You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-11 07:47:22

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,257

KDE + i3 - plasma hangs fairly often

So plasma seems to hang on me fairly often when using KDE + i3. KDE alone I was not able to trigger this, nor was I able to when using KDE + awesomewm. Tried KDE + bspwm and got the same behaviour.

Plasma would just stop, meaning no access the krunner and the panel would stop updating. Everything else would be running fine though, and `killall -9 plasmashell & kstart5 plasmashell` would get things working again.

It got annoying enough that I searched and found two other forum topics:-
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=247874
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 3#p1854103

The recommendation for adding i915.enable_psr=0 to my grub boot line works. But this is from more than a year ago, with multiple kernel updates in between. If its a regression, how do I find out (this wasn't happening a month ago) and where do I report it to?


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#2 2021-01-11 08:48:59

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 18,238

Re: KDE + i3 - plasma hangs fairly often

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1948898

tl;dr he's on intel, complained about unreal, but QSGRenderThread blocked the GPU as well so my gut was at https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 0#p1948920
The rest of the thread is about the wonders of git bisecting the kernel ;-)

Seems to be rather in plasmashell than in kwin and the compositor might mitigate it (do you run awesome along a compositor and i3/bspwm not?)

Offline

#3 2021-01-12 15:46:14

tomsk
Member
Registered: 2016-12-17
Posts: 93

Re: KDE + i3 - plasma hangs fairly often

Maybe you can try to set kernel parameters with:

i915.enable_psr=0 intel_idle.max_cstate=1 i915.enable_dc=0

It didnt help me, but it can help you.

I found it here: https://linuxreviews.org/Intel_graphics

Last edited by tomsk (2021-01-12 15:47:06)


I use several linux distros like: Archlinux, Ubuntu, Fedora, Linux Mint

Offline

#4 2021-01-13 01:20:28

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,257

Re: KDE + i3 - plasma hangs fairly often

seth wrote:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1948898

tl;dr he's on intel, complained about unreal, but QSGRenderThread blocked the GPU as well so my gut was at https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 0#p1948920
The rest of the thread is about the wonders of git bisecting the kernel ;-)

Seems to be rather in plasmashell than in kwin and the compositor might mitigate it (do you run awesome along a compositor and i3/bspwm not?)

Interesting, I thought I was using picom in both, will test that more. Definitely not a kwin issue since I'm only getting it when replacing kwin with something else.

EDIT: Yep that was definitely it, my awesome rc.lua just wasn't starting picom, once I did the crash happened just the same. And the bootline fix works as well!

Last edited by ngoonee (2021-01-13 06:57:27)


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB