You are not logged in.

#1 2021-11-27 21:03:29

turbochamp
Member
Registered: 2021-11-05
Posts: 8

Xrandr showing two monitors as one big screen (xmonad)

My issue is I can't move windows to another monitor in XMonad. It just detects both monitors as one big screen and I can't figure out how to solve it. XMonad is compiled with xinerama. I have tried using nvidia-settings to save configuration as well, but same result.. And here is my xrandr command.

xrandr --output DP-2 --primary --mode 3840x2160 --right-of HDMI-0 --output HDMI-0 --mode 3840x2160

Here is the output of xrandr.

xrandr -q                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  ✔  16s 
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 7680 x 2160, maximum 32767 x 32767
HDMI-0 connected 3840x2160+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 609mm x 349mm
   3840x2160     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    30.00    29.97    25.00    23.98
   2560x1440     59.95
   2048x1280     60.00
   2048x1080     24.00
   1920x1080     60.00    59.94    50.00    29.97    25.00    23.98
   1600x1200     60.00
   1600x900      60.00
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02
   1280x720      59.94    50.00
   1152x864      75.00
   1024x768      75.03    60.00
   800x600       75.00    60.32
   720x576       50.00
   720x480       59.94
   640x480       75.00    59.94    59.93
DP-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 connected primary 3840x2160+3840+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 609mm x 349mm
   3840x2160     60.00*+  29.98
   2560x1440     59.95
   2048x1280     59.96
   2048x1080     24.00
   1920x1200     59.88
   1920x1080     60.00    60.00    59.94    50.00    23.98
   1600x1200     60.00
   1600x900      60.00
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02
   1280x720      59.94    50.00
   1152x864      75.00
   1024x768      75.03    60.00
   800x600       75.00    60.32
   720x576       50.00
   720x480       59.94
   640x480       75.00    59.94    59.93
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-5 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Any thoughts? Or am I just doing something wrong.

Offline

#2 2021-11-27 21:23:23

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,378

Re: Xrandr showing two monitors as one big screen (xmonad)

xrandr isn't xinerama, but the xrandr output is fine - nothing wrong with that.
idk anything about xmonad, but multihead config seems to be troublesome - according to google…

Did you see https://wiki.haskell.org/Xmonad/Frequen … esktops.29

Offline

#3 2021-11-27 21:30:20

turbochamp
Member
Registered: 2021-11-05
Posts: 8

Re: Xrandr showing two monitors as one big screen (xmonad)

seth wrote:

xrandr isn't xinerama, but the xrandr output is fine - nothing wrong with that.
idk anything about xmonad, but multihead config seems to be troublesome - according to google…

Did you see https://wiki.haskell.org/Xmonad/Frequen … esktops.29

Yeah I've been basing everything on that doc. What's weird is the mKeys. If I revert back to stock xmonad config file, it does work with (mod+shift+wer) but the order is backwards, e sends it to left monitor and w to the right. Not a big deal. But with my custom mKeys it just doesn't work. e will send it to the left monitor but can't send anything to the right.

For anyone who does know xmonad this is the config:

    -- mod-shift-{w,e,r}, Move client to screen 1, 2, or 3
    --
    [ (mask ++ "M" ++ [key], screenWorkspace scr >>= flip whenJust (windows . action))
         | (key, scr)  <- zip "wer" [0..]
         , (action, mask) <- [ (W.view, "") , (W.shift, "S-")]
    ]

Offline

#4 2021-11-27 21:59:45

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,378

Re: Xrandr showing two monitors as one big screen (xmonad)

Your right output is listed as primary one - unless xmonad has a way to tag the outputs by label, I guess the primary one will end up being "1"

xrandr --output HDMI-0 --primary

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Multih … oordinates

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB