You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-04 10:28:09

kolana
Member
Registered: 2021-02-12
Posts: 34

Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU

Hi, I want to test vdpau video decoding with vlc.

I'm using my nvidia card only with nvidia 470 driver.

I installed libva-vdpau-driver.

below out of some commands found on wiki.

➜   vdpauinfo
display: :0   screen: 0
GPU at BusId 0x8 doesn't have a supported video decoder
Error creating VDPAU device: 1

➜   vainfo   
GPU at BusId 0x8 doesn't have a supported video decoder
[1]    29899 floating point exception (core dumped)  vainfo
```

journalctl -b --grep='vdpau | dri driver'

/usr/lib/gdm-x-session[4498]: (II) modeset(0): [DRI2]   DRI driver: iris
/usr/lib/gdm-x-session[4498]: (II) modeset(0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: va_gl
gsd-media-keys[6049]: Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_va_gl.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/lib/gdm-x-session[12537]: (II) NVIDIA(0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: nvidia
/usr/lib/gdm-x-session[12537]: (II) modeset(G0): [DRI2]   DRI driver: iris
/usr/lib/gdm-x-session[12537]: (II) modeset(G0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: va_gl

Can anyone help, what am I missing to get vdpau works correctly ?

Offline

#2 2022-01-04 10:46:03

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 15,069

Re: Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU

This reads like an optimus system in which case you likely don't want to do any of this and instead use the integrated GPU with VAAPI.

You should also remove libva-vdpau-driver since it explicitly does the reverse of what you actually want to do and bends over to the integrated card. VDPAU works on the nvidia card without any other packages. How have you configured your Optimus setup exactly?

Offline

#3 2022-01-04 13:54:20

kolana
Member
Registered: 2021-02-12
Posts: 34

Re: Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU

I use optimus-manager with it's default config.


└─[0] cat xorg.conf.d/10-optimus-manager.conf                  
Section "Files"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib/nvidia"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib32/nvidia"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib32/nvidia/xorg/modules"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib32/xorg/modules"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib64/nvidia/xorg/modules"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib64/nvidia/xorg"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier "layout"
	Screen 0 "nvidia"
	Inactive "integrated"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier "nvidia"
	Driver "nvidia"
	BusID "PCI:8:0:0"
	Option "Coolbits" "28"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "nvidia"
	Device "nvidia"
	Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier "integrated"
	Driver "modesetting"
	BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "integrated"
	Device "integrated"
EndSection

After removing that lib. I got

~ % vdpauinfo
display: :0   screen: 0
GPU at BusId 0x8 doesn't have a supported video decoder
Error creating VDPAU device: 1
~ % vainfo   
vaInitialize failed with error code -1 (unknown libva error),exit

Last edited by kolana (2022-01-04 14:03:30)

Offline

#4 2022-01-07 14:41:28

kolana
Member
Registered: 2021-02-12
Posts: 34

Re: Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU

Hi

Offline

#5 2022-01-07 14:43:29

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,868

Re: Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#6 2022-01-07 15:08:10

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,521

Re: Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU

V1del wrote:

use the integrated GPU with VAAPI

Is there a particular reason why you're trying to use vdpau (on the intel chip)?

If you remove optimus-manager and and all X11 configurations it generated, you should™ boot in a regular prime setup and be able to "prime-run vdpau" (found in the nvidia-prime package)

Offline

#7 2022-01-09 14:13:47

kolana
Member
Registered: 2021-02-12
Posts: 34

Re: Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU

I wanted to use vdpau for HW video acceleration when I'm using nvidia

Offline

#8 2022-01-09 14:17:28

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,521

Re: Cannot setup vdpau for nvidia GPU

seth wrote:

If you remove optimus-manager and and all X11 configurations it generated, you should™ boot in a regular prime setup and be able to "prime-run vdpau" (found in the nvidia-prime package)

If you insist on optimus-manager, you want to override VDPAU_DRIVER, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Hardwa … ring_VDPAU

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB