You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-09 20:16:13

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Ave Arch Users.

After new install i wanted give a try to xfce4.
I installed xserver, xinit, xfce4, xfce4-goodies and prepared in ordinary user's home .xinitrc which executes startxfce4.
When I run startx as ordinary user, it starts xfce4 but ... without the top panel, button panel, desktop icons.
Desktop itself is visible, mouse works, context menu works i can choose and call any menu items.
I can finish this startx session with logout.
Strange is that when I call startx 2nd and next times, I can see only snow white screen with working mouse.
Such xfce session can be finished with blind Alt + F4 follwed by enter.
( I've tried all above also as root - the same. )
I can return again to see desktop but prior I have to remove .config/xfce4 .cache/xfce4 reboot and startx again.

Any help, hints would be appreciated.
Thanks

LOGS:
startx after 1st run

startx after 2nd and next run

Offline

#2 2021-04-10 03:53:29

Joel
Member
From: Tijuana, BC, México
Registered: 2011-12-21
Posts: 108

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Did you install dbus?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with xfce4.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with xfce4.
* AUR contributor.

Offline

#3 2021-04-10 06:52:41

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Also please post your xinitrc (or look at the last link in my signature ;-)

Online

#4 2021-04-10 20:32:44

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Hi guys, thanks for your help.

@Joel - yes

pacman -Qs dbus shows:
local/dbus 1.12.20-1
    Freedesktop.org message bus system
local/dbus-glib 0.110-2
    GLib bindings for DBUS
local/libcloudproviders 0.3.1-2
    DBus API that allows cloud storage sync clients to expose their services
local/libdbusmenu-glib 16.04.0-4
    Library for passing menus over DBus
local/libdbusmenu-gtk3 16.04.0-4
    Library for passing menus over DBus (GTK+ 3 library)

@seth - my .xinitrc

#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps
if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f "$userresources" ]; then
    xrdb -merge "$userresources"
fi

if [ -f "$usermodmap" ]; then
    xmodmap "$usermodmap"
fi

# start some nice programs

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ] ; then
 for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/?*.sh ; do
  [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
 done
 unset f
fi

exec startxfce4

#twm &
#xclock -geometry 50x50-1+1 &
#xterm -geometry 80x50+494+51 &
#xterm -geometry 80x20+494-0 &
#exec xterm -geometry 80x66+0+0 -name login

I've looked also to last link in your signature (.xinitrc) :-) did you mean the way I start xfce4 ?

Greetings to both of you

Offline

#5 2021-04-10 20:41:29

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Your xinitrc isn't broken (/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/ includes some stuff that connects you with the session bus)

If you start yourself an xterm or xfce4-terminal (don't forget to fork them, don't exec them), can you run "xfce4-panel" from there?
Do you get errors? Does the process already run?

Online

#6 2021-04-11 10:20:34

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Hi Set, as you probably recall if I remove from .cache and .config old xfce4 session directories I can start visible xfce4 session (without panels and desktop icons) but somehow usable, from such session I've started xfce4-terminal and from within run xfce4-panel.
I got immediately an error:

(xfce4-panel:658): xfce4-panel-CRITICAL **: 10:14:21.018: Name org.xfce.Panel lost on the message dbus, exiting.

then I checked if xfce4-panel process maybe is already running

ps -ef | grep 'xfce4-panel'

tangram      506     440  0 10:06 tty3     00:00:01 xfce4-panel
tangram      911     753  0 10:35 pts/3    00:00:00 grep --color=auto xfce4-panel

then I checked have xfce4-panel process (pid=506) run any child ?

ps -ef | grep 506

tangram      506     440  0 10:06 tty3     00:00:01 xfce4-panel
tangram      571     506  0 10:06 tty3     00:00:00 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libsystray.so 6 14680072 systray Status Tray Plugin Provides status notifier items (application indicators) and legacy systray items
tangram      574     506  0 10:06 tty3     00:00:01 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libpulseaudio-plugin.so 8 14680073 pulseaudio PulseAudio Plugin Adjust the audio volume of the PulseAudio sound system
tangram      575     506  0 10:06 tty3     00:00:00 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libxfce4powermanager.so 9 14680074 power-manager-plugin Power Manager Plugin Display the battery levels of your devices and control the brightness of your display
tangram      576     506  0 10:06 tty3     00:00:00 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libnotification-plugin.so 10 14680075 notification-plugin Notification Plugin Notification plugin for the Xfce panel
tangram      581     506  0 10:06 tty3     00:00:00 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libactions.so 14 14680076 actions Action Buttons Log out, lock or other system actions
tangram      914     753  0 10:35 pts/3    00:00:00 grep --color=auto 506

Summary:
All your questions could be answered with "Yes"

Offline

#7 2021-04-11 13:27:22

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Let's see whether the panel also has any windows…

while read WID STUFF; do if [[ $WID = 0x* ]]; then PID=$(xprop -notype -id $WID _NET_WM_PID); if [ "${PID##* }" = 506 ]; then echo "$WID $STUFF"; fi; fi; done < <(xwininfo -root -tree)

(make sure that 506 is still the xfce4-panel PID or replace it)

Apparently the panel process is running but either stopped ("ps aux | grep panel") or stalled somewhere.
You could kill the running process and "strace -f xfce4-panel" to see whether and where it's lingering around …

Online

#8 2021-04-11 19:34:41

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Hi Set
Your great one-liner returned:

0xe00001 "xfce4-panel": ("xfce4-panel" "Xfce4-panel")  10x10+10+10  +10+10
0xe00011 "xfce4-panel": ("xfce4-panel" "Xfce4-panel")  306x49+0+0  +530+719
0xe0000d "xfce4-panel": ("xfce4-panel" "Xfce4-panel")  3x3+0+0  +-9999+-9999
0xe00003 "xfce4-panel": ("xfce4-panel" "Xfce4-panel")  1366x27+0+0  +0+0

stderr for strace -f -o ./xfce4panel1.strace xfce4-panel & returned (it is not strace more about strace at the end):

(xfce4-panel:1415): garcon-CRITICAL **: 20:49:02.936: garcon_gtk_menu_get_desktop_actions_menu: assertion 'actions != NULL' failed

(xfce4-panel:1415): garcon-CRITICAL **: 20:49:03.003: garcon_gtk_menu_get_desktop_actions_menu: assertion 'actions != NULL' failed

(xfce4-panel:1415): garcon-CRITICAL **: 20:49:03.068: garcon_gtk_menu_get_desktop_actions_menu: assertion 'actions != NULL' failed

(xfce4-panel:1415): garcon-CRITICAL **: 20:49:03.121: garcon_gtk_menu_get_desktop_actions_menu: assertion 'actions != NULL' failed

** (wrapper-2.0:1423): WARNING **: 20:49:03.310: No outputs have backlight property

(wrapper-2.0:1424): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 20:49:03.428: g_file_new_for_path: assertion 'path != NULL' failed

(wrapper-2.0:1424): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: 20:49:03.431: g_file_monitor_file: assertion 'G_IS_FILE (file)' failed

(wrapper-2.0:1424): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: 20:49:03.432: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(wrapper-2.0:1424): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: 20:49:03.435: g_signal_connect_data: assertion 'G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed

(wrapper-2.0:1424): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:49:03.436: Attempting to add a widget with type GtkToggleButton to a container of type XfcePanelPlugin, but the widget is already inside a container of type XfcePanelPlugin, please remove the widget from its existing container first.

(wrapper-2.0:1422): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:49:03.854: Negative content width -3 (allocation 1, extents 2x2) while allocating gadget (node button, owner PulseaudioButton)

(wrapper-2.0:1425): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:49:03.861: Negative content width -1 (allocation 1, extents 1x1) while allocating gadget (node button, owner XfceArrowButton)

(wrapper-2.0:1424): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:49:03.925: Negative content width -3 (allocation 1, extents 2x2) while allocating gadget (node button, owner GtkToggleButton)

(wrapper-2.0:1423): Gtk-WARNING **: 20:49:04.108: Negative content width -3 (allocation 1, extents 2x2) while allocating gadget (node button, owner PowerManagerButton)

Because of strace's size I couldn't pastebin it (unfortunately I'm not registered user) or paste here.
How can I send you most important information (email ?)

Offline

#9 2021-04-11 20:22:27

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

You can just paste the tail of it.

0xe00003 "xfce4-panel": ("xfce4-panel" "Xfce4-panel")  1366x27+0+0  +0+0

Loks like a top panel?

xwininfo -id 0xe00003

Can you raise it?

xdotool windowraise $((0xe00003)) # xdotool defaults to decimal

Edit: xdotool can also "windowmap" ;-)

Last edited by seth (2021-04-11 20:24:00)

Online

#10 2021-04-11 21:13:11

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Good evening Set

OK here you are, cut of in the middle version of my strace https://pastebin.com/2mW7d9Rb
Yes indeed window with id 0xe00003 loks like the top panel.
This window raising I'll test it tomorrow, it's difficult to me, I'am writing from my work laptop (unfortunately w10)
on my home laptop I have only text interface - is nothing  bad - but generally is a bit difficult.
I'm continuously switching between both laptops.
Till tomorrow.

Offline

#11 2021-04-11 21:41:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

It's waiting for some filehandle (which one is hidden in the cutaway part)
There was recently a thread where flatpak/portal was causing startup delays…

pacman -Qs '(flatpak|portal)'

Online

#12 2021-04-12 18:37:24

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Hi Set
a lot of information.

  • I can not raise the top panel window. I've tried with another commands like windowfocus too, so raise test failed

  • "pacman -Qs '(flatpak|portal)'" - none of them installed

  • I've searched my trace for words (handle|file) and file handler hex values at the end of my trace. Details below

grep -ni handler xfce4panel.strace
grep -ni file xfce4panel.strace
grep -nE '(0x7ffd(48a3cc30|10c8d3a0))' xfce4panel.strace

I hope it helps.
It's new installation, without any custom tweaks. xfce4 packages installed from package groups - thus (I suppose) noting important left ... WTF with this panel.
Have a nice evening

Offline

#13 2021-04-12 20:52:38

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

The particular handle is probably a socket…

Try

tail -c 1M xfce4panel.strace | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

to pipe the final 1MB of the strace into ix.io…

Online

#14 2021-04-13 06:53:40

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Morning Set
Done. Did you receive tail from my strace ?
Again useful one-liner with command line paste bin - thanks.

Last edited by tangram (2021-04-13 07:26:13)

Offline

#15 2021-04-13 07:39:28

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

?
You've to post the link that ix.io returns ;-)

Online

#16 2021-04-13 08:41:07

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

I didn't get any link ... ?

[xxx@localhost tmp]$ tail -c 1M xfce4panel.strace | curl -v -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io
* About to connect() to ix.io port 80 (#0)
*   Trying 66.172.11.73...
* Connected to ix.io (66.172.11.73) port 80 (#0)
> POST / HTTP/1.1
> User-Agent: curl/7.29.0
> Host: ix.io
> Accept: */*
> Content-Length: 1048714
> Expect: 100-continue
> Content-Type: multipart/form-data; boundary=----------------------------253ae4135bc5
>
< HTTP/1.1 100 Continue
< HTTP/1.1 200 OK
< Date: Tue, 13 Apr 2021 08:36:59 GMT
< Server: Apache
< Content-Length: 0
< Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
<
* Connection #0 to host ix.io left intact

I did it from from linux vm from work yikes,  - it looks like submit does not work

Last edited by tangram (2021-04-13 08:48:02)

Offline

#17 2021-04-13 10:19:52

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

The upload looks fine, but I guess ix.io has a lower quota - try "512K" instead of "1M".

Online

#18 2021-04-13 11:38:39

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Offline

#19 2021-04-13 11:58:20

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

The fileshandles are much older… kill & strace the panel again, but quickly kill it to keep the strace short…

Edit, sanity check:

hostnamectl

Last edited by seth (2021-04-13 11:59:30)

Online

#20 2021-04-13 12:01:21

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Ok, about at 7pm

Offline

#21 2021-04-13 18:23:11

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Hi Set

Output from hostnamectl

Static hostname: bex
Icon name: computer-laptop
Chassis: laptop
Machine ID: bdc91ae1e65043b88b9450029a1aa66b
Boot ID: 197807472893404a95637644eeacdacd
Operating System: Arch Linux
Kernel: Linux 5.11.13-arch1-1
Architecture: x86-64
Hardware Vendor: ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
Hardware Model: K52Je

For xfce-panel trace (due to size problem it grows so quick up) I've prepared tgz with whole strace: link

Offline

#22 2021-04-13 20:13:56

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Static hostname: bex

So that's not the issue.
BUt

connect(5, {sa_family=AF_UNIX, sun_path="/tmp/dbus-KHtSgsc1FS"}, 22) = 0

that does suspiciously look like dbus-launch is being used somewhere?

Check "ps aux"…
iirc startxfce4 does that in case $DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS isn't defined - what should™ happen by the includes in your xinitrc.
=> You may want to print out variable into a file right before "exec startxfce4" :\

Online

#23 2021-04-14 18:48:35

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Hello Set
maybe you are right with DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS env variable.
It's busy already prior startxfce4 call ... let's look
I built in two variable check points in my .xinitrc
1st just after bash shebang

$DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus

2nd right before exec startxfce4

$DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus

It looks like dbus session is busy by something

I dumped all my running services:

systemctl list-unit-files -t service

running services

I finally ps aux

Thanks for your help.

Offline

#24 2021-04-14 20:58:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,270

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

The variable is ok, but according to that ps aux, there's no session bus ("/usr/bin/dbus-daemon --session --address=systemd: --nofork --nopidfile --systemd-activation --syslog-only" owned by your user)
It looks like you've a bunch of autologins configured on different TTYs?
Can you detail on that setup?

Online

#25 2021-04-15 06:31:01

tangram
Member
From: 3City, Poland
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 55

Re: xfce4 no panels no desktop icons

Morning Set
False I haven't auto-login in any of my tty sessions.
Where did this suspicion come from ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB