You are not logged in.

#1 2016-08-06 13:54:01

tengilftw
Member
Registered: 2016-08-06
Posts: 2

New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

I have  been running Linux Mint for about a year now and decided it was time to try Arch! But I've run into problems with the installation, and I'm hopeful that there is a kind soul here that can help me solve it.

My laptop has UEFI.

I'm following the official guide, and the problem arises when I try to install GRUB - I get the error message ''grub-install: error: failed to get canonical patch of 'esp''.

According to the guide I've made a special boot partition.
(parted) mkpart ESP fat32 1MiB 513MiB
(parted) set 1 boot on


Which I've formatted with:
# mkfs.fat -F32 /dev/sda1


and mounted with:
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot

I am in the bash shell. I've downloaded the packages ''grub'' and ''efibootmgr''. Since I have an Intel-processor on my laptop I've also downloaded the packages ''intel-ucode'' and I've enabled microcode updates.

The problem arises when I'm trying to execute:
# grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=esp --bootloader-id=grub

and this is where I get the error message:
grub-install: error: failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

I have an Asus X501A and I have no OS on it at the moment.

Anyone who knows how I can solve this? smile

Many thanks in advance!

Last edited by tengilftw (2016-08-06 15:19:55)

Offline

#2 2016-08-06 14:07:55

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,228
Website

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

Welcome to Arch.  You need to define esp in the grub-install line... ie type it out as you have defined it above.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#3 2016-08-06 14:27:04

tengilftw
Member
Registered: 2016-08-06
Posts: 2

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

graysky wrote:

Welcome to Arch.  You need to define esp in the grub-install line... ie type it out as you have defined it above.

Thanks!

You mean that I should swap ''esp'' with ''sda1'' so that I get:

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=sda1 --bootloader-id=grub

?

EDIT:

Tried that, and to write --sda1=ESP. Didn't work.

I'm not a Linux Wizard and got Arch as a mean to learn, so please explain it simple to me smile

Last edited by tengilftw (2016-08-06 14:36:35)

Offline

#4 2016-08-06 15:47:16

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,422

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

"sda1" is not a directory.

Offline

#5 2016-08-06 15:53:35

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,239
Website

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

(Re)read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR … allation_2

Don't just copy-paste the commands, read the instructions.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#6 2016-08-06 18:10:05

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,228
Website

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

esp is the dir you used as the mount point...

tengilftw wrote:

and mounted with:
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot

Last edited by graysky (2016-08-06 18:10:21)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#7 2021-03-20 05:40:13

camosoul
Member
Registered: 2020-11-01
Posts: 20

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

Partly correct...

This is misleading because of the chroot.

In his case, it's /boot. Not /mnt/boot as implied.

Yes, I necro'd this because it's unhelpful without an adult explanation.

Belligerently trolling people who are trying to learn is unhelpful.

Offline

#8 2021-03-20 10:14:03

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,809
Website

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

camosoul wrote:

This is misleading because of the chroot.

At what point does the OP say they have entered the chroot?

camosoul wrote:

In his case, it's /boot. Not /mnt/boot as implied.

At what point did the OP state their preferred gender pronoun?

If the OP is not in the chroot then /mnt/boot is indeed correct (although the --boot-directory option would also be needed in that case, as clearly explained in the ArchWiki link provided by WorMzy).

camosoul wrote:

it's unhelpful without an adult explanation

A full explanation is provided in the ArchWiki link. Repeating it here is pointless.

camosoul wrote:

Belligerently trolling people who are trying to learn is unhelpful.

At what point did anybody troll the OP? All of the replies seem helpful to me.

Offline

#9 2021-03-20 10:27:50

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 12,524

Re: New to Arch - failed to get canonical path of 'esp'.

Closing this old thread.

I agree with HoaS, and from my standpoint the only post so far being close to trolling is yours, for intentionally and knowingly breaking the rules and not really adding anything in the way of helping the OP (who hopefully does not still desperately try to solve this now) other than accusations of how you feel they've been treated.

Consider yourself warned.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB