You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-14 18:07:56

Tekniqall
Member
Registered: 2021-02-08
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] Cant install arch on laptop

I tried installing Arch on a laptop(Asus Vivobook S14 S435), and it doesnt boot at all, i think its because of the nvme drive not loading, since it puts me into a rootfs shell and not mouting the new_root, same thing happens if i install arch manually, with archinstall, multiple gui installers, endeavour and manjaro.
anybody knows how i can install arch on my laptop?

Last edited by Tekniqall (2021-06-14 18:28:17)

Offline

#2 2021-06-14 18:18:45

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 1,230
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Cant install arch on laptop

Other distros and easy installers aside, which commands did you issue to install Arch Linux and the bootloader in particular?
What where the exact outputs? If you used the guided installer, please provide its entire log.

Last edited by schard (2021-06-14 18:19:35)

Offline

#3 2021-06-14 18:22:11

Tekniqall
Member
Registered: 2021-02-08
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Cant install arch on laptop

i used grub
pacman -S --noconfirm grub efibootmgr intel-ucode
install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/efi --bootloader-id=GRUB
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Offline

#4 2021-06-14 18:23:12

Tekniqall
Member
Registered: 2021-02-08
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Cant install arch on laptop

oh i saw only the bootloader, for generally arch linux i just followed the wiki with the partitioning and other stuff

Offline

#5 2021-06-14 18:26:59

Tekniqall
Member
Registered: 2021-02-08
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Cant install arch on laptop

i just found the fix, https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=251762 ,i searched for a while and i couldnt find it, at least i found it now

Offline

#6 2021-06-14 18:30:25

geekmiki
Member
Registered: 2011-10-10
Posts: 52

Re: [SOLVED] Cant install arch on laptop

Same here, installing on a Lenovo Legion 5.

I have also tried to add vmd module as suggested here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=251762
and added the following to /etc/default/grub (before rebuilding GRUB of course):

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="cryptdevice=/dev/nvme0n1p1:disk"
GRUB_ENABLE_CRYPTODISK=y

At this stage I am a out of ideas on what might be missing. Any help appreciated.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB