You are not logged in.

#1 2020-12-09 01:14:14

lumpynose
Member
Registered: 2013-03-22
Posts: 26

can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

The laptop is an HP Stream 11 bought in 2015.  ISO downloaded today and boots up nicely. I'm at step 1.7, Connect to the internet, just after Verify the boot mode

ip link says "2: wlan0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP>".  iw dev says phy#0, interface wlan0, ifindex 2, wdev 0x1, addr (hex numbers and colons), type managed, txpower 20.00 dBm.  lspci says for it Network controller: Realtek Semicondoctor Co., Ltd. RTL8723BE PCIe wireless Network Adapter.

I run iwctl and get the iwd prompt.  Do a "station wlan0 scan", no output.  Do a "station wlan get-networks" and no output.  If I do a "station wlan0 show" it says "Scanning no" and "State disconnected".  If I do the "iwctl --passphrase passphrase station device connect SSID" I get Invalid network name.

My wifi is configured as "WPA2-PSK [AES]".  The other devices here can see it in the list of available wifi points when I configure their network.

Last edited by lumpynose (2020-12-18 03:04:31)

Offline

#2 2020-12-09 05:02:23

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 355

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

I know it's not a solution, but I've used several laptops that have wifi issues during the install.  It's almost always easier to install via ethernet, get a working system up and running and then troubleshoot wifi. 

But sometimes you just have to install via wifi.  I have old macbook pro that doesn't have an ethernet port and I don't have an adapter.  Wifi isn't recognized in the Arch installer, but it IS recognized in the Ubuntu installer.  I booted the Ubuntu Live environment, connected to wifi, then followed the instructions on the Arch wiki for installing from another distro: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … ting_Linux.  It's not for the feint of heart, but it's doable.


"Oh, they have the internet on computers now."

Offline

#3 2020-12-09 05:40:31

lumpynose
Member
Registered: 2013-03-22
Posts: 26

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

Ok, thanks.  So if I get a USB ethernet adapter I can plug my ethernet cable into it and that will (should) work?  I have one but its USB plug is C not the older USB A large style, and of course this laptop is old and only has A sockets.

Offline

#4 2020-12-09 05:44:59

lumpynose
Member
Registered: 2013-03-22
Posts: 26

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

@murffatksig And what's a reliable USB ethernet cable adapter to get?

I went ahead and bought the Amazon Basics one.

Last edited by lumpynose (2020-12-09 05:56:24)

Offline

#5 2020-12-09 06:15:15

lumpynose
Member
Registered: 2013-03-22
Posts: 26

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

Well, I have another unloved laptop that only has wifi, and its wireless so far seems to be working just fine with the install.  Saying good riddance to the HP Stream 11 with its measly 2 gig of ram.  (Although linux flies like a bat out of hell on a really ancient IBM Thinkpad with only 3/4s of a gig of ram.)

Offline

#6 2020-12-10 03:08:18

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 355

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

If your laptop doesn't have a built-in ethernet port, than yea any old USB adapter *should* work.  But I would certainly google the model number and linux to see that their compatible.  I would just buy one of Amazon or whatever online store is popular in your location.


"Oh, they have the internet on computers now."

Offline

#7 2020-12-10 07:43:53

lumpynose
Member
Registered: 2013-03-22
Posts: 26

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

Ok, thanks.  Waiting for it to arrive.

Offline

#8 2020-12-17 04:52:30

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 355

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

@lumpynose, were you able to get this working?


"Oh, they have the internet on computers now."

Offline

#9 2020-12-17 18:49:22

lumpynose
Member
Registered: 2013-03-22
Posts: 26

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

Yes, thanks for checking.  This "HP Stream 11 with its measly 2 gig of ram" is now off my shit list.  wink

I need the wired network in order to make it work; the USB gizmo did the job.  I also hate laptop keyboards so I use putty to connect and do the setup.

I redid my setup and got rid of NetworkManager and am using systemd.networkd and wpa_supplicant.  For any who are curious, here is my recipe.  I'll be adding more stuff when I install arch32 on an ancient Thinkpad.  I need to read up on how to install on an MBR / bios / or whatever it's called system instead of UEFI.

Hey, do you know why systemd-resolvd.service is needed?  Shouldn't dhcp handle the only route there is, the router?  I thought dhcpd was being started.

https://github.com/lumpynose/linux_note … -notes.txt

Last edited by lumpynose (2020-12-17 18:53:54)

Offline

#10 2020-12-18 00:17:38

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 355

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

DHCP is for getting an IP dynamically from your router.  Systemd-resolved (and resolv.conf) is used for DNS resolution.  DHCP and DNS are two different network technologies.

Also, please mark the thread solved by editing the title and adding [solved].

Last edited by murffatksig (2020-12-18 00:18:27)


"Oh, they have the internet on computers now."

Offline

#11 2020-12-18 03:07:48

lumpynose
Member
Registered: 2013-03-22
Posts: 26

Re: can't connect to wifi during install [solved]

Yes, but the router, via DHCP,, in addition to providing the IP address also provides the DNS servers as well as the default route.  Look at the web page on your router. So since it's providing the DNS servers I don't see why systemd-resolvd.service is needed.

Nevermind, I get it.  DHCP merely provides the addresses of the DNS servers, then resolved uses them to get IP addresses.

Last edited by lumpynose (2020-12-18 03:14:22)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB