You are not logged in.

#1 2006-09-29 13:59:46

saciel
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 153

Suspend2 general questions

I just set up suspend2 for my laptop yesterday. I configured everything according to the HowTo in the ArchWiki and it all works just fine. But there are some questions left that neither the wiki, nor the FAQ on supsend2's homepage could answer.

Basically, after hibernating... can I boot without using the image if I want/need to? I guess I have to put up an extra grub entry without the resume-line. But what happens to the image then? If it is still there I will have had changes in the filesystem and on reboot with the resume option I might mess something up. Or can I be sure that the image will be lost after halting the system?


They say if you reverse play a Windows CD you can hear satanic verses... But wanna know what's even worse? If you forward play it, it's gonna install Windows on your system!

Offline

#2 2006-10-03 20:33:55

damjan
Member
Registered: 2006-05-30
Posts: 316

Re: Suspend2 general questions

Booting without resuming is the same as if you boot after a power failure ... you could loose data that way.

Resuming after having changed your filesystems (in the pure boot session) is even more dangerous... It will probably severely damage your filesystems.

So don't do it.

One more thing, if you dual boot, unmount shared filesystems before suspending. For ex. if you have a FAT partition that you access from Linux, the Linux FAT driver thinks it knows everything about the stuff on the hard disk. But if you suspend, go to Windows and touch anything on that filesystem and then resume in Linux ... the on-disk structures and the structures in the FAT driver (in RAM) will not be in sync and you'll loose data, maybe even the whole filesystem.

Offline

#3 2006-10-03 20:38:54

damjan
Member
Registered: 2006-05-30
Posts: 316

Re: Suspend2 general questions

BTW here's the FAQ entry that talks about this:
http://www.suspend2.net/FAQ-5.html#ss5.5
this too
http://www.suspend2.net/FAQ-5.html#ss5.22

ps. luckily I don't have Windows on my laptop, nor FAT fs's, so using suspend2 is a great experience for me.

Offline

#4 2006-10-03 21:53:26

saciel
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 153

Re: Suspend2 general questions

I know about all that and have read those entries... I just would like to find a way to boot without resuming even if there is a suspend-image if I want to!


They say if you reverse play a Windows CD you can hear satanic verses... But wanna know what's even worse? If you forward play it, it's gonna install Windows on your system!

Offline

#5 2006-10-04 00:29:23

damjan
Member
Registered: 2006-05-30
Posts: 316

Re: Suspend2 general questions

Offline

#6 2006-10-04 01:27:15

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Suspend2 general questions

saciel wrote:

I know about all that and have read those entries... I just would like to find a way to boot without resuming even if there is a suspend-image if I want to!

noresume2 works, as mentioned. also, if you boot the system again since making the suspend image, eg, another kernel or just without resuming, it invalidates the image to reduce chance of problems.

James

Offline

#7 2006-10-04 11:46:26

saciel
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 153

Re: Suspend2 general questions

That's exactly what I want... if I make another grub entry without the resume line and boot it because I do not want to load the image... can I be sure it's invalidated and I don't get any problems using my resume grub entry when booting another time?

I did not dare to test that, yet.


They say if you reverse play a Windows CD you can hear satanic verses... But wanna know what's even worse? If you forward play it, it's gonna install Windows on your system!

Offline

#8 2006-10-15 22:44:32

iggy
Member
From: Germany, L.E. - Leipzig
Registered: 2004-10-17
Posts: 367

Re: Suspend2 general questions

hey! i also need the option to not resume! how must a grub-entry look like to do this without any problems?

thx, mfg iggy


sorry for my bad english smile

Offline

#9 2006-10-16 06:31:48

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Suspend2 general questions

just add the 'noresume2' option to the end of the grub kernel line.

Offline

#10 2006-10-16 10:13:44

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: Suspend2 general questions

saciel wrote:

That's exactly what I want... if I make another grub entry without the resume line and boot it because I do not want to load the image... can I be sure it's invalidated and I don't get any problems using my resume grub entry when booting another time?

I did not dare to test that, yet.

I am not sure. Just boot the normal command line with the usual resume2= option AND noresume2. That way, you make sure that it is invalidated properly. Also do not boot into a kernel that doesn't support suspend2, because it won't invalidate the image properly.

Offline

#11 2006-10-16 12:05:04

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: Suspend2 general questions

Given that the image lives in your swap space, the easiest way to make sure the image is "invalidated" is to ensure that when you boot, your swap space is activated.  This will destroy the image.  "noresume2" should make sure this happens, if it doesn't, a simple "mkswap /dev/[SWAP]; swapon /dev/[SWAP]" will do it.  You could put something in /etc/rc.local that checks the kernel parameters for "noresume2", and if it finds it, runs these commands, just as a safety net.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#12 2006-10-16 12:54:12

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Suspend2 general questions

I should mention that the hibernate scripts package includes a daemon that does that for you, invalidates the image.

James

Offline

#13 2006-10-21 21:34:10

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 913

Re: Suspend2 general questions

iphitus wrote:

I should mention that the hibernate scripts package includes a daemon that does that for you, invalidates the image.

James

Yes, anyone using suspension to disk 2 should put that daemon in rc.conf, although its name is a bit misleading: it should be called something like 'hibernate-cleanup', instead of 'hibernate'.


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#14 2006-11-15 22:30:20

Snarkout
Member
Registered: 2005-11-13
Posts: 542

Re: Suspend2 general questions

iphitus wrote:

I should mention that the hibernate scripts package includes a daemon that does that for you, invalidates the image.

James

Ah - sweet - I've been looking for something like this.


Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth.
-Albert Einstein

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB