You are not logged in.

#1 2022-04-02 18:50:52

garybryan
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 6

Vulkan support with AMD Radeon R7 M270

Hi all, I'm trying to get the discrete part of the hybrid graphics (Intel 5500 and Radeon R7 M270) on an old-ish laptop (Dell Inspiron 15-7548) to work on Arch. Vulkan works fine on the Intel integrated graphics, and games run with acceptable performance.

With the default radeon driver, the card is recognised and shows in DRI_PRIME=1 glxinfo, but is incompatible with Vulkan.

From reading around, it appears that for Vulkan I need to use the amdgpu module rather than radeon and enable Southern Islands support, which I've done, and lspci -k shows that the correct module is being used:

08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Opal XT [Radeon R7 M265/M365X/M465]
	Subsystem: Dell Device 066f
	Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
	Kernel modules: radeon, amdgpu

I've installed vulkan-radeon. But the AMD card doesn't show up in vulkaninfo, only the Intel one:

GPU0:
	apiVersion         = 4206799 (1.3.207)
	driverVersion      = 92274787 (0x5800063)
	vendorID           = 0x8086
	deviceID           = 0x1616
	deviceType         = PHYSICAL_DEVICE_TYPE_INTEGRATED_GPU
	deviceName         = Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 (BDW GT2)
	driverID           = DRIVER_ID_INTEL_OPEN_SOURCE_MESA
	driverName         = Intel open-source Mesa driver
	driverInfo         = Mesa 22.1.0-devel (git-c36f3f2db8)
	conformanceVersion = 1.3.0.0
	deviceUUID         = ac4fb3eb-5a7e-0746-aa75-ea5ffa086705
	driverUUID         = 6bb939f3-be67-e4ef-5d5c-fe93310bf57f
GPU1:
	apiVersion         = 4202703 (1.2.207)
	driverVersion      = 1 (0x0001)
	vendorID           = 0x10005
	deviceID           = 0x0000
	deviceType         = PHYSICAL_DEVICE_TYPE_CPU
	deviceName         = llvmpipe (LLVM 13.0.1, 256 bits)
	driverID           = DRIVER_ID_MESA_LLVMPIPE
	driverName         = llvmpipe
	driverInfo         = Mesa 22.1.0-devel (git-c36f3f2db8) (LLVM 13.0.1)
	conformanceVersion = 0.0.0.0
	deviceUUID         = 6d657361-3232-2e31-2e30-2d6465766500
	driverUUID         = 6c6c766d-7069-7065-5555-494400000000

The AMD card also no longer shows up in DRI_PRIME=1 glxinfo with the amdgpu module loaded, so it appears that the problem isn't with Vulkan but with the module not loading properly in the first place.

I've had a look at dmesg to see if there's any relevant output:

[root@gary-dell ~]# dmesg | grep amdgpu
[    2.851288] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[    2.853373] amdgpu: CRAT table not found
[    2.853378] amdgpu: Virtual CRAT table created for CPU
[    2.853398] amdgpu: Topology: Add CPU node
[    2.853933] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0003)
[    2.854023] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Trusted Memory Zone (TMZ) feature not supported
[    2.854091] kfd kfd: amdgpu: OLAND  not supported in kfd
[    2.932432] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Fetched VBIOS from ATRM
[    2.932437] amdgpu: ATOM BIOS: BR45216.006
[    2.941704] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: VRAM: 4096M 0x000000F400000000 - 0x000000F4FFFFFFFF (4096M used)
[    2.941710] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: GART: 1024M 0x000000FF00000000 - 0x000000FF3FFFFFFF
[    2.941749] [drm] amdgpu: 4096M of VRAM memory ready
[    2.941751] [drm] amdgpu: 4096M of GTT memory ready.
[    2.942335] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: PCIE GART of 1024M enabled (table at 0x000000F400000000).
[    2.963136] [drm] amdgpu: dpm initialized
[    3.590925] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: SE 1, SH per SE 1, CU per SH 6, active_cu_number 6
[    3.968395] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Using BOCO for runtime pm
[    3.968821] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.42.0 20150101 for 0000:08:00.0 on minor 1
[   19.961355] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: PCIE GART of 1024M enabled (table at 0x000000F400000000).
[   20.362859] [drm:uvd_v3_1_hw_init [amdgpu]] *ERROR* amdgpu: UVD Firmware validate fail (-22).
[   20.363034] [drm:amdgpu_device_ip_resume_phase2 [amdgpu]] *ERROR* resume of IP block <uvd_v3_1> failed -22
[   20.363171] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: amdgpu_device_ip_resume failed (-22).

I've tried Googling these "UVD Firmware validate fail" and "resume of IP block" messages, and I've found a few results but they all seem to be related to resuming from hibernate, e.g. https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1953249. I've never used hibernate on this machine, and moreover, that issue seems to be fixed now in linux-firmware.

Any ideas?

Last edited by garybryan (2022-04-02 18:51:43)

Offline

#2 2022-04-05 23:08:45

Richie321Boom
Member
Registered: 2022-04-05
Posts: 1

Re: Vulkan support with AMD Radeon R7 M270

Hmm.. Is this card a amd r7 200 series southern islands card? the amdgpu driver works much better for me.
try having a look at arch wiki here https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/AMDGPU … mmand_line

Offline

#3 2022-04-08 16:04:43

garybryan
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 6

Re: Vulkan support with AMD Radeon R7 M270

Richie321Boom wrote:

Hmm.. Is this card a amd r7 200 series southern islands card? the amdgpu driver works much better for me.
try having a look at arch wiki here https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/AMDGPU … mmand_line

Yep, it's Southern Islands. As described in my original post, I've already set up amdgpu and enabled SI support, and the amdgpu module is now loading correctly but does not seem to be working.

Offline

#4 2022-04-08 19:59:49

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,660

Re: Vulkan support with AMD Radeon R7 M270

Which vulkan driver are you trying to use? amdvlk won't work, remove it and install radeon-vulkan instead, if that's where it's hanging.

Last edited by V1del (2022-04-08 20:00:35)

Offline

#5 2022-05-13 16:17:19

garybryan
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 6

Re: Vulkan support with AMD Radeon R7 M270

V1del wrote:

Which vulkan driver are you trying to use? amdvlk won't work, remove it and install radeon-vulkan instead, if that's where it's hanging.

Sorry for the delay in reply, I had given up hope with this! I'm definitely using vulkan-radeon from mesa if that's what you mean (although I did try amdvlk too).

I also tried with vulkan-radeon from mesa-git, but no luck with that.

Last edited by garybryan (2022-05-13 16:21:23)

Offline

#6 2022-05-17 10:15:38

nordkamp
Member
From: Queensland, AU
Registered: 2022-05-17
Posts: 10
Website

Re: Vulkan support with AMD Radeon R7 M270

Hi there, wondering whether or not the AMD GPU is being switched off automatically if amdgpu has more advanced power saving functionality than standard radeon. Do you think you could

sudo cat /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch

and post the output? Hopefully this debug file exists for you, in which case we can use it to see if the AMD video card is being fully powered off.


"Navigating one's life is like being a pathfinding algorithm with no paths to find." - Ghandi, probably

Offline

#7 2022-05-18 18:14:07

garybryan
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 6

Re: Vulkan support with AMD Radeon R7 M270

nordkamp wrote:

Hi there, wondering whether or not the AMD GPU is being switched off automatically if amdgpu has more advanced power saving functionality than standard radeon. Do you think you could

sudo cat /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch

and post the output? Hopefully this debug file exists for you, in which case we can use it to see if the AMD video card is being fully powered off.

Unfortunately that file and the vgaswitcheroo directory don't exist on my system.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB