You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-29 14:42:35

kunhanh
Member
Registered: 2021-07-29
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] pacman and meson

I use ./configure --disable-shared to compile pacman. Is there any option like that (--disable-shared) for meson when pacman version 6.0 has removed the configure file?

Last edited by kunhanh (2021-07-30 15:17:22)

Offline

#2 2021-07-29 15:03:53

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 49,967

Offline

#3 2021-07-29 19:26:52

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,784
Website

Re: [SOLVED] pacman and meson

Mod note: not an Arch discussion topic, moving to Pacman issues.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#4 2021-07-30 03:22:35

kunhanh
Member
Registered: 2021-07-29
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] pacman and meson

I don't use static libraries, neither. Because when gcc compiles pacman without --disable-shared, an error happens with /usr/lib/libarchive.a. It complains about undefined symbol  '.rodata' and some other symbols, too. I try to use the static libraries but it still failed to compile.
Note that I configure `gcc` with (trying to compile on LFS):

./configure
--build=$(./config.guess)                     \
    --host=$LFS_TGT                                \
    --prefix=/usr                                  \
    CC_FOR_TARGET=$LFS_TGT-gcc                     \
    --with-build-sysroot=$LFS                      \
    --enable-initfini-array                        \
    --disable-nls                                  \
    --disable-multilib                             \
    --disable-decimal-float                        \
    --disable-libatomic                            \
    --disable-libgomp                              \
    --disable-libquadmath                          \
    --disable-libssp                               \
    --disable-libvtv                               \
    --disable-libstdcxx                            \
    --enable-languages=c,c++

Do I need to post something like failed compile log or libarchive configuration? Or do I need to install libstdc++ after install gcc?

Last edited by kunhanh (2021-07-30 03:40:39)

Offline

#5 2021-07-30 05:48:47

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 49,967

Re: [SOLVED] pacman and meson

So this is an xy-problem?
You're just trying to build pacman,  no matter how, but get an undisclosed build error?
Do you build pacman using makepkg or, even better, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Arch_Build_System ?

trying to compile on LFS

… or at least follow the build parameters from the PKGBUILD?

In any event, please post the complete build log.

Offline

#6 2021-07-30 14:04:56

kunhanh
Member
Registered: 2021-07-29
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] pacman and meson

Hmm, removed everything, restored LFS and compiled libarchive after all dependencies (before pacman) solved the problem. One last question before close this thread: Why use meson instead of make?

Offline

#7 2021-07-30 14:34:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 49,967

Re: [SOLVED] pacman and meson

"instead of autotools" - a popular alternative would have been cmake

It's probably all Allans fault, but here's Mesons shameless self-advertisement that I asssume made the pacman developers opt for meson:
https://mesonbuild.com/Comparisons.html
https://mesonbuild.com/Simple-comparison.html

Offline

#8 2021-07-30 15:15:28

kunhanh
Member
Registered: 2021-07-29
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] pacman and meson

Thanks for your answer.

Closing this thread

Offline

#9 2021-07-31 11:32:32

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,365
Website

Re: [SOLVED] pacman and meson

seth wrote:

It's probably all Allans fault, but here's Mesons shameless self-advertisement that I asssume made the pacman developers opt for meson:

Can't blame me.  I am an autotools fan...   I think Dave and Eli ported to meson and it was admittedly easier to do than in autotools.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB