You are not logged in.

#1 2020-08-17 19:38:28

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

I'v recently bought AMD Radeon R9 380 and switched out my old NVIDIA GForce GTX650Ti (which worked perfectly on linux) and can't get it to work.

steps I have taken:
I switch the graphics card, first thing that happens after grub is a black screen, so I plug the usb bootable arch iso to reinstall again black screen, so i realize i need to set nomodeset to kernel paramaters, i edit the kernel paramaters line and add nomodeset, and it boots in to tty but won't start xorg, so i decide to reinstall.

I boot to the installation tty also by adding nomodeset to kernel paramaters and I format my old partitions, install a fresh system, install all necessary packages that I use with my system (have a script for it), and then I follow instructions from https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AMDGPU and i install the following drivers:

mesa
lib32-mesa
xf86-video-amdgpu
vulkan-radeon
lib32-vulkan-radeon
libva-mesa-driver
lib32-libva-mesa-driver
mesa-vdpau
lib32-mesa-vdpau

I reboot the system, X wont start
so I figgure maybe my card needs to have Enabled Southern Islands (SI) and Sea Islands (CIK) support, so I do it by creating /etc/modprobe.d/amdgpu.conf and adding
options amdgpu si_support=1
options amdgpu cik_support=1

I verify that modconf is in my HOOKS array in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and that in the modules section amdgpu is set before the radeon modules, i generate a new initramfs with mkinitcpio -P , I check that nomodeset is enabled in my grub config, I reboot the system and

X wont start

my Xorg log:
https://termbin.com/62kn

my dmesg log:
https://termbin.com/vu8s

now, I notice that it says on the AMDGPU page on ArchWiki that I need to make sure I do not have nomodeset or vga= as a kernel parameter, since amdgpu requires KMS.

but you see thats exactly my problem, if I don't have nomodeset, i just get a blackscreen after GRUB and can't even get to TTY,

can anyone help me figgure this out? as I was practically forced to reinstall Winblows 10 to be able to make this post, and due to lack of time to do it earlier, I'v been stuck in Winblows 10 for the past 2 months

I should also probably note that I tried both the ATI driver and didn't get any results with it either

Last edited by kronikpillow (2020-10-16 20:33:37)

Offline

#2 2020-08-18 10:19:25

metabubble
Member
Registered: 2020-08-07
Posts: 16

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Please post contents of

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/*
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

Offline

#3 2020-08-18 13:26:17

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,497

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Your problems are very likely low level and caused way before X is started .
For troubleshooting add systemd.unit=multi-user.target as parameter to your boot command to ensure you're booting to console instead of X.

[   938.380] (--) PCI:*(1@0:0:0) 1002:6939:1043:04e3 rev 241, Mem @ 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/2097152, 0xf7e00000/262144, I/O @ 0x0000e000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072

1002:6939 does match with a R9 380 with a tonga pro chipset.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_A … sing_units shows that as a GCN 3 videochip which should use the amdgpu kernel module and X driver.


Let's verify that and get basic information about your system and what the kernel / udev think you have :

- remove any kernel modules from the modules= line in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf
- remove nomosest / vga= options
- regenerate mkinitcpio and reboot

Wait approx 2 minutes to see if if tty login screen appears .

If it does, login as root and post outputs[1] from lspci -k and journalctl -b .

In case no login screen has appeared after that time :
reboot with nomodeset
login as root and post lspci -k and 

journalctl -b -1

.
The -1 will show the bootlog from the previous boot (the one without nomodeset) .




[1] see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Li … in_clients for options to get logs on the internet from console/terminal


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#4 2020-08-19 08:17:40

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

metabubble wrote:

Please post contents of

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/*
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

both are empty, xorg.conf is non existing

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Your problems are very likely low level and caused way before X is started .
For troubleshooting add systemd.unit=multi-user.target as parameter to your boot command to ensure you're booting to console instead of X.

[   938.380] (--) PCI:*(1@0:0:0) 1002:6939:1043:04e3 rev 241, Mem @ 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0000000/2097152, 0xf7e00000/262144, I/O @ 0x0000e000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072

1002:6939 does match with a R9 380 with a tonga pro chipset.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_A … sing_units shows that as a GCN 3 videochip which should use the amdgpu kernel module and X driver.


Let's verify that and get basic information about your system and what the kernel / udev think you have :

- remove any kernel modules from the modules= line in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf
- remove nomosest / vga= options
- regenerate mkinitcpio and reboot

Wait approx 2 minutes to see if if tty login screen appears .

If it does, login as root and post outputs[1] from lspci -k and journalctl -b .

In case no login screen has appeared after that time :
reboot with nomodeset
login as root and post lspci -k and 

journalctl -b -1

.
The -1 will show the bootlog from the previous boot (the one without nomodeset) .




[1] see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Li … in_clients for options to get logs on the internet from console/terminal

Kernel modules removed from mkinitcpio.conf,  removed nomodeset from grub, mkinitcpio regenerared, rebooted, got to grub, then black sceeen, waited 2 minutes and  rebooted in to nomodeset, the following are outputs of:
lspci - k: https://termbin.com/s1yf
journalctl -b -1: https://termbin.com/ogic

Last edited by kronikpillow (2020-08-19 08:28:08)

Offline

#5 2020-08-19 14:58:03

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,497

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

lspci output is consistent with a gcn3 card that only works with amdgpu kernel module , no need for radeon.si_support=0 radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1 amdgpu.cik_support=1 .
The kernel will ignore them since they dont' apply to your videocard, remove them fron grub command line.


There are multiple lines like these

Aug 19 12:21:00 susanoo kernel: ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.SAT0.SPT0._GTF.DSSP], AE_NOT_FOUND (20200528/psargs-330)
Aug 19 12:21:00 susanoo kernel: ACPI Error: Aborting method \_SB.PCI0.SAT0.SPT0._GTF due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20200528/psparse-529)

so you have some acpi bios related issues.
However those lines also occur in the dmesg with nomodeset and appear to have to do with sata connections, not graphics issues.
They can be investigated later in another topic.

There are some weird messages from [drm] / amdgpu but overall the card appears to be initialized correctly.
What does stand out is that your boot commandline includes quiet[1] .

Try this :

verify if xf86-video-ati is present, if so remove it.
check xf86-video-amdgpu is installed. in case it is missing install it.

Include amdgpu in modules= line of /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

regenerate mkinitcpio

remove quiet and loglevel=3 from grub boot commandline (those are proably added automatically by something in /etc/default/grub folder, look there) .

add

systemd.unit=multi-user.target

to grub boot boot command line

regenerate grub config and reboot .

You should see lots of text messages now, hopefully ending with a console login screen.
If so, post journalctl -b .
If no console login, reboot with nomodeset and use journalctl -b -1 again.




[1] It suppresses most of onscreen messages until very late in the boot process.
Using quiet as kernel paramater is great when everything just works but makes troubleshooting if something doesn't a lot harder.
Unfortunately it is often added by default without users realising it.

P.S.
remove the call for help from the thread title (edit first post) .

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2020-08-19 15:02:55)


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#6 2020-08-19 19:40:40

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Lone_Wolf wrote:

lspci output is consistent with a gcn3 card that only works with amdgpu kernel module , no need for radeon.si_support=0 radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1 amdgpu.cik_support=1 .
The kernel will ignore them since they dont' apply to your videocard, remove them fron grub command line.


There are multiple lines like these

Aug 19 12:21:00 susanoo kernel: ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve symbol [\_SB.PCI0.SAT0.SPT0._GTF.DSSP], AE_NOT_FOUND (20200528/psargs-330)
Aug 19 12:21:00 susanoo kernel: ACPI Error: Aborting method \_SB.PCI0.SAT0.SPT0._GTF due to previous error (AE_NOT_FOUND) (20200528/psparse-529)

so you have some acpi bios related issues.
However those lines also occur in the dmesg with nomodeset and appear to have to do with sata connections, not graphics issues.
They can be investigated later in another topic.

There are some weird messages from [drm] / amdgpu but overall the card appears to be initialized correctly.
What does stand out is that your boot commandline includes quiet[1] .

Try this :

verify if xf86-video-ati is present, if so remove it.
check xf86-video-amdgpu is installed. in case it is missing install it.

Include amdgpu in modules= line of /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

regenerate mkinitcpio

remove quiet and loglevel=3 from grub boot commandline (those are proably added automatically by something in /etc/default/grub folder, look there) .

add

systemd.unit=multi-user.target

to grub boot boot command line

regenerate grub config and reboot .

You should see lots of text messages now, hopefully ending with a console login screen.
If so, post journalctl -b .
If no console login, reboot with nomodeset and use journalctl -b -1 again.




[1] It suppresses most of onscreen messages until very late in the boot process.
Using quiet as kernel paramater is great when everything just works but makes troubleshooting if something doesn't a lot harder.
Unfortunately it is often added by default without users realising it.

P.S.
remove the call for help from the thread title (edit first post) .


xf86-video-ati is not installed, verified
xf86-video-amdgpu is installed, verified

removed loglevel 3 and quiet from grubcfg and added systemd.unit=multi-user.target to grub command line (i think) big_smile
amdgpu is in modules of mkinitcpio.conf the entire time

here is:
mkinitcpio : https://termbin.com/8967
grub : https://termbin.com/7zas

regenerated mkinitcpio, regenerated grub, rebooted, no lots of text or anything as a matter of fact, just a black screen and led on screen is blinking like its on standby ...
journalctl -b -1 after reboot to nomodeset ... https://termbin.com/thi7

Offline

#7 2020-08-20 00:12:52

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,497

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Not sure what it means yet, but I think I have found what happens.

Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Reached target Network.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Starting Permit User Sessions...
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Finished Permit User Sessions.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Started Getty on tty1.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Reached target Login Prompts.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Reached target Multi-User System.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Startup finished in 8.963s (firmware) + 5.910s (loader) + 3.760s (kernel) + 8.790s (userspace) = 27.424s.

At this point the system appears to have started succesfully ...

a little later we see this :

Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Received SIGINT.

SIGINT is used to interrupt a process , usually to force it to stop.
The lines below that one do confirm systemd / PID1 is shutting down.

PID1 getting a sigint is very rare .


Looking to the lines around the sigint

Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo kernel: RTL8211E Gigabit Ethernet r8169-300:00: attached PHY driver [RTL8211E Gigabit Ethernet] (mii_bus:phy_addr=r8169-300:00, irq=IGNORE)
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo kernel: r8169 0000:03:00.0 enp3s0: Link is Down
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Received SIGINT.
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo NetworkManager[358]: <info>  [1597872610.4919] ovsdb: Could not connect: No such file or directory
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Removed slice system-modprobe.slice.
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo audit[1]: SERVICE_STOP pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=systemd-hostnamed comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo audit[1]: SERVICE_STOP pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=getty@tty1 comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Stopped target Multi-User System.

does suggest network is involved , but network does work when booting with nomodeset.

I'm leaning towards firmware or firmware settings as the cause of the problems.

Aug 19 23:30:02 susanoo kernel: DMI: MSI MS-7808/B75MA-E33 (MS-7808), BIOS V1.7 09/30/2013

Looks like it uses an Intel B75 express chipset, https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en … ipset.html

run (as root)

# ls /sys/firmware/efi/efivars

If it outputs a directory listing you have an efi firmware, but if it errors you're running  a bios firmware system .

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2020-08-20 00:13:20)


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#8 2020-08-20 01:02:52

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Not sure what it means yet, but I think I have found what happens.

Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Reached target Network.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Starting Permit User Sessions...
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Finished Permit User Sessions.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Started Getty on tty1.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Reached target Login Prompts.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Reached target Multi-User System.
Aug 19 23:30:09 susanoo systemd[1]: Startup finished in 8.963s (firmware) + 5.910s (loader) + 3.760s (kernel) + 8.790s (userspace) = 27.424s.

At this point the system appears to have started succesfully ...

a little later we see this :

Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Received SIGINT.

SIGINT is used to interrupt a process , usually to force it to stop.
The lines below that one do confirm systemd / PID1 is shutting down.

PID1 getting a sigint is very rare .


Looking to the lines around the sigint

Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo kernel: RTL8211E Gigabit Ethernet r8169-300:00: attached PHY driver [RTL8211E Gigabit Ethernet] (mii_bus:phy_addr=r8169-300:00, irq=IGNORE)
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo kernel: r8169 0000:03:00.0 enp3s0: Link is Down
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Received SIGINT.
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo NetworkManager[358]: <info>  [1597872610.4919] ovsdb: Could not connect: No such file or directory
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Removed slice system-modprobe.slice.
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo audit[1]: SERVICE_STOP pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=systemd-hostnamed comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo audit[1]: SERVICE_STOP pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=getty@tty1 comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
Aug 19 23:30:10 susanoo systemd[1]: Stopped target Multi-User System.

does suggest network is involved , but network does work when booting with nomodeset.

I'm leaning towards firmware or firmware settings as the cause of the problems.

Aug 19 23:30:02 susanoo kernel: DMI: MSI MS-7808/B75MA-E33 (MS-7808), BIOS V1.7 09/30/2013

Looks like it uses an Intel B75 express chipset, https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en … ipset.html

run (as root)

# ls /sys/firmware/efi/efivars

If it outputs a directory listing you have an efi firmware, but if it errors you're running  a bios firmware system .

ls /sys/firmware/efi/efivars outputs a directory listing as my bios is set to UEFI, but I have the option to boot in legacy as well, althou I do not use it,  I don't understand what it means as well, I was running Arch for 2 years perfectly fine with a NVIDIA GForce GTX 650Ti, and after I did a Graphics card upgrade I get this problem ... I also upgraded my power supply, dunno if that makes any relevance or not.

I'v also tried other distros as well, same problem, and the problem seems to happened since the graphics card change, althou on Windows everything works perfectly fine

Last edited by kronikpillow (2020-08-20 01:14:27)

Offline

#9 2020-08-20 14:25:51

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,497

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Something is not working correctly in the current setup, and it's beginning to look like a software/kernel issue .

Are you using latest linux-firmware (currently 20200721.2b823fc-1) ?

Does the firmware have a CSM aka Compatibility Support Module setting ?
If so, disable it .

append amdgpu.dc=0 amdgpu.dpm=0 to the grub commandline and try again


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#10 2020-08-23 16:19:58

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Something is not working correctly in the current setup, and it's beginning to look like a software/kernel issue .

Are you using latest linux-firmware (currently 20200721.2b823fc-1) ?

Does the firmware have a CSM aka Compatibility Support Module setting ?
If so, disable it .

append amdgpu.dc=0 amdgpu.dpm=0 to the grub commandline and try again

latest linux-firmware check, yes
Does the firmware have CSM aka Compatibility Support Module setting? I have no clue, how do I check this?


appended amdgpu.dc=0 amdgpu.dpm=0 to the grub commandline and tried again, no result, black screen :-/

how would I go to report this to AMD upstream or linux kernel upstream? and should I do that?

Last edited by kronikpillow (2020-08-24 09:00:32)

Offline

#11 2020-08-28 11:55:20

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,497

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

kronikpillow wrote:

Does the firmware have CSM aka Compatibility Support Module setting? I have no clue, how do I check this?

Can't find it in the manual for your motherboard[1] and it was a shot in the dark anyway.


The lines from your logs that worry me the most are :

Aug 19 23:30:02 susanoo kernel: resource sanity check: requesting [mem 0x000c0000-0x000dffff], which spans more than PCI Bus 0000:00 [mem 0x000d0000-0x000d3fff window]
Aug 19 23:30:02 susanoo kernel: caller pci_map_rom+0x68/0x171 mapping multiple BARs
Aug 19 23:30:02 susanoo kernel: amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: No more image in the PCI ROM

I do think kernel devs are the people that may be able to solve this, check https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ … -bugs.html .







[1] https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support … own-manual


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#12 2020-09-08 12:04:49

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

whooo, that looks complicated to do :-/

Offline

#13 2020-09-16 22:31:21

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

would anyone help me identify who to contact regarding this kernel bug? and possibly review my bug report before I actually submit it? I'm a mediocre newbie, and I want to get it right

Offline

#14 2020-09-16 22:42:58

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 11,917

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

amdgpu bugs should be reported to https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/drm/amd/-/issues

Include at least full dmesg possibly with from a boot with drm.debug=0x1e log_buf_len=2M
Details of the GPU and a clear subject.
Edit:
Would suggest before reorting upstream testing linux-mainline 5.9-rc5 first available from Unofficial_user_repositories#miffe and AUR.
If 5-9-rc5 still has the issue try linux-amd-git.

Last edited by loqs (2020-09-16 22:48:48)

Offline

#15 2020-09-20 12:41:38

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

thanks smile I will report back as soon as i test it smile

Offline

#16 2020-09-20 19:46:03

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 187

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Offline

#17 2020-09-20 20:01:31

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 11,917

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

How is having Xorg installed on the system preventing the system from displaying a KMS console?

Offline

#18 2020-09-20 20:26:15

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 187

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

loqs wrote:

How is having Xorg installed on the system preventing the system from displaying a KMS console?

The OP was getting into console, his X.Org would not start.
Messing with /etc/modprobe.d/* blacklisting modules, kernel command-line and xf86-video-*junks* were unnecessary at all for modern bleeding edge Linux such as Arch. Since he already did a re-installation of Arch, he should simply let Linux/KMS take care of everything. It should be as simple as such, no fuss.

Offline

#19 2020-09-20 20:37:39

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 11,917

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

liewkj wrote:

The OP was getting into console, his X.Org would not start.

kronikpillow wrote:

removed loglevel 3 and quiet from grubcfg and added systemd.unit=multi-user.target to grub command line (i think) big_smile
amdgpu is in modules of mkinitcpio.conf the entire time

here is:
mkinitcpio : https://termbin.com/8967
grub : https://termbin.com/7zas

regenerated mkinitcpio, regenerated grub, rebooted, no lots of text or anything as a matter of fact, just a black screen and led on screen is blinking like its on standby ...
journalctl -b -1 after reboot to nomodeset ... https://termbin.com/thi7

To me the above does not indicate a working KMS console.

Last edited by loqs (2020-09-20 21:13:51)

Offline

#20 2020-09-30 16:58:20

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

liewkj wrote:
loqs wrote:

How is having Xorg installed on the system preventing the system from displaying a KMS console?

The OP was getting into console, his X.Org would not start.
Messing with /etc/modprobe.d/* blacklisting modules, kernel command-line and xf86-video-*junks* were unnecessary at all for modern bleeding edge Linux such as Arch. Since he already did a re-installation of Arch, he should simply let Linux/KMS take care of everything. It should be as simple as such, no fuss.

I can only get in to the TTY when I have nomodeset on, but then I can't run Xorg

loqs wrote:
liewkj wrote:

The OP was getting into console, his X.Org would not start.

kronikpillow wrote:

removed loglevel 3 and quiet from grubcfg and added systemd.unit=multi-user.target to grub command line (i think) big_smile
amdgpu is in modules of mkinitcpio.conf the entire time

here is:
mkinitcpio : https://termbin.com/8967
grub : https://termbin.com/7zas

regenerated mkinitcpio, regenerated grub, rebooted, no lots of text or anything as a matter of fact, just a black screen and led on screen is blinking like its on standby ...
journalctl -b -1 after reboot to nomodeset ... https://termbin.com/thi7

To me the above does not indicate a working KMS console.

so what am I doing wrong mate?

loqs wrote:

amdgpu bugs should be reported to https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/drm/amd/-/issues

Include at least full dmesg possibly with from a boot with drm.debug=0x1e log_buf_len=2M
Details of the GPU and a clear subject.
Edit:
Would suggest before reorting upstream testing linux-mainline 5.9-rc5 first available from Unofficial_user_repositories#miffe and AUR.
If 5-9-rc5 still has the issue try linux-amd-git.

I have gpg keyserver errors and can't reach it for some reason with yay, I tried importing the keys, the console gets stuck, i tried changing the keyserver and it didn't help either, and this is only when trying to install from the AUR ... so I didn't get to test mainline kernel and linux-amd ...

althou I'm not sure what linux-amd would do for me, as I have a intel processor

Last edited by kronikpillow (2020-09-30 17:01:20)

Offline

#21 2020-09-30 17:27:25

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,497

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

linux-amd is a kernel fork where amd puts their latest fixes and patches for the kernel modules they maintain.

The maintainer is agd5f who has a large mountainrange of experience with amd/ati graphics issues.
I think he's  a longtime amd / ati employee, but am not sure about that.

Since your problem is 99.9% certain with the admgpu kernel module, linux-amd-git is the best chance to see if the issue is already found/solved by amd kernel maintainers.


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#22 2020-10-03 12:00:27

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

Lone_Wolf wrote:

linux-amd is a kernel fork where amd puts their latest fixes and patches for the kernel modules they maintain.

The maintainer is agd5f who has a large mountainrange of experience with amd/ati graphics issues.
I think he's  a longtime amd / ati employee, but am not sure about that.

Since your problem is 99.9% certain with the admgpu kernel module, linux-amd-git is the best chance to see if the issue is already found/solved by amd kernel maintainers.


with linux-amd-git i get stuck right after grub, on
Loading linux-amd ...
Loading initial ramdisk ...

and thats it, this is where it freezes and doesn't move, it won't boot even in nomodeset now sad

althou I had to install it from the aur, as the PGP keyserver keeps failing at importing PGP keys, and even changing they keyserver didn't help me (or im not doing it properly) ...

Last edited by kronikpillow (2020-10-03 18:48:34)

Offline

#23 2020-10-12 23:22:08

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

well I finally found time to deal with this properly at home, day off from work, hope I did the bug report properly on upstream .. smile lets see what happens, thanks for the assistance so far guys smile

AMD Radeon R9 380 4GB (ASUS Strix R9) black screen on every distro

Last edited by kronikpillow (2020-10-12 23:26:50)

Offline

#24 2020-10-13 10:52:01

kronikpillow
Member
Registered: 2019-10-14
Posts: 17

Re: Can't get AMD Radeon R9 380 to work [SOLVED]

It seems that adding only amdgpu.dc=0 as a kernel parameter has solved the problem for me as suggested in https://www.reddit.com/r/linuxquestions … desetting/ ...
which is strange, as I already tried that parameter but with amdgpu.dc=0 amdgpu.dpm=0 and it didn't work, I am now successfully logged in to my Arch Linux graphical environment smile ty for your time & support

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB