You are not logged in.

#1 2021-09-06 17:31:54

AFatNut21
Member
Registered: 2021-09-06
Posts: 10

AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

I want to get support for crossfire for my radeon rx570. I don't know of any workarounds at the moment, I followed these guides which don't work for me. And some are outdated:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=163542
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Unoffi … s#catalyst
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/AMD_Ca … positories
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Talk:AMD_Catalyst
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/AMD_Catalyst
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xorg#AMD

No packages contain the anticonfig command, and that's the only way how I can see myself manually configuring it.
And crossfire is now know as mgpu https://www.phoronix.com/forums/forum/l … -just-mgpu

Is there any workarounds? or do I have to make one myself?

Offline

#2 2021-09-06 17:46:09

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 14,441

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

Pretty sure this is not a thing with anything that's in any way modern. Catalyst is dead and you are likely to gain more by enabling amdgpu for vulkan support and there are no efforts into anything of that sort there afaik.

Offline

#3 2021-09-06 17:58:33

AFatNut21
Member
Registered: 2021-09-06
Posts: 10

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

I have amdgpu and vulkan already installed, and enabled it as much as I can. Is there another way to combine both my radeon video cards together?

Offline

#4 2021-09-06 21:02:05

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 14,441

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

Not as far as I know no. To do this in any way you'd need game support, there are not many native vulkan titles and its unlikely to be on any priority list for any actual dev. It's also far off for compat layers like vkd3d (... and would probably need the relevant equivalent on the d3d side as well).

What you could do is use one of the cards for background renders/HW encoding without it actively driving something, but at least as far as I know there's nothing for the use case you want.

The last article you posted goes into details of how unfeasible normal crossfire is and that mgpu isn't actually a replacement, but a name for giving a game access to two gpus independently which the game can then make use of -- or not.

Last edited by V1del (2021-09-07 00:44:55)

Offline

#5 2021-09-18 01:53:01

AFatNut21
Member
Registered: 2021-09-06
Posts: 10

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

I did some digging around and I found out that you can change the environment variables for the Vulkan layer shaders and make it what I want  "Is there another way to combine both my radeon video cards together?"
https://vulkan.lunarg.com/doc/view/late … arted.html <-- Download the Vulkan Package, manually build it and install it.

I forgot what group it was under that is needed to be changed: my system went down after installing linux-lts with the vanilla kernel that caused it to go down. And there was a thread on stackexchange, I'll find that again hopefully.
And I also want to talk about the amdgpu and amdgpupro articles. Wattman python script is completely busted. The file indicates a structing and functions. The function is returning an error because 0xffffffff is not an integer. The only way to fix that is creating an ASCI value array inside the function, but even fixing that will cause even more errors hence "there is reports of it not working since 2020 on github". The way arch linux shows to overclock gpus are not up to date, it links to a three year old reddit post that has a lot of typos and misunderstood info.
My conclusion is the methods to overclock don't work for my amdgpus

My AMDGPU is Arctic Islands POLARIS10 stated from Gentoo: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU, I have all the propriety/open source drivers installed including lib32, I have radeon-profile installed which that is not working as it is supposed too.


I'll post as much as I can, college is picking back up again

Offline

#6 2021-09-18 11:00:10

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 9,583

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

apart from wattmangtk being possibly broken, the amdgpu page lists it under monitoring , not under overclocking .

Under overclocking 3 tools are listed for those that don't want to do things manually :
amdgpu-clocks (CLI) , TuxClocker , CoreCtrl .
Have you tried those* ?

as for radeon-profile  : last release was in aug 2020, last commit nov 2020 . Questionable if it's still maintained.

I have all the propriety/open source drivers installed including lib32

Unless you want to run GPGPU tasks or programs like DaVinci Resolve you don't need the proprietary drivers.




* CoreCtl has a good reputation and supports per-application profiles

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2021-09-18 11:01:04)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#7 2021-09-18 17:30:55

AFatNut21
Member
Registered: 2021-09-06
Posts: 10

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

I installed proprietary drivers because they stack ontop of the open source kernel driver AMDGPU. I want to be able to switch from open source to proprietary drivers when it comes to gaming to test, code, etc. I was thinking that "stacking" the AMDGPU driver uses the proprietary drivers. I looked into TuxClocker, but I didn't install it for some reason.  I'll look into the other one's and see if they work, which I totally forgot about it. I am burnt for now on Crossfire support for my radeon rx 570, onto my other question.  I keep getting this error when running radeon-profile with sudo command:

QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-root'

It's odd as systmctl --user is up and running, but not root for some reason? Does it have to do with my lightdm.conf? it is commented out. I haven't tried it yet as I don't have a SSD to back up my system at the moment.

Offline

#8 2021-09-19 04:12:19

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 14,441

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

All/most of these lunar SDK tools are part of the vulkan-tools package and don't need to be manually built.

That "error" is normal as you are running the application outside of your users environment (sudo clears all environment variables by default), it's not clear from your post on whether this is an actual issue or whether you are just wondering about the message. If it works and you are just wondering about the message stop worrying about the message. If you actually need your environment to be shared a quick way to "fix" it is using sudo -E but depending on what the application is actually doing this has a chance of breaking things. See https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Runnin … _root#Xorg as well.

Offline

#9 2021-09-19 04:32:02

AFatNut21
Member
Registered: 2021-09-06
Posts: 10

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

I had a feeling that they were, but I wanted to double check. I guess that's all the questions I have. You can close this thread, and thanks again both of you

Last edited by AFatNut21 (2021-09-19 05:05:39)

Offline

#10 2021-09-20 20:32:35

AFatNut21
Member
Registered: 2021-09-06
Posts: 10

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

Well now I think about it more, maybe it should stay open, because I would really like to get that crossfire support so I can use both my gpus. Yes I am aware that you can get more out of the kernel drivers as what you said before, but then I can get even more by combining them. I was thinking the radeon software.exe? Installing that might work.

Offline

#11 2021-09-21 06:42:41

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 14,441

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

It's not going to work... Crossfire is dead, it doesn't even work with Vulkan/DX12 on Windows. And even if it would, you can't magic driver level features into existence with WINE.

Offline

#12 2021-09-28 17:49:42

AFatNut21
Member
Registered: 2021-09-06
Posts: 10

Re: AMD/Radeon crossfire Support

I came over to arch linux because windows 10 is utterly garbage. And I built my whole minitower and installed both of the Radeon Rx 570 hoping to use crossfire when I was done configuring everything, which I am not. I understand that crossfire is DEAD, and it is hard to face the fact that what I went through, and the time I spent building just to hear that I can't do what I originally wanted. I understand that it was stupid to post the idea of using WINE to install the Radeon software even when it is already installed via AUR. I was desperate when proposed that idea. Surely, you understand what it feels to build effort and the one thing you want, you can't get: this goes to everyone who is viewing this post. And if you don't, whatever.

I re-read the post, and Lone_Wolf, you are right about the closed drivers being used for ONLY and only for DaVinci Resolve. However, by reading the wiki OpenGL and OpenCL are needed as well as  xf86-video-amdgpu amdgpu-pro-libgl. I don't need those packages. I also understand that ACO compiler is better than closed driver for vulkan and AMDGPU-PRO. I am going to remove packages and test with some closed drivers, uninstall some Vulkan packages black-list them. Follow the guide at lunarg.org even though the packages are almost the same.  I looked into it and Multi-Gpu is supported with the Vulkan drivers. chainswap, Device-grouping, and another variable needs to be altered. I am going to look into more and see this through to the end. I want this thread to be open still, to post my results of using Open-source drivers when gaming, and also closed-source drivers.


Obviously, there are already reports of it, but I am going to still do it for the experience and also I believe my results will be different. Of course it is going to be slow as I am busy right now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB