You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-07 13:57:52

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2018-05-26
Posts: 20

[SOLVED] Change i3wm Urgent Colors In i3blocks?

Hi, I'm trying to configure my i3wm install. I can't change background/text color of urgent block in my i3blocks (see screenshot). I read i3 docs and tried every single command, including "client.urgent", "client.placeholder", "urgent_workspace" and "binding_mode" inside bar {} and color {} nothing works. Any ideas on how to fix this? Thank you!

AawNjXC.png

Versions Installed:
linux v5.11.11.arch1-1
i3-wm v4.19.2-1
i3blocks v1.5-3

Related Code In ~/.config/i3/config

set $launcher "Launch: [c]chromium [t]hunderbird"
bindsym $mod+o mode $launcher
mode $launcher {
  bindsym c exec chromium
  bindsym t exec thunderbird
  bindsym Escape mode "default"
  bindsym Return mode "default"
}

client.background #000000
client.focused #000000 #333333 #999999 #000000 #000000
client.unfocused #000000 #333333 #808080 #000000 #000000
client.focused_inactive #000000 #333333 #808080 #000000 #000000
client.urgent #000000 #333333 #999999 #AAAAAA #000000
client.placeholder #000000 #333333 #999999 #AAAAAA #000000

bar {

  mode dock
  position top
  workspace_buttons yes
  strip_workspace_numbers yes
  binding_mode_indicator yes

  status_command i3blocks

  colors {

    background #333333
    statusline #AAAAAA
    seperator #555555

    focused_workspace #000000 #333333 #999999
    active_workspace #000000 #333333 #999999
    inactive_workspace #000000 #333333 #999999
    urgent_workspace #000000 #333333 #999999
    binding_mode #000000 #333333 #999999

  }

}

EDIT: 2021-04-08:

@qinohe, Did you read my post? This was not what I was asking smile

Anyway, I already figured it out. What I needed was "#00000000", this was the real magic color code.

Thanks to Airblader's config example @ https://github.com/Airblader/dotfiles-m … .i3/config

colors {
  background #000000

  # This fixed my "mode" background color:
  urgent_workspace #00000000 #00000000 #FFFFFF

  # This fixed my workspace button color:
  focused_workspace #00000000 #00000000 #FFFFFF
  inactive_workspace #00000000 #00000000 #FFFFFF
  active_workspace #00000000 #00000000 #FFFFFF
}

EDIT-2: 2021-04-08 - Now other colors work O_O My guess is that when you custom define workspace names, it changes default colors. Also, maybe 3rd and 4th values were not needed, just "border" "background" "text" colors.

Y2N3M5M.png

set $ws1 "1: <span foreground='red'></span>"
bindsym $mod+1 workspace $ws1

colors {
  background #222222
  focused_workspace #222222 #333333 #AAAAAA
  inactive_workspace #222222 #333333 #AAAAAA
  active_workspace #222222 #333333 #AAAAAA
  urgent_workspace #222222 #333333 #AAAAAA
}

You need to logoff and log back in for this to take effect, simply running i3 reload or restart wont work.

Final closing thoughts, I've used XFCE for many years and finally decided to switch to i3 and I absolutely LOVE it. Why oh why I did not switch sooner ^_^ Thank you to everyone who created and maintains i3wm! Best WM I have ever used hands down!

Last edited by NullRoute (2021-04-08 14:42:59)

Offline

#2 2021-04-08 11:18:42

qinohe
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 1,254

Re: [SOLVED] Change i3wm Urgent Colors In i3blocks?

If you're unable to find the correct color than why don't you use a color picker to assist you?
I mean if you picked the color it would be clear which one you should change in you config!

A color picker is already provided by 'HTML' so you don't need to install one.
Add the next code to file 'color' FI, open the file in your browser click the green bar and pick the color.

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>
  <input type="color" value="#80FF00" style="width:100%;">
</body>
</html>

Btw. if I were you I'd paste the classes it specifies above the client colors so you can see what you're changing.
Make you're life easy, I can't do it for you;-)

# class         border  backgr. text    indicator child_border
client.focused  #.......[snip].....

Offline

#3 2021-04-08 13:41:08

qinohe
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 1,254

Re: [SOLVED] Change i3wm Urgent Colors In i3blocks?

Yes, I did read it and since the background was set to '#800000' you would have to change that one..
If I misunderstood, can happen...;-)

Offline

#4 2021-04-08 14:44:50

NullRoute
Member
Registered: 2018-05-26
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED] Change i3wm Urgent Colors In i3blocks?

@qinohe, Dude again I don't know what you talking about. I don't even have "#800000" color in my original config. Please stop trolling the posts!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB