You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-28 08:10:41

usef62
Member
Registered: 2018-01-10
Posts: 5

Shake in desktop plasma 5

Hi everybody
On my system MSI B75A-G43 (MS-7758) , when running the latest kernel the screen shake, but only when X is running - Before X is installed or running, the screen is visibly fine.

See:
https://mega.nz/file/13ZSlJDK#hlmA4laM0 … J1-eRI1z2Y

info system:
Linux 5.11.16-arch1-1 x86_64 GNU/Linux
KDE 5.15.2

Graphic:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

lsmod | grep i915
i915                 2756608  30
i2c_algo_bit           16384  1 i915
drm_kms_helper        282624  1 i915
cec                    69632  2 drm_kms_helper,i915
intel_gtt              24576  1 i915
video                  53248  1 i915
drm                   569344  14 drm_kms_helper,i915

What is the problem!!!

Offline

#2 2021-04-28 08:53:00

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 13,343

Re: Shake in desktop plasma 5

If xf86-video-intel is installed remove it.

Offline

#3 2021-04-28 09:45:07

usef62
Member
Registered: 2018-01-10
Posts: 5

Re: Shake in desktop plasma 5

sudo pacman -R xf86-video-intel
and reboot
but the problem is still

Last edited by usef62 (2021-04-28 09:46:21)

Offline

#4 2021-05-02 07:53:05

usef62
Member
Registered: 2018-01-10
Posts: 5

Re: Shake in desktop plasma 5

In kernel 5 onwards
should be: option i915 modeset

/etc/modprobe.d/i915.conf

option i915 modeset = 1

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-intel.conf

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Intel Graphics"
   Option      "AccelMethod"  "sna" # FPS lower or normal
   #Option      "AccelMethod"  "uxa" # FPS higher or maybe for game
   Option      "TearFree"     "true"
EndSection

and
The problem was solved. smile

Offline

#5 2021-05-02 08:40:31

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 22,307

Re: Shake in desktop plasma 5

The Device section doesn't match a driver and will only apply to xf86-video-intel - which you claim to be removed - anyway and i915.modeset is enabled by default and w/o you'd either run on the unaccelerated vesa driver or get no GUI at all.

=> The solution is most likely coincidental and not related to anything in post #4

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB