You are not logged in.

#1 2021-10-04 17:13:31

JSmiths
Member
Registered: 2021-10-04
Posts: 2

[Solved] Error after booting arch from GRUB

After Installation, I find that GRUB loads as expected, however, however, if I try to boot into Arch, I get the following error:

Starting version 249.4-1-arch
ERROR: device 'UUID=0c2d13a-9b62-42a9-880a-f54b3b7cca85' not found. Skipping fsck.
mount: /new_root : can't find UUID=0c2d13a-9b62-42a9-880a-f54b3b7cca85.
You are now being dropped into an emergency shell.
sh: can't acess tty; job control turned off

Note that I am attempting to dual boot with windows using GPT scheme, which Is likely a cause, as I have completed similar installations successfully when running Linux alone.

Any help appreciated.

Last edited by JSmiths (2021-10-05 16:09:24)

Offline

#2 2021-10-04 18:23:48

Mr Victory
Member
Registered: 2021-06-10
Posts: 32

Re: [Solved] Error after booting arch from GRUB

Start by disabling fast boot https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/418 … -10-a.html This can cause all sorts of problems.
Send the file /boot/grub/grub.cfg and the output of blkid.

Offline

#3 2021-10-05 12:14:03

Wild Penguin
Member
Registered: 2015-03-19
Posts: 239

Re: [Solved] Error after booting arch from GRUB

Just pointing out perhaps it's this bug: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/68704 (noticed from another thread).

Chroot into your installation, add vmd into the mkinitcpio MODULES array and re-generate initramfs. If you need more help, ask, people here can probably advice (or point to relevant wiki pages) on how to do this.

(EDIT: This is just a wild guess; obiously this is not the case if one is not using an Intel M.2. blkid (and lsblk etc.) would be needed as there is very little information in the OP to go on from)

Last edited by Wild Penguin (2021-10-05 12:16:37)

Offline

#4 2021-10-05 16:09:00

JSmiths
Member
Registered: 2021-10-04
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved] Error after booting arch from GRUB

Wild Penguin wrote:

Just pointing out perhaps it's this bug: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/68704 (noticed from another thread).

Chroot into your installation, add vmd into the mkinitcpio MODULES array and re-generate initramfs. If you need more help, ask, people here can probably advice (or point to relevant wiki pages) on how to do this.

(EDIT: This is just a wild guess; obiously this is not the case if one is not using an Intel M.2. blkid (and lsblk etc.) would be needed as there is very little information in the OP to go on from)

Perfect, apologies for being late to reply, but it was an nvme detection issue which this resolved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB