You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-16 16:29:33

acidflux
Member
Registered: 2006-10-08
Posts: 15

Strange network problem

Hi, I'm having a strange problem with my network...

During the boot, the network daemon has been successfully started. I can browse the net using firefox. But the strange thing is I can't do anything else besides browsing. I can't connect to the repositories and download packages using pacman, I can't log in with gaim, I can't log in skype, etc.

When I try to log in using gaim, it gives me an error saying I need SSL packages installed. Actually I had openssl installed. Well, then I download the openssl package using firefox and reinstall it. But after that I can't start gaim anymore. It just crashed sad

Anybody can help me?

Thanks in advance!

Offline

#2 2006-10-16 17:29:27

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: Strange network problem

How do you connect to the net? Is it a direct connection or are you behind a firewall?
run ifconfig, route, and as root (mii-tool) and post them here for us to take a look.
Also in your /etc/resolv.conf you have the correct entries pointing to your DNS server correct?

Offline

#3 2006-10-16 18:12:02

acidflux
Member
Registered: 2006-10-08
Posts: 15

Re: Strange network problem

ralvez wrote:

How do you connect to the net? Is it a direct connection or are you behind a firewall?
run ifconfig, route, and as root (mii-tool) and post them here for us to take a look.
Also in your /etc/resolv.conf you have the correct entries pointing to your DNS server correct?

I am behind proxy...

This is the output of ifconfig

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0E:7B:7A:AE:05  
          inet addr:172.20.124.26  Bcast:172.20.127.255  Mask:255.255.252.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20e:7bff:fe7a:ae05/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:12788 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4627 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:1665827 (1.5 Mb)  TX bytes:414460 (404.7 Kb)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

%route

Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
172.20.124.0    *               255.255.252.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
default         172.20.127.254  0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0

%sudo mii-tool

eth0: negotiated 100baseTx-FD, link ok

And yes, the entries in /etc/resolv.conf are right. I think I wouldn't have been able to browse properly if the contents are wrong....

Oh yeah, I think I also need to note that previously I didn't have this kind of problems. The network went mad just recently...dunno what causes this.

Thanks for your help!

Offline

#4 2006-10-16 20:35:47

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Strange network problem

sounds like your network changed something. perhaps they installed a firewall or changed their proxy rules.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2006-10-16 20:47:17

acidflux
Member
Registered: 2006-10-08
Posts: 15

Re: Strange network problem

I'm really not sure what I have done but now it worked like it used to be  :?

I don't think there were some changes in my network for that slight amount of time, because I managed to login skype using other os in my other partition.

I will inform you all again the next time I reproduce the error  wink

Thanks!

Offline

#6 2006-10-16 21:21:10

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: Strange network problem

Actually ... I thing that something DID happen because your IP address is reported as 172.20.124.26 but your gateway and broadcast adress are pointing to a different sub-net 172.20.127.255

Also your gateway is the same as your broadcast 172.20.127.254 while it should be 172.20.127.1 for that specific net address.

Offline

#7 2006-10-16 21:56:34

Snarkout
Member
Registered: 2005-11-13
Posts: 542

Re: Strange network problem

Mask: 255.255.252.0

He's part of a private class B that probably looks like this:

172.20.124.1 - 172.20.127.254

Also, .1 as a gateway is only a convention, not a requirement.


Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth.
-Albert Einstein

Offline

#8 2006-10-16 22:03:49

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: Strange network problem

Agreed, but 254 is the broadcast and the gateway shares the same address ... that's odd.

Offline

#9 2006-10-16 22:36:43

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Strange network problem

broadcast is .255, not .254


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#10 2006-10-16 22:51:12

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: Strange network problem

Hum... I need new glasses lol I misread his posting. It actually does state broadcast as 255 I do not know why I thought it was 254 which would be a problem particularly if it was the same as the gateway...

Nevermind ... I'm going to sleep. roll
/* bumping head on the door frame*/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB