You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-09 19:18:41

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Can't connect to an external monitor.

I have an acer nitro 5. It has nvidia 1650 and ryzen 7 4900h. xrandr detects the monitor but still no picture on the screen i tried both nvidia and nouveau but none worked. I'd like to use it on nouveau. I currently have nvidia drivers.

Offline

#2 2022-01-09 19:27:14

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 26,179
Website

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

What picture do you expect to be on the screen and why / how?  Have you enabled that output with xrandr?  Does your WM/DE support multimonitor?  Does your WM/DE require a specific setting to use another monitor?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2022-01-09 19:28:43

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 4,867

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

If you're going to use nouveau then you might as well not bother with the nvida card at all and stick with the onboard Ryzen graphics, as they will have much better performance.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#4 2022-01-09 20:08:08

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

Trilby wrote:

What picture do you expect to be on the screen and why / how?  Have you enabled that output with xrandr?  Does your WM/DE support multimonitor?  Does your WM/DE require a specific setting to use another monitor?

xrandr --output HDMI-1-0 --primary --mode 1920x1080 --rotate normal
xrandr: Configure crtc 4 failed

Offline

#5 2022-01-09 20:13:43

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,195

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

Does this help? It was the top result when I entered your error message into a search engine.

Online

#6 2022-01-10 08:00:31

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Does this help? It was the top result when I entered your error message into a search engine.

I couldn't find how to make nvidia a main gpu.

Offline

#7 2022-01-10 08:28:41

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 15,039

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NVIDIA … phics_only change the first MatchDriver line to "amdgpu" the rest should be able to stay the same, make sure you follow additional switching guidance depending on how you start X

Offline

#8 2022-01-10 16:39:27

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

V1del wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NVIDIA … phics_only change the first MatchDriver line to "amdgpu" the rest should be able to stay the same, make sure you follow additional switching guidance depending on how you start X

It worked, but i can't fix tearing, even tho i tried to use the drm kernel module. I pressed 'e' in grub and then added

nvidia-drm.modeset=1

and then pressed f10 to boot but still tearing isn't fixed

Offline

#9 2022-01-10 17:21:04

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 15,039

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

Are you using anything that actively vsyncs/fixes tearing like a compositor?

Offline

#10 2022-01-10 18:28:37

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

V1del wrote:

Are you using anything that actively vsyncs/fixes tearing like a compositor?

Yeah i use picom jonaburg's fork here's da config:

ransition-length = 269
transition-pow-x = 0.1
transition-pow-y = 0.1
transition-pow-w = 0.1
transition-pow-h = 0.1
size-transition = true
corner-radius = 14;
rounded-corners-exclude = [
  "class_g = 'Polybar'",
  "n:e:Notification",
  "window_type = 'dock'",
  "window_type = 'desktop'"
];
round-borders = 1;
fading = true
fade-in-step = 0.04569;
fade-out-step = 0.04569;
fade-delta = 7
inactive-opacity-override = false;
ocus-exclude = [ "class_g = 'Cairo-clock'" ];
blur-kern = "3x3box";
blur-background-exclude = [
  "window_type = 'dock'",
  "window_type = 'desktop'",
  "_GTK_FRAME_EXTENTS@:c"
];
backend = "glx";
vsync = true
mark-wmwin-focused = true;
mark-ovredir-focused = true;
detect-rounded-corners = true;
detect-client-opacity = true;
refresh-rate = 0
detect-transient = true
detect-client-leader = true
glx-no-stencil = true
glx-no-rebind-pixmap = true
no-use-damage = false
render-sync-fence = true
log-level = "warn";
wintypes:
{
  tooltip = { fade = true; shadow = true; opacity = 0.75; focus = true; full-shadow = false; };
  dock = { shadow = false; }
  dnd = { shadow = false; }
  popup_menu = { opacity = 0.8; }
  dropdown_menu = { opacity = 0.8; }
};

Edit: the problem is still present even when killing picom. Plus i noticed that workspaces in bspwm work wrongly. ws1 is button 2; ws2 is button3; ws3 is button 4, etc. Idk why but it was fine before those changes.
Edit2: I refreshed bspwm, which refreshed picom and now numbers work fine.

Last edited by WeebSpirit (2022-01-10 19:00:08)

Offline

#11 2022-01-11 15:57:48

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

WeebSpirit wrote:
V1del wrote:

Are you using anything that actively vsyncs/fixes tearing like a compositor?

Yeah i use picom jonaburg's fork here's da config:

ransition-length = 269
transition-pow-x = 0.1
transition-pow-y = 0.1
transition-pow-w = 0.1
transition-pow-h = 0.1
size-transition = true
corner-radius = 14;
rounded-corners-exclude = [
  "class_g = 'Polybar'",
  "n:e:Notification",
  "window_type = 'dock'",
  "window_type = 'desktop'"
];
round-borders = 1;
fading = true
fade-in-step = 0.04569;
fade-out-step = 0.04569;
fade-delta = 7
inactive-opacity-override = false;
ocus-exclude = [ "class_g = 'Cairo-clock'" ];
blur-kern = "3x3box";
blur-background-exclude = [
  "window_type = 'dock'",
  "window_type = 'desktop'",
  "_GTK_FRAME_EXTENTS@:c"
];
backend = "glx";
vsync = true
mark-wmwin-focused = true;
mark-ovredir-focused = true;
detect-rounded-corners = true;
detect-client-opacity = true;
refresh-rate = 0
detect-transient = true
detect-client-leader = true
glx-no-stencil = true
glx-no-rebind-pixmap = true
no-use-damage = false
render-sync-fence = true
log-level = "warn";
wintypes:
{
  tooltip = { fade = true; shadow = true; opacity = 0.75; focus = true; full-shadow = false; };
  dock = { shadow = false; }
  dnd = { shadow = false; }
  popup_menu = { opacity = 0.8; }
  dropdown_menu = { opacity = 0.8; }
};

Edit: the problem is still present even when killing picom. Plus i noticed that workspaces in bspwm work wrongly. ws1 is button 2; ws2 is button3; ws3 is button 4, etc. Idk why but it was fine before those changes.
Edit2: I refreshed bspwm, which refreshed picom and now numbers work fine.

Tho even after i rebooted workspaces hotkeys are still wrong, even tho the numbers act as they should

Offline

#12 2022-01-16 20:26:36

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

WeebSpirit wrote:
WeebSpirit wrote:
V1del wrote:

Are you using anything that actively vsyncs/fixes tearing like a compositor?

Yeah i use picom jonaburg's fork here's da config:

ransition-length = 269
transition-pow-x = 0.1
transition-pow-y = 0.1
transition-pow-w = 0.1
transition-pow-h = 0.1
size-transition = true
corner-radius = 14;
rounded-corners-exclude = [
  "class_g = 'Polybar'",
  "n:e:Notification",
  "window_type = 'dock'",
  "window_type = 'desktop'"
];
round-borders = 1;
fading = true
fade-in-step = 0.04569;
fade-out-step = 0.04569;
fade-delta = 7
inactive-opacity-override = false;
ocus-exclude = [ "class_g = 'Cairo-clock'" ];
blur-kern = "3x3box";
blur-background-exclude = [
  "window_type = 'dock'",
  "window_type = 'desktop'",
  "_GTK_FRAME_EXTENTS@:c"
];
backend = "glx";
vsync = true
mark-wmwin-focused = true;
mark-ovredir-focused = true;
detect-rounded-corners = true;
detect-client-opacity = true;
refresh-rate = 0
detect-transient = true
detect-client-leader = true
glx-no-stencil = true
glx-no-rebind-pixmap = true
no-use-damage = false
render-sync-fence = true
log-level = "warn";
wintypes:
{
  tooltip = { fade = true; shadow = true; opacity = 0.75; focus = true; full-shadow = false; };
  dock = { shadow = false; }
  dnd = { shadow = false; }
  popup_menu = { opacity = 0.8; }
  dropdown_menu = { opacity = 0.8; }
};

Edit: the problem is still present even when killing picom. Plus i noticed that workspaces in bspwm work wrongly. ws1 is button 2; ws2 is button3; ws3 is button 4, etc. Idk why but it was fine before those changes.
Edit2: I refreshed bspwm, which refreshed picom and now numbers work fine.

Tho even after i rebooted workspaces hotkeys are still wrong, even tho the numbers act as they should

After some tinkering with picom i got it to work w/o tearing but my picture everywhere is really choppy, animations are laggy firefox is laggy etc. But when i connect a monitor it's not laggy but tearing is still there. And that thing with workspaces is still there only when using an external monitor. And even if i disable vsync in picom tearing is still present.
Edit: the performance in minecraft is great only when using an external monitor. I want it to be good with and without a monitor.
Edit2: checked with nvidia-smi, apps that are there do not have tearing, but firefox, for example still has tearing.

Last edited by WeebSpirit (2022-01-17 08:12:46)

Offline

#13 2022-01-16 23:36:19

2ManyDogs
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 3,805

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

WeebSpirit, please stop multi-posting (and full multi-quoting yourself is completely unnecessary). If no one has replied to your post and you need to add information, use the Edit link to add to your existing post.

Offline

#14 2022-01-17 07:52:04

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

2ManyDogs wrote:

WeebSpirit, please stop multi-posting (and full multi-quoting yourself is completely unnecessary). If no one has replied to your post and you need to add information, use the Edit link to add to your existing post.

That's what i did. I added extra information about the weird behaivour.

Offline

#15 2022-01-17 16:52:54

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,195

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

WeebSpirit wrote:

tearing

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/NVIDIA … en_tearing

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2022-01-17 16:53:09)

Online

#16 2022-01-19 09:39:45

WeebSpirit
Member
Registered: 2021-10-27
Posts: 47

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

I did

nvidia-settings --assign CurrentMetaMode="nvidia-auto-select +0+0 { ForceFullCompositionPipeline = On }"

and i get this:

ERROR: Error assigning value
       nvidia-auto-select+0+0{ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On} to
       attribute 'CurrentMetaMode' (arch:0.0) as specified in assignment
       'CurrentMetaMode=nvidia-auto-select +0+0 {
       ForceFullCompositionPipeline = On }' (Attribute not available).

Is that possible to fix or does that mean that i can't get rid of tearing?

Offline

#17 2022-01-19 17:16:18

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 6,195

Re: Can't connect to an external monitor.

No idea, sorry, I wouldn't use NVIDIA if they paid me.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB