You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-14 20:32:24

Leo Wagner
Member
Registered: 2021-01-14
Posts: 5

Vulkan refuses to work :-( [solved]

Hello!
I am trying to play games based on the Vulkan API on my Arch machine, but Vulkan does not seem to work for me :-( I am running KDE plasma on a laptop with Intel UHD graphics 610. I have lib32-vulkan-icd-loader, lib32-vulkan-intel, vulkan-headers, vulkan-icd-loader, vulkan-intel, vulkan-tools, and vulkan-validation-layers installed. The output of vulkaninfo is as follows:
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : /usr/lib32/amdvlk32.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : /usr/lib32/libvulkan_intel.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
ERROR: [Loader Message] Code 0 : /usr/lib32/amdvlk32.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
ERROR at /build/vulkan-tools/src/Vulkan-Tools-1.2.162/vulkaninfo/vulkaninfo.h:668:vkCreateInstance failed with ERROR_OUT_OF_HOST_MEMORY

I can't seem to find anything helpful on the internet. I know that it is possible for vulkan to work, because it worked on the same hardware back when I still ran Ubuntu. Any help is appreciated :-)

Last edited by Leo Wagner (2021-01-15 12:41:17)

Offline

#2 2021-01-14 21:27:01

Leo Wagner
Member
Registered: 2021-01-14
Posts: 5

Re: Vulkan refuses to work :-( [solved]

There seems to be some sort of AMD driver lurking somewhere on my system...
output of "expac -Qs '%n' vulkan-driver"
amdvlk
lib32-amdvlk
lib32-vulkan-intel
vulkan-info

Output of "ls /usr/share/vulkan/icd.d/"
amd_icd32.json amd_icd64.json intel_icd.i686.json intel_icd.x86_64.json

The two amd files above were also in a bolder, green font, while the Intel ones were not. Does that mean that I am using AMD Vulkan drivers, which are screwing up things?

Offline

#3 2021-01-14 21:42:30

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 12,239

Re: Vulkan refuses to work :-( [solved]

You need vulkan-intel (... the non-lib32 one is important for vulkaninfo) and none of the amd packages.

Last edited by V1del (2021-01-14 21:42:58)

Online

#4 2021-01-14 22:09:48

Leo Wagner
Member
Registered: 2021-01-14
Posts: 5

Re: Vulkan refuses to work :-( [solved]

Cool! I deleted the amd files from /usr/share/vulkan/icd.d and now vulkaninfo works :-)
I am installing vkquake2 from the aur to test vulkan, and make sure everything works.

Offline

#5 2021-01-14 22:33:00

Leo Wagner
Member
Registered: 2021-01-14
Posts: 5

Re: Vulkan refuses to work :-( [solved]

It works :-) Yesssss :-)
Thank you so much for the help!
All I had to do was delete two amd json files. Nice.
Topic closed

Offline

#6 2021-01-14 23:51:37

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 12,239

Re: Vulkan refuses to work :-( [solved]

They are package provided, there should be no reason for you to manually delete files provided by packages, just uninstall the amdvlk packages.

Please mark the topic as [SOLVED] by editing the title in your first post and adding that.

Online

#7 2021-01-15 12:40:32

Leo Wagner
Member
Registered: 2021-01-14
Posts: 5

Re: Vulkan refuses to work :-( [solved]

Cool. I uninstalled those, and it is even better now! :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB