You are not logged in.

#1 2021-10-06 22:24:45

nomeutente94
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-21
Posts: 15
Website

xandr --panning and --scale don't work properly on dual screen setup

Hello everyone,

I want to display without any borders a 512×192 sized window across two 256x192 screens. First screen is a 1024x768 LCD monitor, second screen is a 15khz CRT monitor.

I managed to upscale the first half of the window to the first screen with:

xandr --output eDP1 --mode "1024x768" --panning 256x192 --scale 0.25x0.25

Second screen resolution is set at native 256x192 by creating a new modeline and applying to it. This screen is set at position 256x0.

Everything works great but, as soon the mouse cursor enters the second screen area, the first monitor stops displaying the upscaled content properly, It just stops to upscale its half of the window and instead it displays the full 512×192 non upscaled view positioned in the top left corner of the screen, in its 1024x768 resolution. Everything else outside of that 512×192 screen portion is inaccessible.

- I don't have this issue when the second screen isn't connected (pretty obvious since I can't place the cursor outside the first screen).
- I don't have this issue with a 2560x1440 resolution second screen.
- I can't split the 512×192 window into two 256x192 windows.
- I need to display the 256x192 second half of the window to the second CRT monitor exactly at that resolution without any scale (no such things as 1024x768 4x downscale).

Is there a way to fix this? Is there a way to workaround this, by preventing the mouse cursor to enter into the second screen, since I don't need it? (would be even better, I could use that)

I use Intel Core i5-8250U integrated VGA, Mesa Intel UHD Graphics 620

Last edited by nomeutente94 (2021-10-06 23:03:10)

Offline

#2 2021-10-07 14:46:45

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 25,138

Re: xandr --panning and --scale don't work properly on dual screen setup

Is there a way to workaround this, by preventing the mouse cursor to enter into the second screen, since I don't need it? (would be even better, I could use that)

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/xpointerbarrier-git/

Is the crt XGA as well or do you actually run it at 256x192?

Online

#3 2021-10-07 18:55:30

nomeutente94
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-21
Posts: 15
Website

Re: xandr --panning and --scale don't work properly on dual screen setup

Thank you, didn't know of that!

seth wrote:

Is the crt XGA as well or do you actually run it at 256x192?

It's a 15khz monitor as I stated in the post, I actually run it at 192p

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB