You are not logged in.

#26 2020-12-26 18:58:43

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 1,057

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

That "mce" error in your log from earlier is (usually) a mistake that happens inside the CPU. Did you try playing around with the Vcore voltage setting in the BIOS to see if the behavior changes?

If you can't fix the problem you have to return either the motherboard or CPU and ask for a replacement. You can try asking the motherboard manufacturer for help before you do this. Do you currently use the newest BIOS version for your board? You could also see if the manufacturer offers a beta version for your board and try that.

Offline

#27 2020-12-26 20:13:13

860lacov
Member
Registered: 2020-05-02
Posts: 236

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

Ropid wrote:

That "mce" error in your log from earlier is (usually) a mistake that happens inside the CPU. Did you try playing around with the Vcore voltage setting in the BIOS to see if the behavior changes?

If you can't fix the problem you have to return either the motherboard or CPU and ask for a replacement. You can try asking the motherboard manufacturer for help before you do this. Do you currently use the newest BIOS version for your board? You could also see if the manufacturer offers a beta version for your board and try that.

I use latest bios and it is beta. I checked previous one too.

I'm not sure how to adjust voltages. I know where change voltage values but not sure about values. (Searched but there are different opinions)

I was advised to adjust ddr voltages and SoC voltages hut it didn't help.

Just a minute ago another reboot occurred in Witcher 3.
After grub there was an information:
[0.148839] mce: [Hardware Error]: CPU17: Machine Check: 0 Bank 1: bc8008000 60c0859
[0.148839} mce: [Hardware Error]: TSC 0 ADDR 1b39382c0 MISC d012000000000000 IPID 100b000000000
[0.148839] mce: [Hardware Error]: PROCESSOR 2:a20f10 TIME 1609012524 SOCKET 0 APIC b microcode a201009

(I took a picture of the screen with my phone)

There are a lot of people with reboot problem but its windows error

WHEA-Logger ID 18 and critical error Kernel-P

Don't know if this is the same problem but it seems that I'm not alone

Last edited by 860lacov (2020-12-26 20:41:36)

Offline

#28 2020-12-26 20:48:39

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 1,057

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

Set "CPU Vcore voltage" to "offset mode" and then use a value of "+0.010" V. The smallest possible value is 0.005 on my board so 0.010 would be two steps away from zero.

"WHEA" error/warning events in Windows are the same as the "MCE" log entries in Linux.

Last edited by Ropid (2020-12-26 20:49:48)

Offline

#29 2020-12-26 21:39:23

860lacov
Member
Registered: 2020-05-02
Posts: 236

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

This solution has one big disadvantage.
When I set vcore voltage to value +0.0125V (my minimum in bios) then my CPU don't boost. Max clock is 3.7 GHz.
AMD in specification has up to 4.8 or something. With auto my CPU was able to go to 4.3GHz (all cores).
This setting is like disabling Core Performance Boost. I mentioned this earlier.

Offline

#30 2020-12-27 00:04:13

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 1,057

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

This shouldn't happen. It should still boost normally.

See if you misunderstood something about the BIOS settings, maybe there are different settings that can do something to the core voltage.

Offline

#31 2020-12-27 08:05:18

860lacov
Member
Registered: 2020-05-02
Posts: 236

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

Ropid wrote:

This shouldn't happen. It should still boost normally.

See if you misunderstood something about the BIOS settings, maybe there are different settings that can do something to the core voltage.

I checked bios so many times...
Maybe I did a mistake somewhere but at the end I'm pretty sure I did everything right.

There are 2 situations when system is stable
After core performance boost disabled (everything else auto)

Manual core multipler set. I checked 42 what gave me 4200MHz for all cores. But with this settings cpu even in idle doesn't go to it's idle values what is obvious.

I think that new bios settings could help but. Last bios from msi is from the middle of November and it's a beta.

Little Update

I checked manual settings.
Multiplier 43, vcore 1.3V
It seems stable. Blender benchmark passed with the best result yet.

Last edited by 860lacov (2020-12-27 11:38:29)

Offline

#32 2020-12-27 15:10:07

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 1,057

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

I'd be a bit afraid about doing a fixed overclock like that. The 1.3V you use is fine when there's just a few cores are in use but the same voltage could be dangerous when all cores are at 100%. When the normal boost behavior of the CPU is in use, the CPU will ask for different voltages depending on its temperature and usage. It will be able to go down with the voltage before things get dangerous.

I found a screenshot about the BIOS settings I mean from a different MSI motherboard:

https://i.imgur.com/n6ii9nM.png

I mean use a setting "CPU core voltage" = "offset mode" and then "CPU offset mode mark" = "+" (plus) and then "CPU offset voltage" a small value like "0.01". Everything else about the BIOS settings would be kept at defaults, CPB would be kept enabled etc.

Offline

#33 2020-12-27 15:29:39

860lacov
Member
Registered: 2020-05-02
Posts: 236

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

Ropid wrote:

I'd be a bit afraid about doing a fixed overclock like that. The 1.3V you use is fine when there's just a few cores are in use but the same voltage could be dangerous when all cores are at 100%. When the normal boost behavior of the CPU is in use, the CPU will ask for different voltages depending on its temperature and usage. It will be able to go down with the voltage before things get dangerous.

I found a screenshot about the BIOS settings I mean from a different MSI motherboard:

https://i.imgur.com/n6ii9nM.png

I mean use a setting "CPU core voltage" = "offset mode" and then "CPU offset mode mark" = "+" (plus) and then "CPU offset voltage" a small value like "0.01". Everything else about the BIOS settings would be kept at defaults, CPB would be kept enabled etc.

I did that. When I do offset with + and small amount if offset then cpu is locked at 3700 MHz

Offline

#34 2020-12-27 18:17:47

Ropid
Member
Registered: 2015-03-09
Posts: 1,057

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

Maybe the meaning the of "Auto" value for the boost setting changes when you do something to the core voltage settings? You could try to change the boost setting to explicitly say "Enabled" instead of Auto.

Offline

#35 2020-12-27 19:18:38

860lacov
Member
Registered: 2020-05-02
Posts: 236

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

Only auto or disabled

Offline

#36 2021-02-08 22:59:51

860lacov
Member
Registered: 2020-05-02
Posts: 236

Re: [SOLVED] PC reset during high load (after pc upgrade)

Last update.
I returned CPU to the shop and I bought a new one (also new Ryzen). In the meantime the new bios was released.
Since then everything is working fine. To be hones I'm not sure if this was a CPU or bios problem. Maybe both. On AMD forum the topic is still active even after bios update.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB