You are not logged in.

#1 2021-11-21 23:15:40

kivot
Member
Registered: 2021-11-20
Posts: 2

arch-chroot: /mnt/proc mount point does not exist

I am new to Arch Linux but have some experience with Linux in general.
I am following the https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Installation_guide and using the Arch Linux live ISO on the USB Flashdrive to boot into Arch Linux.
The target drive for the installation is also an USB Flashdrive but it is probably irrelevant here.
Anyway the /dev/sda2 on the freshly partitioned drive is the partition I want to install Arch Linux into. It is formatted as ext4 and already mounted to /mnt.
So at this step https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Instal … ide#Chroot the following error message comes up

arch-chroot: /mnt/proc mount point does not exist

Does this mount point /mnt/proc have to be created manually beforehand? What all mount points should be created to be able to use arch-chroot?
Given that the creation of these mount points is not described in the installation guide I recon something went wrong or I deviated from the happy path. So what did I do wrong (or did not do)?

Offline

#2 2021-11-21 23:29:25

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,750

Re: arch-chroot: /mnt/proc mount point does not exist

Did you miss the pacstrap step? You should already have the correct directories created as part of the filesystem package which is one of the base dependencies.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2021-11-22 00:05:37

kivot
Member
Registered: 2021-11-20
Posts: 2

Re: arch-chroot: /mnt/proc mount point does not exist

Thanks, I did execute the

pacstrap /mnt base linux linux-firmware

as advised here https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Instal … l_packages
What might have happened is I might have had a typo in

base

and did not notice it.
Now I have just re-run the command

pacstrap /mnt base linux linux-firmware

and

arch-chroot /mnt

went successfully.
Thanks for the tip!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB