You are not logged in.

#26 2021-01-05 09:10:16

ezacaria
Member
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 95

Re: Firefox freezes PC

I had a desktop tower some time ago, that froze randomly when using the optical drive. The freezing was so sudden, that there was never any log about it.

Since the problem seems to relate to Firefox usage, have you tried restarting it with add-ons disabled ("safe mode")?
In some of the logs, power devil inhibited the screensaver because firefox had audio or video activity. Have you been able to correlate the crashes with some specific activity in firefox (e.g., streaming, a site that triggers the crash, etc)?

Offline

#27 2021-01-05 17:17:50

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 402

Re: Firefox freezes PC

You can also create new Firefox profile and use it for some time to check if it hangs. Or reinstall Firefox.

Is your Firefox hardware accelerated? Do you use any addons?

Last edited by xerxes_ (2021-01-05 17:18:33)

Offline

#28 2021-01-05 18:55:35

Maniaxx
Member
From: .de
Registered: 2014-05-14
Posts: 502

Re: Firefox freezes PC

1) Please close and restart Firefox with 'LANG=C firefox' (changes language to english), go to 'about:support' (enter into urlbar), press the button at the top 'copy text to clipboard' and paste the text here in code tags.

2) Maybe try to capture MCEs. I'm not sure if its of any value here though. I'm running this for some weeks but just get some bogus disk errors logged.

$ ras-mc-ctl --summary
No Memory errors.

No PCIe AER errors.

No Extlog errors.

No devlink errors.
Disk errors summary:
    0:0 has 23 errors
    0:2048 has 158 errors
No MCE errors.

Last edited by Maniaxx (2021-01-05 19:10:28)


sys2064

Offline

#29 2021-01-07 07:29:35

logansdaddy
Member
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 7

Re: Firefox freezes PC

Firefox started freezing for me the last couple of days, where I have to power off my laptop. Been using firefox and arch as daily driver for 2 years with hardly any issues. Just installed chromium to see if it is indeed firefox that's causing the crashes/freezing.

Offline

#30 2021-01-10 10:12:33

ktatar156
Member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 56

Re: Firefox freezes PC

ezacaria wrote:

I had a desktop tower some time ago, that froze randomly when using the optical drive. The freezing was so sudden, that there was never any log about it.

Since the problem seems to relate to Firefox usage, have you tried restarting it with add-ons disabled ("safe mode")?
In some of the logs, power devil inhibited the screensaver because firefox had audio or video activity. Have you been able to correlate the crashes with some specific activity in firefox (e.g., streaming, a site that triggers the crash, etc)?

I can do that, but is there a way to save logs into file in safe mode? Because when computer freeze, I cannot change window into terminal to see the logs - I need somehow to save them constantly into some file.

Offline

#31 2021-01-10 12:16:16

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 9,800

Re: Firefox freezes PC

command output can be redirected to  a file .
Assuming you use bash as shell

command > standard&error_output.log 2>&1

The first > tells the command to send stdoutput to the file , the second > tells the shell to send stderror to stdoutput channel.
Both end up in the same file.

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2021-01-10 12:17:47)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#32 2021-01-10 12:28:03

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 402

Re: Firefox freezes PC

Start Firefox in terminal like that:

firefox -safe-mode &> ff_log

Offline

#33 2021-01-16 14:25:25

ktatar156
Member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 56

Re: Firefox freezes PC

Log from session in safe mode with crash - I think that there's nothing what could cause freeze... My guess it's related to the video drive and firefox connected... I'm sick of it! sad Is there any way to see logs from video card or force them to the generated with the most detailed data?

WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
[Child 1908, MediaDecoderStateMachine #1] WARNING: Decoder=7f75bba17c00 Decode error: NS_ERROR_DOM_MEDIA_FATAL_ERR (0x806e0005) - Error no decoder found for video/avc: file /build/firefox/src/firefox-84.0.2/dom/media/MediaDecoderStateMachine.cpp:3471
[Child 1908, MediaDecoderStateMachine #1] WARNING: Decoder=7f75bba14400 Decode error: NS_ERROR_DOM_MEDIA_FATAL_ERR (0x806e0005) - Error no decoder found for video/avc: file /build/firefox/src/firefox-84.0.2/dom/media/MediaDecoderStateMachine.cpp:3471
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED

###!!! [Child][MessageChannel] Error: (msgtype=0x3A0144,name=PContent::Msg_ScriptError) Channel closing: too late to send/recv, messages will be lost

WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED

###!!! [Child][MessageChannel] Error: (msgtype=0x3A0144,name=PContent::Msg_ScriptError) Channel closing: too late to send/recv, messages will be lost

WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED
WINDOW DECORATIONS RELOADED

Last edited by ktatar156 (2021-01-16 14:30:53)

Offline

#34 2021-01-16 14:33:11

Maniaxx
Member
From: .de
Registered: 2014-05-14
Posts: 502

Re: Firefox freezes PC

That's why several ppl suggested to check for h/w acceleration. It's relatively new and probably not yet stable. You could be affected indeed.


sys2064

Offline

#35 2021-01-16 17:39:50

ktatar156
Member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 56

Re: Firefox freezes PC

I'll disable h/w acceleration and check if this help.

Offline

#36 2021-02-01 17:37:11

vinsonchuong
Member
Registered: 2021-01-31
Posts: 2

Re: Firefox freezes PC

This started happening to me about a month ago after updating Firefox (so, either version 85 or 86). It only happens when I'm watching a YouTube video (other sites are fine.) Disabling H/W acceleration had no effect. I'm currently trying using Chromium for YouTube.

Offline

#37 2021-02-04 17:34:39

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 402

Re: Firefox freezes PC

Do you use linux-hardened and nouveau driver and play videos in full screen? I didn't try with browsers but I noticed that in this combination (linux-hardened + nouveau + full screen) it hangs when playing videos in mpv (just when video ends I can't get out from full screen, keyboard and mouse don't work; only pressing power button close system after approx 1:30 minute).

Last edited by xerxes_ (2021-02-04 17:36:08)

Offline

#38 2021-02-08 16:30:37

vinsonchuong
Member
Registered: 2021-01-31
Posts: 2

Re: Firefox freezes PC

I'm currently running the default kernel with `xf86-video-intel`.

Thanks for calling out graphics drivers! I'll do some reading into current recommendations.

For reference, I've found various bug reports for Firefox about memory leaks with YouTube. One with a lot of discussion is: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1386177. It could be that passed a certain point, the high memory usage takes down the system. I'll be monitoring system resources to see what they look like the next time my system hangs.

Offline

#39 2021-02-15 16:12:22

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 402

Re: Firefox freezes PC

You may want to uninstall 'xf86-video-intel', especially with newer Intel GPU and use kms kernel builtin drivers.

Offline

#40 2022-01-07 19:19:44

ktatar156
Member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 56

Re: Firefox freezes PC

Hi,
I disabled h/w acceleration but it didn't help... It still hangs my PC randomly No suspicious logs in journalctl, e.q. last one before freeze:

sty 07 19:25:35 Tatar plasmashell[779]: file:///usr/share/plasma/shells/org.kde.plasma.desktop/contents/views/Panel.qml:15:1: QML Panel: Binding loop detected for property "state"
sty 07 19:25:37 Tatar systemd[615]: app-firefox-090cc06f430b4577b7f227075b1102d4.scope: Consumed 40.322s CPU time.
sty 07 19:30:38 Tatar kded5[756]: ktp-kded-module: "auto-away" presence change request: "away" ""
sty 07 19:30:38 Tatar kded5[756]: ktp-kded-module: plugin queue activation: "away" ""
sty 07 19:31:52 Tatar kded5[756]: ktp-kded-module: "auto-away" state change: TelepathyKDEDModulePlugin::Enabled
sty 07 19:31:52 Tatar kded5[756]: ktp-kded-module: plugin queue activation: "unset" ""
sty 07 19:41:22 Tatar plasmashell[779]: qt.qpa.wayland: Wayland does not support QWindow::requestActivate()
sty 07 19:41:22 Tatar plasmashell[779]: kf.plasma.quick: Couldn't create KWindowShadow for PlasmaQuick::Dialog_QML_223(0x55a85ddb6070, name="popupWindow")
sty 07 19:41:22 Tatar plasmashell[779]: kf.plasma.quick: Couldn't create KWindowShadow for PlasmaQuick::Dialog_QML_223(0x55a85ddb6070, name="popupWindow")
sty 07 19:41:22 Tatar plasmashell[779]: kf.plasma.quick: Couldn't create KWindowShadow for PlasmaQuick::Dialog_QML_223(0x55a85ddb6070, name="popupWindow")
sty 07 19:41:22 Tatar systemd[615]: Started Firefox - Przeglądarka WWW.
sty 07 19:41:23 Tatar plasmashell[779]: file:///usr/share/plasma/shells/org.kde.plasma.desktop/contents/views/Panel.qml:15:1: QML Panel: Binding loop detected for property "state"

Offline

#41 2022-01-09 11:55:24

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 402

Re: Firefox freezes PC

Maybe try to run Firefox from other window manager then KDE and plasma. Do you use Xorg or Wayland?

Can you go in Firefox in address bar to about:support and post all info from section "Graphics"?

Last edited by xerxes_ (2022-01-09 11:55:58)

Offline

#42 2022-01-09 18:53:26

ktatar156
Member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 56

Re: Firefox freezes PC

I tried also with Gnome + Xorg and Wayland - still the same....
about:support - Graphics part:

Grafika
Funkcje
Komponowanie	WebRender (Software)
Asynchroniczne przewijanie/powiększanie	kółko; pasek przewijania; klawiatura; automatyczne przewijanie; płynne powiększanie gestem
Informacje sterownika WebGL 1 WSI	-
Renderer sterownika WebGL 1	WebGL creation failed: 
* WebglAllowWindowsNativeGl:false restricts context creation on this system. ()
* Exhausted GL driver options. (FEATURE_FAILURE_WEBGL_EXHAUSTED_DRIVERS)
Wersja sterownika WebGL 1	-
Rozszerzenia sterownika WebGL 1	-
Rozszerzenia WebGL 1	-
Informacje sterownika WebGL 2 WSI	-
Renderer sterownika WebGL 2	WebGL creation failed: 
* AllowWebgl2:false restricts context creation on this system. ()
Wersja sterownika WebGL 2	-
Rozszerzenia sterownika WebGL 2	-
Rozszerzenia WebGL 2	-
Protokół okien	x11
Środowisko pulpitu	kde
Docelowa liczba klatek na sekundę	60
GPU 1
Aktywna	Tak
Opis	AMD Radeon RX 590 Series
ID dostawcy	0x1002
ID urządzenia	0x67df
Dostawca sterownika	ati/unknown
RAM	0
Diagnostyka
AzureCanvasBackend	skia
AzureContentBackend	skia
AzureFallbackCanvasBackend	skia
CMSOutputProfile	Empty profile data
Display0	2560x1440 default
DisplayCount	1
Decyzje
HW_COMPOSITING	
available by default
blocked by env: Acceleration blocked by platform
OPENGL_COMPOSITING	
unavailable by default: Hardware compositing is disabled
WEBRENDER	
available by default
disabled by env: Not qualified
WEBRENDER_QUALIFIED	
available by default
blocklisted by env: No qualified hardware
WEBRENDER_COMPOSITOR	
disabled by default: Disabled by default
blocklisted by env: Blocklisted by gfxInfo
WEBRENDER_PARTIAL	
available by default
WEBRENDER_SHADER_CACHE	
disabled by default: Disabled by default
blocklisted by env: Blocklisted by gfxInfo
unavailable by runtime: WebRender disabled
WEBRENDER_OPTIMIZED_SHADERS	
available by default
blocklisted by env: Blocklisted by gfxInfo
unavailable by runtime: WebRender disabled
WEBRENDER_ANGLE	
available by default
unavailable by env: OS not supported
WEBRENDER_DCOMP_PRESENT	
available by default
disabled by user: User disabled via pref
unavailable by env: Requires Windows 10 or later
unavailable by runtime: Requires ANGLE
WEBRENDER_SOFTWARE	
available by default
WEBGPU	
disabled by default: Disabled by default
blocked by runtime: WebGPU can only be enabled in nightly
X11_EGL	
available by default
blocklisted by env: Blocklisted by gfxInfo
broken by runtime: glxtest could not use EGL
DMABUF	
available by default
blocklisted by env: Blocklisted by gfxInfo
unavailable by runtime: Requires EGL
Dziennik niepowodzeń
(#0) Error	glxtest: EGL glGetString returned null

Offline

#43 2022-01-09 21:11:38

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 402

Re: Firefox freezes PC

Your WebRender support is tragic! You may try to disable it completely, but I don't know if it will work with this new version (It was working with older version to enable WebRender) by setting values bellow in about:config and restart browser:

gfx.webrender.all - false
gfx.webrender.enabled - false
layers.acceleration.force-enabled - false

Maybe radv driver would be better?

Does glxgears hardware acceleration work (if your monitor has 60 hz refresh rate then you should have somethig about 60 fps when you start it from terminal)?

Offline

#44 2022-01-14 22:14:51

ktatar156
Member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 56

Re: Firefox freezes PC

GLxgears works

$ glxgears 
61210 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12241.988 FPS
62327 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12465.283 FPS
62882 frames in 5.0 seconds = 12576.261 FPS

hmmm - Now I started to used proprietary AMDGPU-PRO drivers instead of AMD open source for firefox (with progl firefox command) - and so far so good - no freezes yet. I'll look if it will be working for some time - if not, I'll adjust my WebRenderer.

Offline

#45 2022-01-15 16:10:38

xerxes_
Member
Registered: 2018-04-29
Posts: 402

Re: Firefox freezes PC

That huge number of fps in glxgears means that you had software acceleration of OpenGL. Now with AMDGPU-PRO drivers you can once more check glxgears number of fps and what you have in Firefox's about:support Graphics section (if it still have "Komponowanie WebRender (Software)").

Last edited by xerxes_ (2022-01-15 16:12:10)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB