You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-20 14:09:01

Chop1n
Member
Registered: 2020-10-20
Posts: 14

No audio on fresh install on a thinkpad t14

Installed arch on a fresh laptop and I've got no audio

"cat /proc/asound/modules" looks like:

0 snd_hda_intel
1 snd_acp3x_rn

"lsmod | grep snd" looks like:

snd_acp3x_rn           16384  0
snd_hda_codec_realtek   139264  1
snd_soc_dmic           16384  1
snd_acp3x_pdm_dma      16384  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    98304  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_soc_core          327680  3 snd_acp3x_rn,snd_soc_dmic,snd_acp3x_pdm_dma
snd_hda_intel          57344  0
snd_compress           32768  1 snd_soc_core
ac97_bus               16384  1 snd_soc_core
snd_intel_dspcfg       24576  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm_dmaengine      16384  1 snd_soc_core
snd_hda_codec         167936  3 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core          106496  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm               147456  7 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_compress,snd_soc_core,snd_hda_core,snd_acp3x_pdm_dma,snd_pcm_dmaengine
snd_timer              45056  1 snd_pcm
snd_rn_pci_acp3x       20480  0
ledtrig_audio          16384  2 snd_hda_codec_generic,thinkpad_acpi
snd                   114688  10 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,snd_compress,thinkpad_acpi,snd_soc_core,snd_pcm
snd_pci_acp3x          20480  0
soundcore              16384  1 snd

I've unmuted master in alsamixer for
Card: HD-Audio Generic
Chip: Realtek ALC257

Before there used to be another HD-Audio Generic module but that one went away somehow.


I'd appreciate any help even if it's just a link to documentation, been trying to fix this since yesterday.

Thank you very much!


"curl -F 'sprunge=<-' http://sprunge.us < path-to-file" is holy

Offline

#2 2020-10-20 14:29:57

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 11,183

Re: No audio on fresh install on a thinkpad t14

What's your output for

dmesg | grep -E 'snd|sof'

?

Symptoms read similar to https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=259969 so try to downgrade alsa-{lib,ucm-conf} to the older version. But I'm also not entirely sure what "no audio" means here and how relevant the missing device is, did this used to work? What did you use for testing?

Offline

#3 2020-10-20 14:34:06

Chop1n
Member
Registered: 2020-10-20
Posts: 14

Re: No audio on fresh install on a thinkpad t14

"dmesg | grep -E 'snd|sof'" reads:

[    1.668903] snd_pci_acp3x 0000:07:00.5: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    1.669071] snd_pci_acp3x 0000:07:00.5: Invalid ACP audio mode : 0
[    1.979211] snd_hda_intel: probe of 0000:07:00.1 failed with error -2
[    1.979232] snd_hda_intel 0000:07:00.6: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[    2.198155] snd_acp3x_rn: unknown parameter 'index' ignored
[    2.199600] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC257: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[    2.199602] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    2.199604] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x21/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    2.199606] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    2.199608] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[    2.199610] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Mic=0x19
[    2.208096] uvcvideo 2-2:1.0: Entity type for entity Microsoft Extended Controls Uni was not initialized!
[    2.211204] uvcvideo 2-2:1.2: Entity type for entity IR Microsoft Extended Controls  was not initialized!
[    2.214273] acp_pdm_mach acp_pdm_mach.0: snd_soc_register_card(acp) failed: -517
[    2.750216] Modules linked in: iwlmvm ccm algif_aead mac80211 cbc des_generic libdes amdgpu(+) snd_acp3x_rn snd_hda_codec_realtek snd_soc_dmic snd_acp3x_pdm_dma ecb btusb uvcvideo libarc4 snd_hda_codec_generic snd_soc_core btrtl edac_mce_amd videobuf2_vmalloc btbcm videobuf2_memops algif_skcipher btintel snd_hda_intel gpu_sched snd_compress kvm_amd i2c_algo_bit ac97_bus snd_intel_dspcfg videobuf2_v4l2 bluetooth iwlwifi ttm snd_pcm_dmaengine cmac kvm videobuf2_common snd_hda_codec videodev md4 snd_hda_core drm_kms_helper wmi_bmof irqbypass crct10dif_pclmul algif_hash tps6598x ecdh_generic snd_hwdep ecc roles mc crc32_pclmul tpm_crb cfg80211 cec af_alg ghash_clmulni_intel snd_pcm r8169 aesni_intel rc_core realtek mdio_devres thinkpad_acpi crypto_simd of_mdio syscopyarea snd_timer tpm_tis sysfillrect ccp fixed_phy cryptd tpm_tis_core glue_helper ucsi_acpi(+) tpm nvram ipmi_devintf sysimgblt snd_rn_pci_acp3x sp5100_tco typec_ucsi ledtrig_audio psmouse rapl pcspkr input_leds snd k10temp
[    2.750271]  i2c_piix4 snd_pci_acp3x fb_sys_fops libphy ipmi_msghandler rfkill typec rng_core battery wmi soundcore evdev ac mac_hid i2c_scmi i2c_multi_instantiate pinctrl_amd acpi_cpufreq drm pkcs8_key_parser agpgart ip_tables x_tables ext4 crc32c_generic crc16 mbcache jbd2 rtsx_pci_sdmmc serio_raw mmc_core atkbd libps2 crc32c_intel xhci_pci xhci_pci_renesas xhci_hcd ehci_pci rtsx_pci ehci_hcd i8042 serio

Audio never worked, and by no audio I mean that my speaker audio doesn't work. I've tested it on a couple applications, I also tried "speaker-test" but it gave no results.

Last edited by Chop1n (2020-10-20 14:38:09)


"curl -F 'sprunge=<-' http://sprunge.us < path-to-file" is holy

Offline

#4 2020-11-21 16:46:01

kexue
Member
Registered: 2020-11-21
Posts: 2

Re: No audio on fresh install on a thinkpad t14

I append three lines to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf  and  it works.
Hope it works for you.

blacklist snd_acp3x_rn
blacklist snd_soc_dmic
blacklist snd_acp3x_pdm_dma

Offline

#5 2020-11-21 17:00:11

kexue
Member
Registered: 2020-11-21
Posts: 2

Re: No audio on fresh install on a thinkpad t14

The microphone doesn't work now ,my computer is thinkpad X13

Offline

#6 2020-11-21 18:17:09

deschain
Member
Registered: 2020-11-15
Posts: 7

Re: No audio on fresh install on a thinkpad t14

As per this article, have you installed?

 sof-firmware 

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB