gnome/mutter compatible dock be made

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB