You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-18 01:04:44

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

Hello everyone, I recently installed Arch Linux, with the GNOME desktop environment, and I've been having this strange issue. Most the applications I install from the application center terminate immediately on launch. I observed this from the task manager; as soon as I launch the program, it terminates. The only exceptions to this are GIMP and Sublime Text which work normally. Apps that I've installed that terminate immediately on launch are Bitwarden, Discord, and Atom. Does anyone know why this may be happening?

Offline

#2 2020-10-18 01:54:07

solskog
Member
Registered: 2020-09-05
Posts: 232

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

output from this command inside code block pls.

$ journalctl -b

Offline

#3 2020-10-18 03:08:53

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

The output was over 2000 lines, so I put it in a Pastebin for your convenience, let me know if you want me to just post it normally. Thanks!
https://pastebin.com/740PJBDP

Offline

#4 2020-10-18 05:58:28

solskog
Member
Registered: 2020-09-05
Posts: 232

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

pastebin.com is much better, thanks!
I have noticed some of your failed apps are network related. Are you experiencing network connection instability issue?

tinbolw journalctl wrote:

Oct 17 19:59:31 archlinux NetworkManager[372]: <info>  [1602989971.0282] device (enp7s0): carrier: link connected
Oct 17 19:59:31 archlinux NetworkManager[372]: <info>  [1602989971.0284] device (enp7s0): state change: unavailable -> disconnected (reason 'carrier-changed', sys-iface-sta>
...
Oct 17 19:59:32 archlinux dhcpcd[375]: enp7s0: rebinding lease of 192.168.0.21

Do you have networkmanager and dhcpd services both enabled?

$ systemctl list-unit-files --state enabled

Last edited by solskog (2020-10-18 06:01:34)

Offline

#5 2020-10-18 17:05:14

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

I'm not having any internet issues, I'm wired in via ethernet and everything is fine, but I can't get Wi-Fi to work for some reason; when I go into settings and click on the Wi-Fi option, at the top it says "Firmware Missing" and it just scans for networks forever without any coming up. I didn't think that this was much of an issue since ethernet was still functional. NetworkManager and dhcpd were enabled when I ran that command though.

Offline

#6 2020-10-18 18:07:33

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 11,833

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

What if you start atom from a terminal?

Offline

#7 2020-10-18 19:43:44

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

loqs wrote:

What if you start atom from a terminal?

I'm sorry, but how exactly do you do this? I tried

$ atom
command not found: atom
$ Atom
command not found: Atom
$ atom-real
command not found: atom-real

Offline

#8 2020-10-18 19:53:38

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 10,747

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

it should be atom.

What exactly did you install? Afaik GNOME software might have flatpak or so integration and that might explain weird behaviors here.

Online

#9 2020-10-18 20:13:47

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 3,963

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

Try installing the applications using the recommended method (pacman) instead of using snap/flatpak/whetever else that Gnome Software is trying to foist on you.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#10 2020-10-19 02:32:39

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

V1del wrote:

it should be atom.

What exactly did you install? Afaik GNOME software might have flatpak or so integration and that might explain weird behaviors here.

I installed this:

https://i.imgur.com/6AO4VxJ.png

moderator edit -- replaced oversized image with link.
Pasting pictures and code

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2020-10-19 04:11:11)

Offline

#11 2020-10-19 02:34:05

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

Slithery wrote:

Try installing the applications using the recommended method (pacman) instead of using snap/flatpak/whetever else that Gnome Software is trying to foist on you.

I installed it from pacman and when the program is run, it still terminates immediately. Running it from the terminal results in this:

$ atom
$ /usr/bin/atom: line 86:  8011 Trace/breakpoint trap   (core dumped) nohup "$ATOM_PATH" --executed-from="$(pwd)" --pid=$$ "$@" > "$ATOM_HOME/nohup.out" 2>&1
[8011:1018/192954.336800:FATAL:atom_main_delegate.cc(210)] Running as root without --no-sandbox is not supported. See https://crbug.com/638180.

Offline

#12 2020-10-19 05:34:19

kilix
Member
Registered: 2020-05-09
Posts: 23

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

are you running programs as root?


Keep it simple, stupid.

Offline

#13 2020-10-19 17:25:48

teckk
Member
Registered: 2013-02-21
Posts: 386

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

Running as root without --no-sandbox is not supported.

Does it run as user?
Or as root with --no-sandbox

The docs
https://github.com/atom/atom
https://flight-manual.atom.io/

Offline

#14 2020-10-19 21:33:39

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

kilix wrote:

are you running programs as root?

Yes, and I know this isn't a good idea, so I made another user that isn't root but has sudo privileges. Running atom still doesn't work, it still thinks that I am root for some reason.

Offline

#15 2020-10-19 21:34:56

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

teckk wrote:

Running as root without --no-sandbox is not supported.

Does it run as user?
Or as root with --no-sandbox

The docs
https://github.com/atom/atom
https://flight-manual.atom.io/

It runs fine as root with --no-sandbox, but it requires that even as another user, I think for some reason it still thinks I'm root but I'm not

Offline

#16 2020-10-19 21:52:15

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 11,833

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

How do you login as the none root user?

Offline

#17 Yesterday 02:41:16

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

loqs wrote:

How do you login as the none root user?

I just log out of the root account, then select that user, enter the password, and I'm in.

Offline

#18 Yesterday 02:43:46

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,961

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

why did you make a point of saying the non-root user has sudo access? You aren't using sudo, are you?

Offline

#19 Yesterday 02:57:17

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 11,833

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

General_troubleshooting#Session_permissions show the session as active and the user as the noneroot user?

Offline

#20 Yesterday 04:20:56

tinbolw
Member
Registered: 2020-10-17
Posts: 10

Re: Some apps installed from the Software Center terminate immediately

loqs wrote:

General_troubleshooting#Session_permissions show the session as active and the user as the noneroot user?

For some reason, thats the only thing it doesn't show, but it shows everything else... this is strange, i'll try to find a way to fix this

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB