You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-10 18:08:21

jammer
Member
Registered: 2020-10-10
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] Adding ip for networking

So I forgot to add additional networking packages during installation, but I should still able to use internet with static ip?
I tried following

ip address add 192.168.1.2/24 broadcast + dev enp3s0 
ip link set enp3s0 up
ip route add default via 192.168.1.1 dev enp3s0

but I'm unable to even ping the router which answers at 192.168.1.1... what do I need to put to the routing tables?
Also keep getting following message in my console... no clue what it means

r8169 0000:03:00.0 enp3s0: rtl_rxtx_empty_cond == 0 (loop: 42 delay: 100).

Last edited by jammer (2020-10-10 22:00:41)

Offline

#2 2020-10-10 19:31:02

twelveeighty
Member
From: Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 686

Re: [SOLVED] Adding ip for networking

Read the Wiki, especially Step 4

Offline

#3 2020-10-10 19:45:33

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,963

Re: [SOLVED] Adding ip for networking

Or you could just configure systemd-networkd, as you already have it installed.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#4 2020-10-10 19:54:16

jammer
Member
Registered: 2020-10-10
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Adding ip for networking

twelveeighty wrote:

Read the Wiki, especially Step 4

I did read it and you can see I applied the steps mentioned but the network ain't still working

Offline

#5 2020-10-10 20:21:30

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,542
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Adding ip for networking

Did you remember to install the linux-firmware package? Did the ethernet connection work in the live environment? You should probably tell us which ethernet card you have.

jammer wrote:

keep getting following message in my console

Have you seen https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=107421?

Offline

#6 2020-10-10 21:10:41

jammer
Member
Registered: 2020-10-10
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Adding ip for networking

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Did you remember to install the linux-firmware package? Did the ethernet connection work in the live environment? You should probably tell us which ethernet card you have.

Yes, I believe I installed firmwares. Ethernet wasn't working in live either. The card is on my motherboard Asus Z87-A, which I believe makes it Realtek 8111GR.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

That doesn't look good... but I can say the Ethernet was working fine about year ago in previous Arch installation.

Offline

#7 2020-10-10 21:57:42

jammer
Member
Registered: 2020-10-10
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Adding ip for networking

Slithery wrote:

Or you could just configure systemd-networkd, as you already have it installed.

Ah thanks... still getting used to systemd

I added /etc/network/20-wired.network with

[Match]
Name=enp3s0

[Network]
DHCP=yes

and started networkd with systemctl start systemd-networkd and it just worked!

Kernel/driver also isn't printing stuff to console at the moment... I guess it might happen randomly during bootup sequence.

Last edited by jammer (2020-10-10 21:59:49)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB