You are not logged in.

#1 2021-10-10 22:26:56

TheJaava
Member
Registered: 2021-07-05
Posts: 59

xmonad not starting after system upgrade

I ran

sudo pacman -Syyu

and then updated my system. There were a lot of haskell related thing in the update.
But after logging in with lightdm, I got a blinking cursor and then it kicked me out of the session into lightdm again. I tried starting it with startx which gave me funny output.

ibHSbase-4.14.2.0-ghc8.10.5.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I checked that xmonad-git is up to date which it is according to git pull on the aur remote.

How should I troubleshoot further?

Offline

#2 2021-10-10 22:28:37

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,686
Website

Re: xmonad not starting after system upgrade

You need to rebuild xmonad.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2021-10-10 22:46:20

TheJaava
Member
Registered: 2021-07-05
Posts: 59

Re: xmonad not starting after system upgrade

Trying to rebuild xmonad and makepkg is failing:

===> Starting build()...
Configuring xmonad-0.16.99999...
Setup: Encounterd missing or private dependencies:
X11 ==1.10.*, data-default-class -any, setlocale -any

Offline

#4 2021-10-10 23:17:41

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 29,686
Website

Re: xmonad not starting after system upgrade

Welcome to haskell.

You have to install the depends as well (I have no idea what a private dependency is).


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2021-10-11 16:36:47

TheJaava
Member
Registered: 2021-07-05
Posts: 59

Re: xmonad not starting after system upgrade

I still don't know what the issue was that broke it, but I just uninstalled everything and reinstalled using stack. Now everything seems to be working the same except the default cursor is different now and lightdm does not recognize xmonad to start a session. I've tried creating .xprofile to start xmonad but it is not working. Before everything worked out of the box and I'm not sure why it isn't anymore.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB