You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-22 06:08:51

normalaccount
Member
Registered: 2020-11-12
Posts: 14

Low resolution on second monitor on Sway

Hi,

I've recently switched from I3 to Sway. I have two 4k monitors (laptop, external). After plugging in my external monitor, I've noticed that everything felt very zoomed out. Naturally, I added the following line to my Sway configuration:

output DP-1 scale 2 res 3840x2160

This fixed the "zoomed out" issue, but left me with a low resolution on non-native Wayland apps. Every XWayland app has a very low res, as if I just upscaled an image in MS Paint.

I thought my Nvidia drivers were causing the issue, but switching to Nouveau didn't change anything. I've read that changing the monitor's DPI with xrandr or  ~/Xressources could fix the issue, but that didn't help me.

Before scaling the screen, xrandr knows that Im on a 4k monitor. After scaling via the Sway config, xrandr says that Im using a 1920x1080 screen, which explains the low resolution. If I try to change the mode using xrandr, I get "Configure crtc 1 failed".

I'm on an XPS 15. Any help would be great appreciated. I use the default Sway config with some minor changes.

Last edited by normalaccount (2020-11-22 06:31:32)

Offline

#2 2020-11-23 04:00:49

Brocellous
Member
Registered: 2017-11-27
Posts: 51

Re: Low resolution on second monitor on Sway

That's expected, XWayland currently doesn't support scaling. If you are interested this https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/xorg/xse … quests/432 would be the issue to watch.

If you want to try it out, looks like someone has made an aur package that builds sway (and others for wlroots and xwayland) with the relevant patches here: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/sway-hidpi-git

Offline

#3 2020-11-23 18:07:26

normalaccount
Member
Registered: 2020-11-12
Posts: 14

Re: Low resolution on second monitor on Sway

Brocellous wrote:

That's expected, XWayland currently doesn't support scaling. If you are interested this https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/xorg/xse … quests/432 would be the issue to watch.

If you want to try it out, looks like someone has made an aur package that builds sway (and others for wlroots and xwayland) with the relevant patches here: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/sway-hidpi-git


That's definitely an interesting AUR package. I'll download it and give it a try. Thanks for the recommendation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB