You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-22 11:24:40

starfry
Member
From: Surrey, UK
Registered: 2010-08-18
Posts: 205

What's needed for Web MIDI ?

There are web sites that claim to be able to detect MIDI devices so you can, say, play a piano in your browser using your real MIDI controller keyboard.

I can not get this to work, I've tried Chrome(ium) and Firefox. I have otherwise fully functioning MIDI that I can use directly or with Jack.

I presume there are drivers or something required but I have no idea what. Net searching reveals very little documentation on this topic...

Offline

#2 2020-11-23 14:32:05

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 623

Re: What's needed for Web MIDI ?

Maybe this is a Pulseaudio MIDI issue? Pavucontrol does not list my MIDI keyboard under input devices as I would have expected, so chromium does not see it either.

I've tried https://midi.city/ on my MacBook with the same MIDI keyboard. On macOS it works just fine in Chrome if you enable MIDI support in Settings...

Offline

#3 2020-11-23 20:52:46

starfry
Member
From: Surrey, UK
Registered: 2010-08-18
Posts: 205

Re: What's needed for Web MIDI ?

@morn, pulseaudio shouldn't come in to it. If I understand it right, that'll only affect any produced sound rather than the routing of MIDI.

However, I have just had some success... I tried a couple of firefox add-ons. The first, Jazz-MIDI, did not work for me. The second one, MIDI Input Provider by Manuel Reimer, did.
It would appear there are two requirements: the add-on itself AND a "native" application that, I expect, provides the glue. See the GitHub repo here: https://github.com/M-Reimer/midiinputpr … /nativeapp

The addon installs two files to /usr/bin/midiinputprovider.pl and /usr/lib/mozilla/native-messaging-hosts/midiinputprovider.json

Oh, and in case it matters... I am running Firefox 83.0

I also found this testing site: https://midi.work/ and I successfully tested with a Midi keyboard using https://pianu.com/

Still don't understand very much... like whether the "native" app a quirk of that particular add-on?

Given the plethora of sites that act like this is plug and play, I expect there is more to this that makes it end-user easy.

But, small steps...

Offline

#4 Yesterday 00:03:59

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 623

Re: What's needed for Web MIDI ?

Yes, all that sounds a bit complicated for something that is 100% plug and play on other platforms. I have pretty much given up on using MIDI devices and MIDI synths on Arch in general. For at least a year or so, I have not even been able to start jackd anymore, there is always some error message. So I have uninstalled most synths and DAWs. It's just too frustrating to use.

It hasn't always been that way; MIDI and jack on Arch used to work pretty well a few years ago. I'm not sure what has changed. Oh well, at least my Mac and GarageBand/Pianoteq get used that way too. Linux is not taking over music production any time soon it seems... :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB