You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-13 14:46:51

skaparate
Member
Registered: 2021-01-13
Posts: 2

KScreen Problem With Identical Monitors

Hello Everyone!

I have two identical monitors (same brand and model). One is connected to HDMI (no rotation) and the other to DVI-I (rotation 2, or 90 CW). This configuration is saved as long as I don't reboot/logout, but once I do, both monitors are rotated 90º CW.

The problem, I'm assuming, is that kscreen identifier is the same for both, hence it fails to store the configuration and applies the last one on reboot. So, I suppose it could be fixed if I could, somehow, change the hash/identifier, but I don't know how or if it is possible at all.

Has anyone experienced a similar problem? Thanks for reading smile!

kscreen-console | grep ID

EDID Info: 
        Device ID:  "xrandr-Goldstar Company Ltd-LG FULL HD-16843009"
        EISA ID:  ""
EDID Info: 
        Device ID:  "xrandr-Goldstar Company Ltd-LG FULL HD-16843009"
        EISA ID:  ""

kscreen configuration file (.local/share/kscreen/[hash]):

[
    {
        "enabled": true,
        "id": "2e935981dff7367a30f100713a09b5ee",
        "metadata": {
            "fullname": "xrandr-Goldstar Company Ltd-LG FULL HD-16843009",
            "name": "HDMI-1"
        },
        "mode": {
            "refresh": 60,
            "size": {
                "height": 1080,
                "width": 1920
            }
        },
        "pos": {
            "x": 0,
            "y": 0
        },
        "primary": true,
        "rotation": 1,
        "scale": 1
    },
    {
        "enabled": true,
        "id": "2e935981dff7367a30f100713a09b5ee",
        "metadata": {
            "fullname": "xrandr-Goldstar Company Ltd-LG FULL HD-16843009",
            "name": "DVI-D-1"
        },
        "mode": {
            "refresh": 60,
            "size": {
                "height": 1080,
                "width": 1920
            }
        },
        "pos": {
            "x": 1920,
            "y": 0
        },
        "primary": false,
        "rotation": 2,
        "scale": 1
    }
]

EDIT: I have deleted the .local/share/kscreen directory without success.

Last edited by skaparate (2021-01-13 14:48:24)

Offline

#2 2021-01-13 14:56:44

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 11,800

Re: KScreen Problem With Identical Monitors

I'd say in cases like these it helps to experiment a bit, what does happen if you change the hash?

In any case you probably have a good case for a bug report

Offline

#3 2021-01-14 13:29:43

skaparate
Member
Registered: 2021-01-13
Posts: 2

Re: KScreen Problem With Identical Monitors

Thanks for the reply!

I'd say in cases like these it helps to experiment a bit, what does happen if you change the hash?

I just tested it, and it just resets sad.

I'll check the bug list and/or file one smile.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB