You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-15 12:44:52

hepuyuan100
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 17

I can't install grub while installing archlinux

In fact I can successfully install grub when I use the archlinux ISO before 2021.3. And a few days ago, I reinstall archlinux again and found I can't successfully install grub.

I run " grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/EFI --bootloader-id = GRUB" , and it failed to install. And when I add --removeable, I can install it. But When I reboot my computer there is no welcome screen of grub. I just got a black screen.

Is there anyone knowing what's the problem ?

Offline

#2 2021-06-15 12:49:42

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 13,819

Re: I can't install grub while installing archlinux

What "failed to install" message do you get exactly? Are you sure you are booting in UEFI mode? Which exact system/mainboard/laptop model is this?

Offline

#3 2021-06-15 14:16:31

hepuyuan100
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 17

Re: I can't install grub while installing archlinux

I'm sure it's booting in UEFI mode. Infact everything is OK when I use the archlinux ISO before 2021.3 . The message I didn't remember. I can post it tonight when I come back.

V1del wrote:

What "failed to install" message do you get exactly? Are you sure you are booting in UEFI mode? Which exact system/mainboard/laptop model is this?

Offline

#4 2021-06-15 16:31:04

leekz-my
Member
From: Malaysia
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 2
Website

Re: I can't install grub while installing archlinux

BTW are you sure that your EFI System Partition is mounted on /boot/EFI not /boot/efi or /efi? Normally people mount the ESP on /boot/efi or /efi and the folder /boot/efi/EFI or /efi/EFI will be auto-created when running grub-install.

Offline

#5 2021-06-16 09:25:16

hepuyuan100
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 17

Re: I can't install grub while installing archlinux

Yes, I follow the guide on Internet to
mkdir /mnt/boot
mkdir /mnt/boot/EFI
and now I've solved my problem. I found when I use fdisk to do the partition, I should also use the command "t" to change the file type of the EFI partition.

leekz-my wrote:

BTW are you sure that your EFI System Partition is mounted on /boot/EFI not /boot/efi or /efi? Normally people mount the ESP on /boot/efi or /efi and the folder /boot/efi/EFI or /efi/EFI will be auto-created when running grub-install.

Last edited by hepuyuan100 (2021-06-16 09:28:01)

Offline

#6 2021-06-16 09:27:22

hepuyuan100
Member
Registered: 2021-06-15
Posts: 17

Re: I can't install grub while installing archlinux

Because I creat the dir by mkdir /mnt/boot/EFI and then mount /dev/... /mnt/boot/EFI
now the folder is  /boot/EFI/EFI. I want to know whether I can change the name of the folder. Like from /boot/EFI/EFI to /boot/efi/EFI(which is what you said)

leekz-my wrote:

BTW are you sure that your EFI System Partition is mounted on /boot/EFI not /boot/efi or /efi? Normally people mount the ESP on /boot/efi or /efi and the folder /boot/efi/EFI or /efi/EFI will be auto-created when running grub-install.

Last edited by hepuyuan100 (2021-06-16 09:31:37)

Offline

#7 2021-06-16 09:40:12

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 13,819

Re: I can't install grub while installing archlinux

You can change the name to whatever you want it doesn't matter. as long as the relevant operations which should land on the ESP happen it doesn't matter what underlying mountpoint you use on linux.

Offline

#8 2021-06-16 10:00:54

leekz-my
Member
From: Malaysia
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 2
Website

Re: I can't install grub while installing archlinux

As mentioned, you don't necessary have to change it, I asked just to confirm you did the operation on correct mountpoint. Just leave it as how it's now. (If it ain't broke, don't fix it!) smile

Last edited by leekz-my (2021-06-16 10:01:18)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB