You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-02 11:17:45

davydx
Member
Registered: 2020-11-02
Posts: 7

Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

I want to install arch linux on my computer and dual boot with windows.
My system has a 1tb ssd which I use for my windows 10 and I want to use my hdd for arch.
Now the problem is with the arch linux setup when I run the cfdisk command I only see 2 partitions and the free space (all 3 from the hdd).
Any ideas why? Also if I don't see the ssd I guess, I won't be able to mount the EFI System to /mnt/efi

Offline

#2 2020-11-02 11:28:05

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,052

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

Just a shoot, never had to, i usually disable fakeraid in the bios and format everything, "clearing" the system from the windows installation.
Maybe it is using a fakeraid like intel rapid storage?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _Fake_RAID

Last edited by kokoko3k (2020-11-02 11:28:58)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !

Offline

#3 2020-11-02 11:38:45

davydx
Member
Registered: 2020-11-02
Posts: 7

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

kokoko3k wrote:

Just a shoot, never had to, i usually disable fakeraid in the bios and format everything, "clearing" the system from the windows installation.
Maybe it is using a fakeraid like intel rapid storage?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … _Fake_RAID

I don't really want to clear the system from the windows installation and neither to format everything hmm
And I don't think it's using fakeraid

Offline

#4 2020-11-02 12:29:00

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 3,929

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

Some manufactures configure their UEFI to start with Intel Rapid Storage Technology (Intel RST), also known as fakeraid in earlier versions. That is incompatible with NVMe devices in linux:

https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/20190 … 7c49f478a6

There may be an option to keep the windows installation while changing that setting: https://superuser.com/questions/1280141 … windows-10
As far as I know, this will disable any Optane capabilities in windows, though.

Last edited by progandy (2020-11-02 12:30:43)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#5 2020-11-02 12:34:51

davydx
Member
Registered: 2020-11-02
Posts: 7

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

progandy wrote:

Some manufactures configure their UEFI to start with Intel Rapid Storage Technology (Intel RST), also known as fakeraid in earlier versions. That is incompatible with NVMe devices in linux:

https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/20190 … 7c49f478a6

There may be an option to keep the windows installation while changing that setting: https://superuser.com/questions/1280141 … windows-10
As far as I know, this will disable any Optane capabilities in windows, though.

But in my bios I am already on ASCI I think , I will update the post with a picture in 5 mins.
Also I can't install arch without the efi system partition right? or

Offline

#6 2020-11-02 12:38:35

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,052

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

If there is a setting, disable fakeraid/ intel rss support from the bios and try to start windows; if it fails to boot with "INACCESSIBLE BOOT DEVICE", then the problems lies there.
Reenabling it restores windows boot.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2020-11-02 12:39:20)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !

Offline

#7 2020-11-02 12:45:59

davydx
Member
Registered: 2020-11-02
Posts: 7

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

progandy wrote:

Some manufactures configure their UEFI to start with Intel Rapid Storage Technology (Intel RST), also known as fakeraid in earlier versions. That is incompatible with NVMe devices in linux:

https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/20190 … 7c49f478a6

There may be an option to keep the windows installation while changing that setting: https://superuser.com/questions/1280141 … windows-10
As far as I know, this will disable any Optane capabilities in windows, though.

kokoko3k wrote:

If there is a setting, disable fakeraid/ intel rss support from the bios and try to start windows; if it fails to boot with "INACCESSIBLE BOOT DEVICE", then the problems lies there.
Reenabling it restores windows boot.

https://i.imgur.com/r1cwWiq.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/03kdPV1.jpg

moderator edit -- replaced oversized images with links.
Pasting pictures and code

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2020-11-02 13:02:29)

Offline

#8 2020-11-02 12:48:38

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,052

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

davydx wrote:

And I don't think it's using fakeraid

If the screenshoot is how it was configured, then you're right and It is not using RST.
I've no other clues on why arch can't see it.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2020-11-02 12:49:40)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !

Offline

#9 2020-11-02 12:49:23

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 3,929

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

Also I can't install arch without the efi system partition right? or

It is perfectly acceptable to have to different EFI system partitions. A possible issue may be bugs in your particular UEFI implementation, though.

Just try it. In a basic installation you should be able to switch between linux and windows in the UEFI boot menu, it may also be possible that you can use refind or grub2 (or maybe the windows bootloader) to create a menu that can load the OS from the second ESP.

Last edited by progandy (2020-11-02 12:50:31)


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#10 2020-11-02 12:54:45

davydx
Member
Registered: 2020-11-02
Posts: 7

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

progandy wrote:

Also I can't install arch without the efi system partition right? or

It is perfectly acceptable to have to different EFI system partitions. A possible issue may be bugs in your particular UEFI implementation, though.

Just try it. In a basic installation you should be able to switch between linux and windows in the UEFI boot menu, it may also be possible that you can use refind or grub2 (or maybe the windows bootloader) to create a menu that can load the OS from the second ESP.

easy to say smile
so i can just basically install linux on mbr/bios like in this video? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EMFM0jPwGw

Offline

#11 2020-11-02 13:04:01

2ManyDogs
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 3,435

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

so i can just basically install linux on mbr/bios like in this video?

youtube guides are not supported here. They are almost always outdated or just wrong. Use the Installation Guide.

Offline

#12 2020-11-02 13:10:28

davydx
Member
Registered: 2020-11-02
Posts: 7

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

2ManyDogs wrote:

so i can just basically install linux on mbr/bios like in this video?

youtube guides are not supported here. They are almost always outdated or just wrong. Use the Installation Guide.

Can I create a efi system partition from the linux directly?

Offline

#13 2020-11-02 13:22:00

davydx
Member
Registered: 2020-11-02
Posts: 7

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

Update, I just realised I actually see the nvme ssd running the lsblk command but cfdisk does not show it.
20201102_151625.jpg?width=1204&height=677
Which one is the EFI System?
the 500M one should be the Windows recovery
the 16M one Microsoft reserved
the 930G one Microsoft basic data
and the 100M one i think this is the EFI System one

Offline

#14 2020-11-02 14:43:50

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,583

Re: Arch linux does not see my m.2 nvme SSD

lsblk -f

should be helpful .

You need to tell cfdisk which disk you want to manage.

compare

# cfdisk
# cfdisk /dev/nvme0n1
# cfdisk /dev/sda

Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB