You are not logged in.

#26 2021-11-23 08:50:55

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 14,469

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

What's your printenv ? did you set SDL_VIDEODRIVER to a bogus value? Though I'd expect that to at least show up in terminal logs from starting a game?

Offline

#27 2021-11-23 08:50:58

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 25,085

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

byjove01 wrote:

I can still launch a lot of my Wine games, Blender, but not my native Linux games...

Sanity check: what is "linux games" in particular (since this could perfectly be a client bug, or maybe vulkan related)

Offline

#28 2021-11-23 09:03:00

orlfman
Member
Registered: 2007-11-20
Posts: 98

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

might be a bad card. it could be dying.

Offline

#29 2021-11-23 12:44:53

byjove01
Member
From: Alps, France
Registered: 2021-02-15
Posts: 82

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

seth wrote:
byjove01 wrote:

I can still launch a lot of my Wine games, Blender, but not my native Linux games...

Sanity check: what is "linux games" in particular (since this could perfectly be a client bug, or maybe vulkan related)

Any of my Linux native games. Cube 2 Sauerbraten, The Witcher II, Amnesia: The Dark Descent, even Battle for Wesnoth doesn't render anything.
Knowing that some of my games (these ones are either older or comes from more "amateur" developers) still works, maybe it's related to OpenGL or Vulkan, I couldn't say it with a lot of accuracy.

orlfman wrote:

might be a bad card. it could be dying.

I don't think so. It's the only serious graphical problem I got with my distro ; I can for sure run "performance-hungry" softwares like Blender or even several of my Windows games with Wine. Others know the same problem, like Bioshock.

V1del wrote:

What's your printenv ? did you set SDL_VIDEODRIVER to a bogus value? Though I'd expect that to at least show up in terminal logs from starting a game?

Nothing comes even when lauching the games from terminal +

printenv

SHELL=/bin/bash
SESSION_MANAGER=local/pchost-1:@/tmp/.ICE-unix/844,unix/pchost-1:/tmp/.ICE-unix/844
WINDOWID=41943047
QT_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTORS=DisplayPort-0=1;DisplayPort-1=1;HDMI-A-0=1;HDMI-A-1=1;
COLORTERM=truecolor
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/home/byjove/.config/kdedefaults:/etc/xdg
XDG_SESSION_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Session1
LANGUAGE=fr:en_US
LC_ADDRESS=fr_FR.UTF-8
LC_NAME=fr_FR.UTF-8
SHELL_SESSION_ID=18a44066b6004f9c818e4bc8dfa94e19
DESKTOP_SESSION=plasma
LC_MONETARY=fr_FR.UTF-8
GTK_RC_FILES=/etc/gtk/gtkrc:/home/byjove/.gtkrc:/home/byjove/.config/gtkrc
XCURSOR_SIZE=24
WINEDLLPATH=/usr/lib/discord-rpc-wine/x86_64:/usr/lib/discord-rpc-wine/i686
GTK_MODULES=canberra-gtk-module
XDG_SEAT=seat0
PWD=/home/byjove/Desktop/wesnoth-1.14.17
XDG_SESSION_DESKTOP=KDE
LOGNAME=byjove
XDG_SESSION_TYPE=x11
SYSTEMD_EXEC_PID=708
XAUTHORITY=/home/byjove//.Xauthority
MOTD_SHOWN=pam
GTK2_RC_FILES=/etc/gtk-2.0/gtkrc:/home/byjove/.gtkrc-2.0:/home/byjove/.config/gtkrc-2.0
HOME=/home/byjove/
LC_PAPER=fr_FR.UTF-8
LANG=fr_FR.UTF-8
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=KDE
KONSOLE_DBUS_SERVICE=:1.25
KONSOLE_DBUS_SESSION=/Sessions/1
PROFILEHOME=
XDG_SEAT_PATH=/org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
KONSOLE_VERSION=210803
KDE_SESSION_UID=1000
XDG_SESSION_CLASS=user
TERM=xterm-256color
LC_IDENTIFICATION=fr_FR.UTF-8
USER=byjove
COLORFGBG=15;0
KDE_SESSION_VERSION=5
PAM_KWALLET5_LOGIN=/run/user/1000/kwallet5.socket
DISPLAY=:0
SHLVL=1
LC_TELEPHONE=fr_FR.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=fr_FR.UTF-8
XDG_VTNR=1
XDG_SESSION_ID=2
XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/run/user/1000
LC_TIME=fr_FR.UTF-8
QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0
XCURSOR_THEME=breeze_cursors
GTK3_MODULES=xapp-gtk3-module
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/home/byjove//.local/share/flatpak/exports/share:/var/lib/flatpak/exports/share:/usr/local/share:/usr/share:/var/lib/snapd/desktop
KDE_FULL_SESSION=true
PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/opt/android-sdk/platform-tools:/usr/lib/jvm/default/bin:/usr/bin/site_perl:/usr/bin/vendor_perl:/usr/bin/core_perl:/var/lib/snapd/snap/bin
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:path=/run/user/1000/bus
KDE_APPLICATIONS_AS_SCOPE=1
HG=/usr/bin/hg
MAIL=/var/spool/mail/byjove
LC_NUMERIC=fr_FR.UTF-8
_=/usr/bin/printenv
OLDPWD=/home/byjove/Desktop

Offline

#30 2021-11-23 14:57:40

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 25,085

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

Try a non-plasma session (openbox) and/or to suspend the kwin compositor (shift+alt+f12) - does that have any impact?
Does "glxgears" render? Does xeglgears? (Both in mesa-demos, and a lot of other demos you can try…)

Offline

#31 2021-11-23 15:13:28

byjove01
Member
From: Alps, France
Registered: 2021-02-15
Posts: 82

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

seth wrote:

Try a non-plasma session (openbox) and/or to suspend the kwin compositor (shift+alt+f12) - does that have any impact?
Does "glxgears" render? Does xeglgears? (Both in mesa-demos, and a lot of other demos you can try…)

How do I use openbox instead of plasma?
When I suspeed the kwin compositor, the screen just goes black.
And yes, both demos renders.

Offline

#32 2021-11-23 15:16:09

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 25,085

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

How do I use openbox instead of plasma?

You install it and select it at your DM or run it from your xinitrc (depending on however you're starting KDE right now)

When I suspeed the kwin compositor, the screen just goes black.

Sounds bad enough…

Offline

#33 2021-11-23 17:19:52

byjove01
Member
From: Alps, France
Registered: 2021-02-15
Posts: 82

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

seth wrote:

How do I use openbox instead of plasma?

You install it and select it at your DM or run it from your xinitrc (depending on however you're starting KDE right now)

When I suspeed the kwin compositor, the screen just goes black.

Sounds bad enough…

Ok, I launched a KDE/Openbox session, and now all my games were working perfectly. No more graphical issue.
Maybe it's related to Kwin?

Offline

#34 2021-11-23 21:27:42

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 25,085

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

If you deactivate the compositor in the kwin settings, do you get a usable KDE session out of that? And can you there run your games?
(Plasma throws around a hell lot of GL contexts and the driver might stumble over managing them)

Offline

#35 2021-11-24 10:04:22

byjove01
Member
From: Alps, France
Registered: 2021-02-15
Posts: 82

Re: My games apparently can't render and show black screen

seth wrote:

If you deactivate the compositor in the kwin settings, do you get a usable KDE session out of that? And can you there run your games?
(Plasma throws around a hell lot of GL contexts and the driver might stumble over managing them)

Now it does work. I launched

qdbus org.kde.KWin /Compositor suspend

in the terminal to disactivate the compositor, and then used Alt+Shift+F12 to relaunch it. Now it works properly... It seems like it's related to the compositor not launching correctly at startup.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB