You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-21 17:30:27

LuizF
Member
Registered: 2020-12-27
Posts: 25

Bad performance on KDE Arch

I use KDE Arch on my Laptop, its specifications are: 8gb RAM, i7-8550U.

Nothing fancy, but it should handle normal work... However, my environment is lagging all the time due to lack of RAM, according to "free -h".

When i open Microsoft Teams, VSCode and Google Chrome at the same time (downloaded them from aur repos, i'm not using thhe OS code that is in pacman), my computer run out of memory after some minutes.

I use a Dual boot with Windows, and my Windows performs much better than my arch, it never crashes like arch does.

I did not install many things, so i'd like to know: Am i using the system in a wrong way or is it normal to perform like that with the AUR repositories?

I'm thinking of installinlg another distro, like SUSE, POP_OS, or anything that has a download extension and is more stable and newbie friendly., but i really like arch. Is there a way to improve that?

Thanks

Last edited by LuizF (2021-06-21 17:31:39)

Offline

#2 2021-06-21 17:43:18

d_fajardo
Member
Registered: 2017-07-28
Posts: 1,283

Re: Bad performance on KDE Arch

However, my environment is lagging all the time due to lack of RAM, according to "free -h".

Why not share the output of that "free -h" while system is idle.
Are you using integrated graphics?

Offline

#3 2021-06-21 17:59:09

LuizF
Member
Registered: 2020-12-27
Posts: 25

Re: Bad performance on KDE Arch

d_fajardo wrote:

However, my environment is lagging all the time due to lack of RAM, according to "free -h".

Why not share the output of that "free -h" while system is idle.
Are you using integrated graphics?

While system is idle:
               total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem.:          7,5Gi       1,8Gi       3,6Gi       679Mi       2,1Gi       4,7Gi
Swap:          2,0Gi          0B       2,0Gi

When i open VSCode, Chrome and MS Teams:
               total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem.:          7,5Gi       3,6Gi       656Mi       1,1Gi       3,3Gi       2,5Gi
Swap:          2,0Gi          0B       2,0Gi

However, it gets worse. In, say, 30 minutes, as i continue using, available RAM is about 400mb

Offline

#4 2021-06-21 18:17:44

d_fajardo
Member
Registered: 2017-07-28
Posts: 1,283

Re: Bad performance on KDE Arch

It sounds to me more like a memory leak from one of those apps you mention.
Why don't you monitor each app to see which leaks. I would bet on MS Teams.

Offline

#5 2021-06-21 18:36:44

LuizF
Member
Registered: 2020-12-27
Posts: 25

Re: Bad performance on KDE Arch

d_fajardo wrote:

It sounds to me more like a memory leak from one of those apps you mention.
Why don't you monitor each app to see which leaks. I would bet on MS Teams.

Yes, ive already done that. MS Teams uses arround 0,7 Gb
I realized VSCode consumes lots of RAM, 1.2Gb when i initialize it, growing as i use it.
Is it normal? The Open Source version that is on pacman is better in terms of consumption?

Last edited by LuizF (2021-06-21 18:41:40)

Offline

#6 2021-06-21 18:55:28

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 25,134

Offline

#7 2021-10-15 22:57:31

Frisk
Member
Registered: 2021-10-15
Posts: 1

Re: Bad performance on KDE Arch

I had some trouble specifically with KDE in Arch before, it took a long time to start and everything was so slow, probably some issue with KDE. Try to install Deepin (it works perfectly for me) or other desktop environment/widow manager -say Budgie, Xfce or Openbox-, your current integrated graphics should enough to handle them. My PC specs: Intel i5 8300, NVIDIA 1050 TI, RAM 8GB 2400 MHz.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB