You are not logged in.

#1 2022-04-14 21:48:11

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

[SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Heyo! This is the first post i've made on this forum. I want your help for creating (or explaining) how can I make software mix to work? I tried every link from the search's list and none of them worked... So if can someone tell me what can I do in this case. I just want to use the pure ALSA. Not PulseAudio, nor JACK, nor PipeWire. Just, pure ALSA.

Here's my /etc/asound.conf file (same on ~/.asoundrc file too):

pcm.snd_card { # my usual sound card
    type hw
    card 1
}

ctl.!default { # default control; alsamixer and such will use this
    type hw
    card 1
}

# software mixer for sound card
pcm.dmixer {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 1024
    ipc_perm 0666 # allow other users
    slave.pcm "snd_card"
    slave {
        period_time 0
        period_size 1024
        buffer_size 4096
        channels 2 # must match bindings
    }
    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

# software mixer for loopback device
pcm.dmixerloop {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 2048
    ipc_perm 0666 # allow other users
    slave.pcm "hw:Loopback,0,0"
    slave {
        period_time 0
        period_size 1024
        buffer_size 4096
        channels 2 # must match bindings
    }
    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

# allows multiple programs to capture simultaneously
pcm.dsnooper {
    type dsnoop
    ipc_key 2048
    ipc_perm 0666 
    slave.pcm "snd_card"
    slave 
    {
        period_time 0
        period_size 1024
        buffer_size 4096
        channels 2 
    }
    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

pcm.!default {
    type asym
    playback.pcm "out"
    capture.pcm "dsnooper"
}

# Multi, splitting onto usual card and loopback
pcm.out {
    type plug
    slave.pcm {
        type multi
        slaves {
            a { channels 2 pcm "dmixer" }
            b { channels 2 pcm "dmixerloop" }
        }
        bindings {
            0 { slave a channel 0 }
            1 { slave a channel 1 }
            2 { slave b channel 0 }
            3 { slave b channel 1 }
        }
    }
    ttable [
        [ 1 0 1 0 ]   # left  -> a.left,  b.left
        [ 0 1 0 1 ]   # right -> a.right, b.right
    ]
}

The output for "aplay --list-devices"

~ > aplay --list-devices                                                                             00:45:17
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 0: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 1: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

And even with that config, the software mixing still doesn't work and still limits to only one software neutral

Last edited by gabubu (2022-04-15 14:01:59)

Offline

#2 2022-04-15 06:11:34

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Do you use the loop device on purpose?
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/422 … -with-dmix - which points to a raspberry pi issue.

Basic dmix should™ be effortless, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Advanc … cture#Dmix

Online

#3 2022-04-15 06:19:57

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

seth wrote:

Do you use the loop device on purpose?
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/422 … -with-dmix - which points to a raspberry pi issue.

I don't even know how I have the loop device. And like I've said (or forgot idk) that config was found on other posts from other and this forum. And I'm not trying to use dmix on Raspberry Pi. I'm trying on my laptop.
Edit: Here's the config I used: https://unix.stackexchange.com/question … s-together

seth wrote:

Basic dmix should™ be effortless, https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Advanc … cture#Dmix

I tried and that too but no results. It still limits to one software to one output (I mean, software mixing it doesn't make the job)

Last edited by gabubu (2022-04-15 06:27:50)

Offline

#4 2022-04-15 06:43:20

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Scrap the complex setup w/ the loop device, reload the alsa config. Check "aplay --list-devices" to confirm and post the output of "aplay -L" (dmix should™ show up there)

It still limits to one software to one output (I mean, software mixing it doesn't make the job)

How do you test that? Are you sure you're using the dmix device - or maybe even oss?
Try to play "mpv --audio-device=alsa/dmix:default foo.mp3" and "mpv --audio-device=alsa/dmix:default bar.mp3" concurrently.
Do you usually play over the ALC233 Analog or the HDMI device?

Online

#5 2022-04-15 08:40:52

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 16,718

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Loop device could come from droidcam or so. Generally I agree, the minimal config to make dmix just work is simply adjusting the defaults node which would be

defaults.pcm.!card "PCH"
defaults.ctl.!card "PCH"

and nothing else to uniquely switch to the correct card regardless of aloops presence.

Offline

#6 2022-04-15 08:42:18

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Scrap the complex setup w/ the loop device, reload the alsa config. Check "aplay --list-devices" to confirm and post the output of "aplay -L" (dmix should™ show up there)

Deleted the config and rebooted.
The output for "aplay --list-devices" it's still same:

~ > aplay --list-devices                                                                             11:32:47
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 0: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 1: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

And here's the output for "aplay -L":

~ > aplay -L                                                                                         11:33:22
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
lavrate
    Rate Converter Plugin Using Libav/FFmpeg Library
samplerate
    Rate Converter Plugin Using Samplerate Library
speexrate
    Rate Converter Plugin Using Speex Resampler
jack
    JACK Audio Connection Kit
oss
    Open Sound System
pipewire
    PipeWire Sound Server
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
speex
    Plugin using Speex DSP (resample, agc, denoise, echo, dereverb)
upmix
    Plugin for channel upmix (4,6,8)
vdownmix
    Plugin for channel downmix (stereo) with a simple spacialization
default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)
sysdefault:CARD=Loopback
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    Front output / input
surround21:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
usbstream:CARD=Loopback
    Loopback
    USB Stream Output
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    Front output / input
surround21:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
usbstream:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH
    USB Stream Output
~ >                                                                                                  11:35:13

How do you test that? Are you sure you're using the dmix device - or maybe even oss?

I play music from Audacity and from osu! (a rhythm game) via ALSA.


Try to play "mpv --audio-device=alsa/dmix:default foo.mp3" and "mpv --audio-device=alsa/dmix:default bar.mp3" concurrently.
Do you usually play over the ALC233 Analog or the HDMI device?

Output for  "mpv --audio-device=alsa/dmix:default Music/Don\'t\ leave\ me\ here\ alone.mp3.mp3":

~ > mpv --audio-device=alsa/dmix:default Music/Don\'t\ leave\ me\ here\ alone.mp3                    11:38:
[ffmpeg/demuxer] mp3: Estimating duration from bitrate, this may be inaccurate
 (+) Video --vid=1 [P] (png 750x750 1.000fps)
 (+) Audio --aid=1 (mp3 2ch 44100Hz)
File tags:
 Artist: aryll fae
 Album: Artificial.Music
 Comment: If you'd like to use my music, please credit me. It's all royalty-free and free to download, but
 one thing I'd like is credit.
 Date: 2015
 Genre: calm
 Title: don't leave me here alone
[vo/x11] Warning: this legacy VO has bad performance. Consider fixing your graphics drivers, or not forcing
e x11 VO.
Displaying cover art. Use --no-audio-display to prevent this.
VO: [x11] 750x750 rgba
ALSA lib confmisc.c:855:(parse_card) cannot find card 'default'
ALSA lib conf.c:5178:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_card_id returned error: No such device
ALSA lib confmisc.c:422:(snd_func_concat) error evaluating strings
ALSA lib conf.c:5178:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_concat returned error: No such device
ALSA lib confmisc.c:1334:(snd_func_refer) error evaluating name
ALSA lib conf.c:5178:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_refer returned error: No such device
ALSA lib conf.c:5701:(snd_config_expand) Evaluate error: No such device
ALSA lib pcm.c:2664:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM dmix:default
[ao/alsa] Playback open error: No such device
[ao] Failed to initialize audio driver 'alsa'
[ao] This audio driver/device was forced with the --audio-device option.
[ao] Try unsetting it.
Could not open/initialize audio device -> no sound.
Audio: no audio

Exiting... (Interrupted by error)

I don't think I need to run another command too because that's the same thing...
And yes, I play over ALC233 Analog because I don't have an HDMI monitor smile

Offline

#7 2022-04-15 08:53:20

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

V1del wrote:

Loop device could come from droidcam or so. Generally I agree, the minimal config to make dmix just work is simply adjusting the defaults node which would be

defaults.pcm.!card "PCH"
defaults.ctl.!card "PCH"

and nothing else to uniquely switch to the correct card regardless of aloops presence.

Ah... so makes sense why I have the loopback device. And these 2 line where should i write to?

Offline

#8 2022-04-15 09:31:26

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 16,718

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

one of the asound.conf places, instead of that huge blob of broken config you have now.

Also something I'm seeing now

default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)

remove pulseaudio-alsa if that's not what you want to use.

Last edited by V1del (2022-04-15 11:24:22)

Offline

#9 2022-04-15 11:57:37

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

V1del wrote:

Generally I agree, the minimal config to make dmix just work is simply adjusting the defaults node which would be

defaults.pcm.!card "PCH"
defaults.ctl.!card "PCH"

Tried and nothing. Still limits to one software...

V1del wrote:

remove pulseaudio-alsa if that's not what you want to use.

Tried and that and still no. sad

Offline

#10 2022-04-15 11:58:21

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

You might also have t o enforce loading the dmix plugin, see https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Advanc … cture#Dmix again for this.

Online

#11 2022-04-15 12:11:05

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

seth wrote:

You might also have t o enforce loading the dmix plugin, see https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Advanc … cture#Dmix again for this.

Like this?
FluxBB bbcode test

Offline

#12 2022-04-15 12:19:19

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Is the plugin now listed?

Sanity check

Here's my /etc/asound.conf file (same on ~/.asoundrc file too):

Are there still tow files and which are you editing how?

Online

#13 2022-04-15 12:21:41

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

seth wrote:

Are there still tow files and which are you editing how?

I deleted these 2 (~/.asoundrc and /etc/asound.conf files) and then created only /etc/asound.conf.
bRd0l3I.png

Offline

#14 2022-04-15 12:25:10

karabaja4
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 957

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

From my experience this is the only thing you need in $HOME/.asoundrc or /etc/asound.conf:

defaults.pcm.!card "PCH"
defaults.ctl.!card "PCH"

You can also try to set the card by index, e.g. this is my setup:

~ >> cat .asoundrc 
defaults.ctl.card 0
defaults.pcm.card 0
~ >> aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3236 Analog [ALC3236 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Headset [Logitech USB Headset], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Last edited by karabaja4 (2022-04-15 12:38:36)

Offline

#15 2022-04-15 13:03:56

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

karabaja4 I tried and still nothing. Still limits to one software...

Offline

#16 2022-04-15 13:07:52

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Updated output of aplay -L/--list-devices?

Online

#17 2022-04-15 13:20:59

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

~ > aplay -L                                                                                                    16:19:58
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
lavrate
    Rate Converter Plugin Using Libav/FFmpeg Library
samplerate
    Rate Converter Plugin Using Samplerate Library
speexrate
    Rate Converter Plugin Using Speex Resampler
jack
    JACK Audio Connection Kit
oss
    Open Sound System
pipewire
    PipeWire Sound Server
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
speex
    Plugin using Speex DSP (resample, agc, denoise, echo, dereverb)
upmix
    Plugin for channel upmix (4,6,8)
vdownmix
    Plugin for channel downmix (stereo) with a simple spacialization
default:CARD=Loopback
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=Loopback
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    Front output / input
surround21:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Loopback,DEV=0
    Loopback, Loopback PCM
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
usbstream:CARD=Loopback
    Loopback
    USB Stream Output
default:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    Front output / input
surround21:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC233 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
usbstream:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH
    USB Stream Output

still same

Offline

#18 2022-04-15 13:24:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Did you change anything? Where'S "--list-devices"?
But this looks like the loopback device is still the default and I might be missing sth. but the dmix plugin is still not listed (I actually use a HW mixer, so I can't check immediately whether it would be)

Online

#19 2022-04-15 13:27:26

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

seth the output is still same...

~ > aplay --list-devices                                                                                        16:25:53
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 0: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 0: Loopback [Loopback], device 1: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

And the config is like that:
bRd0l3I.png

And still nothing

Offline

#20 2022-04-15 13:35:22

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Because nothing has changed - instead of posting screenhots of "something" you could try to re-order the cards, /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

options snd_hda_intel index=0
options snd_aloop index=1

you'll have to reboot afterwards but should be able to go completely w/o the asound.conf

Edit: and try to play two files w/ mpv (no -ao direction) and post the outputs.

Last edited by seth (2022-04-15 13:40:04)

Online

#21 2022-04-15 13:50:08

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Okay so running both mpv's at the same time works.
qT1yp8Q.png

AND I CAN PLAY MUSIC FROM AUDACITY AND FROM OSU! AT THE SAME TIME :-D
Thank you so much. I really appreciate. You can mark now as solved :-)

Edit: idk how to edit the title to add [SOLVED] at the beginning lol

Last edited by gabubu (2022-04-15 13:51:51)

Offline

#22 2022-04-15 13:53:38

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

So what changed to go from "And still nothing" to " I CAN PLAY MUSIC FROM AUDACITY AND FROM OSU"?

Mark resolved threads by editing your initial posts subject - so others will know that there's no task left, but maybe a solution to find.
Thanks.

Online

#23 2022-04-15 14:00:43

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

So to make you understand. Maybe I misunderstood or something. I tried to move from PulseAudio and use the pure ALSA instead. But that move was kinda awful from me before. What I meant is that I can play music from only one software. If I want to play music FROM another software AT THE SAME TIME, it says "busy" or error idk... I spent 3 days (including today) for searching and trying .asoundrc configs but none of them worked. So my last option was to create an account on this forum and to create a new thread. Thanks to you, seth, now it works normal. I can play 2 mpv's at the same time (example), without getting that "busy" error.

This solution fixed my problem with ALSA:

options snd_hda_intel index=0
options snd_aloop index=1

Thank you again and have a great day :-)

Last edited by gabubu (2022-04-15 14:03:33)

Offline

#24 2022-04-15 14:09:46

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 30,744

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

Ok, so for posteriority: the basic problem was that the loop device got in the way, but I'm not sure whether you simply failed to make it not the default card or that just having it on index 0 impedes dmix.

Online

#25 2022-04-15 14:10:57

gabubu
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] ALSA and dmix (software mixing)

tbh i'm noob at ALSA. but from now i know what to do in that case :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB