You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-23 21:09:41

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,028

How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

For a game i am playing (freespace2 open) i would like to run it on a second X11 virtual display.

Following Fs2_open_on_Linux#fs2_open_freezes_X i am able to start second display with xinit -- :1 , but this only works from console.

Also the method used there (copying the mit-magic-cookie) doesn't appear to be very user-friendly.

So i have 2 questions :

is there a way to give a user permanent permission to start a second display ?

can starting a second display be done from within X ?


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#2 2006-10-24 04:49:30

gradgrind
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 921

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

This may not be much help to you, but 'xinit -- :1' works on my computer (within KDE).

Offline

#3 2006-10-24 06:08:59

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

With qingy (in AUR), you can start several X session.

Offline

#4 2006-10-24 09:07:52

noriko
Member
From: In My Mind
Registered: 2006-06-09
Posts: 535
Website

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

i use xgame[-gtk] for this...
http://xgame.tlhiv.org/download.html


The.Revolution.Is.Coming - - To fight, To hunger, To Resist!

Offline

#5 2006-10-24 09:53:22

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

Xnest might be of help to you.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#6 2006-10-24 12:06:47

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

Lone_Wolf wrote:

For a game i am playing (freespace2 open) i would like to run it on a second X11 virtual display.

Following Fs2_open_on_Linux#fs2_open_freezes_X i am able to start second display with xinit -- :1 , but this only works from console.

Also the method used there (copying the mit-magic-cookie) doesn't appear to be very user-friendly.

So i have 2 questions :

is there a way to give a user permanent permission to start a second display ?

What DE or wm are you using, kde has an inbuilt option to start another session

Offline

#7 2006-10-24 12:19:01

usr
Member
Registered: 2006-07-26
Posts: 20

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

You might like to try this http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show.ph … 2d72c58e8c

It's just something I made to learn how to use kommander. (you need kommander installed)
It's just a GUI for starting new X-servers and running programs on them.  Currently you can only run one program at a time but that's probably OK for a game  big_smile


Do you ever get that "Oops" feeling?

Offline

#8 2006-10-24 14:58:10

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,028

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

I've checked and the change to xauth appears to be permanent as it was still present after a reboot and a cold start.

I use KDE as wm/de , but start it from console with startx.
I have no options for starting another session, possibly because i don't use kdm or another login manager.

startx works from within kde , xinit works from console.
Unfortunately fs2_open crashes with a segfault after switching back and forth between display 0 and display 1 a few times.
When running fs_open on display 0 it never crashes.
Sofar i've used startx -- :1 , xinit -- :1 and xinit /usr/bin/fs2-open -- :1 , and they all give the same problem.

Thanks for the tips, i'll check them out.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#9 2006-10-24 15:04:29

fdrebin
Member
Registered: 2005-04-25
Posts: 152

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

interesting, i didn't know that you can start another X server...
if i do xinit --:1 i get a "Server is already active for display 0..."
so would it be possible to start an X server with tv-out enabled from within a x server that doesn't have tv-out enabled ???

Offline

#10 2006-10-24 15:13:06

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: How to start a second X11 display from within X ?

Lone_Wolf wrote:

I've checked and the change to xauth appears to be permanent as it was still present after a reboot and a cold start.

I use KDE as wm/de , but start it from console with startx.
I have no options for starting another session, possibly because i don't use kdm or another login manager.

startx works from within kde , xinit works from console.
Unfortunately fs2_open crashes with a segfault after switching back and forth between display 0 and display 1 a few times.
When running fs_open on display 0 it never crashes.
Sofar i've used startx -- :1 , xinit -- :1 and xinit /usr/bin/fs2-open -- :1 , and they all give the same problem.

Thanks for the tips, i'll check them out.

If you using kde, you could make life alot easier if you need multiple xsession by running kdm...

I mean my system boots 21 second including starting KDM starting from xinittab... if I add it as a deamon in rc.conf it takes 36 seconds

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB