You are not logged in.

#151 2021-05-11 12:07:40

JustSomeGeek
Member
From: Scotland
Registered: 2018-08-13
Posts: 40

Re: Reflector reborn

thiagowfx wrote:

@JustSomeGeek Could you post:

stat /etc/resolv.conf
cat /etc/resolv.conf

I happen to have experienced the same issue and in my case the culprit was an empty (sans comments) /etc/resolv.conf file.

Assuming you're using systemd-resolved, you'll need to symlink /etc/resolv.conf to /run/systemd/resolve/stub-resolv.conf.

This is covered in the wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Systemd-resolved#DNS.

I can't troubleshoot the root cause, but for some reason, when running under systemd (as of the current package), proper config of /etc/resolv.conf is needed for reflector. When running it stand-alone, /etc/resolv.conf is not needed.

stat /etc/resolv.conf
File: /etc/resolv.conf
  Size: 65              Blocks: 8          IO Block: 4096   regular file
Device: 1ah/26d Inode: 479         Links: 1
Access: (0644/-rw-r--r--)  Uid: (    0/    root)   Gid: (    0/    root)
Access: 2021-05-10 20:04:39.527080221 +0100
Modify: 2021-01-19 01:32:10.000000000 +0000
Change: 2021-05-09 13:44:07.680347807 +0100
Birth: 2021-05-09 13:44:07.680347807 +0100


cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Resolver configuration file.
# See resolv.conf(5) for details.

I use DHCPD as client, and not had any apparent DNS issues, so never thought to look at this, as the direct command line invocation works fine. I'll have a read, and give your solution a try. I'm guessing it's the same cause, as my resolv.conf is empty. Thanks!

EDIT: That seems to have done it. Thanks muchly! :-D

Last edited by JustSomeGeek (2021-05-11 12:20:12)

Offline

#152 2021-05-31 02:51:11

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,629
Website

Re: Reflector reborn

thiagowfx wrote:

Feature Request: What do you think of adding a "Worldwide" option to the list of countries supported by reflector? Rationale:

pacman-mirrorlist comes with a Worldwide section. Currently, it looks like this:

## Worldwide
#Server = http://mirrors.evowise.com/archlinux/$repo/os/$arch
#Server = http://mirror.rackspace.com/archlinux/$repo/os/$arch
#Server = https://mirror.rackspace.com/archlinux/$repo/os/$arch

Sorry, I missed your post (the one after it started a new page). The Mirror Status server's JSON response sets an empty string as the country and country code for the "worldwide" servers. You can therefore include them by passing an empty country code to reflector. To use your example, replace "Worldwide" with the empty string (but keep the comma):

reflector --protocol https --country 'Canada,'

I could modify reflector to replace "Worldwide" with the empty string but I prefer to avoid hard-coded keywords that may change in the future.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#153 2021-06-06 02:10:16

thiagowfx
Member
Registered: 2013-07-09
Posts: 558

Re: Reflector reborn

Thanks Xyne, that makes sense. There's no need to modify reflector for that, it's just a matter of documentation. I've gone ahead and added it as a Tip to the wiki (https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Reflector#Examples). Dunno if it's worth to add that to the man page as well, I'll leave that to your judgment.

Last edited by thiagowfx (2021-06-06 02:27:23)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB