You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-09 07:07:30

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

I'm trying to install arch linux in a machine with a USB wireless TP-Link WN-722N:
https://www.tp-link.com/en/home-network … tl-wn722n/

When I run "ip link" command I get 4 entries:
lo
enp4s0
enp5s0
wlan0
When I run the command:

ip link set wlan0 up

I get no errors, but wlan0 is still down.
Running "dmesg | grep usbcore" I get:

registered new interface device r8188eu

Also running dmesg after I connect the adapter gives this output:

Product: 002.11n NIC
Manufacturer: Realtek
Serial Number: 00E04C00001
Version info: CHIP_8100E_Normal_Chip_TSMC_D_CUT_1T1R_RomVer(0)

Any help what to do next? Is possible to install arch with this wifi adapter with installation media?

Last edited by zaxdan69 (2020-10-09 07:21:01)

Offline

#2 2020-10-09 07:11:46

GaKu999
Member
From: US/Eastern
Registered: 2020-06-21
Posts: 521

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

Define still down with output that you assume it says that it still down...

Are you unable to use IWD to connect to your AP?

The installation guide does not order you to do ‘ip yada up’, are you following the official guide?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Installation_guide


My reposSome snippets

Heisenberg might have been here.

Offline

#3 2020-10-09 07:35:42

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

It isn't easy to transfer output of everything because the machine is not in the same place I'm writing from. The "ip link" command list the founded intefraces and some info for them included status DOWN/UP. On this machine the output is this for example:

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp4s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether d0:50:99:94:e9:d9 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

On installation machine I have also a "wlan0" entry with "state DOWN". After I run "ip link set wlan0 up" I don't get any error but the output from "ip link" command doesn't change and still has "state DOWN" as before.
I'm trying to follow the installation guide, in which "ip link" is the first command to find if Network inteface is listed and enabled. In my case seems that isn't enable.
I also tried  iwd but "device list" has no devices, so seems that doesn't find any device and cannot proceed to scan for networks.

Offline

#4 2020-10-09 07:47:26

GaKu999
Member
From: US/Eastern
Registered: 2020-06-21
Posts: 521

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

Closes thing: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=154337

Beware, it’s ancient

Note: I have terrible luck with realtek on linux, one of my HP cluckboxes haves one M.2 WiFi of realtek whose firmware is just garbage.

Another one, less ancient:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=219909

Or just follow the Wiki:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … ss#Realtek

Edit: whops, this one truly points to realtek now

Last edited by GaKu999 (2020-10-09 08:00:41)


My reposSome snippets

Heisenberg might have been here.

Offline

#5 2020-10-09 08:17:12

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

I just now connected it on this machine(also with arch linux installed) and I get this output from dmesg:

New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:36 2020] usb 1-4: Product: 802.11n NIC
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:36 2020] usb 1-4: Manufacturer: Realtek
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:36 2020] usb 1-4: SerialNumber: 00E04C0001
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:36 2020] lib80211: common routines for IEEE802.11 drivers
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:36 2020] lib80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:36 2020] r8188eu: module is from the staging directory, the quality is unknown, you have been warned.
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:36 2020] Chip Version Info: CHIP_8188E_Normal_Chip_TSMC_D_CUT_1T1R_RomVer(0)
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:37 2020] usbcore: registered new interface driver r8188eu
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:37 2020] r8188eu 1-4:1.0 wlp0s18f2u4: renamed from wlan0
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:08:37 2020] MAC Address = d0:37:45:08:a6:78
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:09:07 2020] usb 4-3.4: reset high-speed USB device number 8 using ehci-pci
[Παρ Οκτ  9 11:09:08 2020] sd 8:0:0:0: [sdf] 30497664 512-byte logical blocks: (15.6 GB/14.5 GiB)

So, it seems that uses "r8188eu" driver, but here is also renamed the user interface. In installation machine this doesn't happen. I downloaded the latest iso(I had one from August) and I' ll try with this too.

Last edited by zaxdan69 (2020-10-09 08:22:32)

Offline

#6 2020-10-09 08:25:10

GaKu999
Member
From: US/Eastern
Registered: 2020-06-21
Posts: 521

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

The rename happens with IWD, since it expects for reasons to use that naming.

What you see there is the default.

Note that archiso uses IWD now as the default networking took, or linker


My reposSome snippets

Heisenberg might have been here.

Offline

#7 2020-10-09 08:39:18

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

Yes, I used IWD on installation machine.
I just tried on this system with this adapter connected, but I have the same problem. So it isn't installation' s problem only. Here I have a cable connection and I don't use a networkManager. I installed IWD package and I enabled the service as WIKI suggests. The problem is the same here. IWD "device list" command doesn't find the device.
I also tried with the name I get from "ip link", but it still doesn't find it:

station wlp0s18f2u4 scan                                                 
Device wlp0s18f2u4 not found

Because this device works fine with some other distros I tried(manjaro, opensuse), something missing here.

Offline

#8 2020-10-09 08:48:21

solskog
Member
Registered: 2020-09-05
Posts: 248

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

zaxdan69 wrote:

The "ip link" command list the founded intefraces and some info for them included status DOWN/UP.

wlan0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP <-THIS "UP" indicated the wlan0 state not the other DOWN.

Is there any soft/hardware button?

$ rfkill list
Soft blocked: ?
Hard blocked: ?

Last edited by solskog (2020-10-09 08:54:45)

Offline

#9 2020-10-09 09:01:17

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

So, then is UP. But "iwctl device list doesn't find any device", so I cannot connect.
EDIT:

rfkill list

doesn't give anything about the adapter. I get output only for a bluetooth adapter I have.

Last edited by zaxdan69 (2020-10-09 09:06:27)

Offline

#10 2020-10-09 09:09:21

solskog
Member
Registered: 2020-09-05
Posts: 248

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

on archiso there is also iw:

# iw dev

can you see it from:

# lsusb -vt

Last edited by solskog (2020-10-09 09:23:48)

Offline

#11 2020-10-09 10:03:29

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

"iw dev"
doesn't output anything as well
"lsusb -vt":

Port 4: Dev 11. If 0. Class Vendor Specific Class, Driver=r8100eu, 480M
ID 2357:010c TP-Link TL-WN722N v2/v3 [Realtek RTL8100EUS]

Last edited by zaxdan69 (2020-10-09 10:04:52)

Offline

#12 2020-10-09 12:29:06

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

By using connman in installed archlinux, the adapter connects and works without problems, but iw and iwd still not find any device.

Offline

#13 2020-10-10 11:34:40

zaxdan69
Member
Registered: 2016-06-04
Posts: 181

Re: Installation first steps cannot connect wlan

After more searching I couldn't find a way to enable and use wifi adapter through archiso's tools. So, I decided to use archiso to create a custom iso. I just edit the packages.x86_64 file in archiso's releng profile directory and I added the "connman" package.
Using this iso I've managed to connect with the wifi adapter through connman without any problem and now finally I'm installing archlinux.

It should be nice if connman added to archiso, since the present tools have problem with some wifi adapters.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB