You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-20 18:03:14

kde35
Member
Registered: 2015-04-13
Posts: 63

Can't make Logitech Quickcam 4000 Pro work ( Cannot allocate memory)

Hi, I have Quickcam 4000 Pro that I can't make work with arch linux.  For example, if I try xawtv, I get

 xawtv
This is xawtv-3.107, running on Linux/x86_64 (5.10.8-arch1-1)
xinerama 0: 1024x768+0+0
vid-open-auto: using grabber/webcam device /dev/video0
Alsa devices: cap: hw:1,0 (/dev/video0), out: default
libv4l2: error turning on stream: Cannot allocate memory
ioctl: VIDIOC_STREAMON(int=1): Cannot allocate memory
libv4l2: error dequeuing buf: Invalid argument
ioctl: VIDIOC_DQBUF(index=0;type=VIDEO_CAPTURE;bytesused=0;flags=0x0 [];field=ANY;;timecode.type=0;timecode.flags=0;timecode.frames=0;tim
ecode.seconds=0;timecode.minutes=0;timecode.hours=0;timecode.userbits="";sequence=0;memory=MMAP): Invalid argument
^Clibv4l2: error turning on stream: Cannot allocate memory
ioctl: VIDIOC_STREAMON(int=1): Cannot allocate memory

I read somewhere in an old thread that connecting "directly" without hub helped, but unfortunately all usb ports on my machine are on a hub (I don't have the precise motherboard spec)

 lsusb -t
/:  Bus 02.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/4p, 10000M
/:  Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/16p, 480M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Human Interface Device, Driver=usbhid, 1.5M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 1, Class=Human Interface Device, Driver=usbhid, 1.5M
    |__ Port 6: Dev 3, If 2, Class=Audio, Driver=snd-usb-audio, 12M
    |__ Port 6: Dev 3, If 0, Class=Vendor Specific Class, Driver=Philips webcam, 12M
    |__ Port 6: Dev 3, If 1, Class=Audio, Driver=snd-usb-audio, 12M

It is correctly recognized by kernel

 dmesg | grep Cam
[   25.254727] pwc: Logitech QuickCam 4000 Pro USB webcam detected.
 lsmod | grep pwc
pwc                    94208  0
videobuf2_vmalloc      20480  1 pwc
videobuf2_v4l2         36864  1 pwc
videobuf2_common       65536  2 videobuf2_v4l2,pwc
videodev              290816  3 videobuf2_v4l2,pwc,videobuf2_common

Any idea what I can do, without hacking the mother board ??

Offline

#2 2021-02-04 09:37:29

manouchk
Member
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 263

Re: Can't make Logitech Quickcam 4000 Pro work ( Cannot allocate memory)

It's a kernel problem. I had to downgrade kernel to momentarily solve this problem. YOu can see my post:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 4#p1951494

Offline

#3 2021-02-12 18:09:48

kde35
Member
Registered: 2015-04-13
Posts: 63

Re: Can't make Logitech Quickcam 4000 Pro work ( Cannot allocate memory)

Thank you very much.  I seem to remember that the webcam was working last spring, although I am not completely sure...  So my memory is probably right.  Now, do I dare downgrade the kernel,  that is another question...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB