You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-25 22:04:46

elias4444
Member
Registered: 2004-03-16
Posts: 11

Installing bootloader Grub

OK, I'm at the end of my rope. I'm trying to install Arch-linux for the first time, and I'm just frustrated. It all seems to install. I do the auto-partitioning, select nothing but the base, choose the 2.6 ide-kernel, and grub as my boot loader.

All of my files seem to be correct, including the grub config file; but when I boot my computer, I just get, "Error loading Operating System." I boot off of the archlinux disk, mount the partitions manually, and everything seems to have installed, although the grub directory on partition 1 only has the menu.lst file in it. I then run grub manually and try to install it to my MBR...I keep getting "can't find stage1" though. What's going on?

It looks like the bootloader is simply not installing in any way shape or form. Can anyone help me?

I'm on an AMD 1.2ghz machine, with one hard-drive on the promise IDE controller. It comes up as /dev/hde.

Offline

#2 2004-03-25 23:08:29

elias4444
Member
Registered: 2004-03-16
Posts: 11

Re: Installing bootloader Grub

Two hours of trying....and the solution was to install windows...then install archlinux. For some reason, after I did that, archlinux then gave me an option of where to install Grub. Now it work...if only I could figure pacman out.  :?

Offline

#3 2004-03-27 21:19:20

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: Installing bootloader Grub

Could you form a kind of question?


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#4 2004-03-27 21:54:37

elias4444
Member
Registered: 2004-03-16
Posts: 11

Re: Installing bootloader Grub

I'm just a complete newbie is all. Mostly, I'm trying to figure out a good way to search for packages I want and to get a list of everything it's going to install before it actually does it.

Offline

#5 2004-03-28 10:36:04

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: Installing bootloader Grub

... at www.archlinux.org is a formular, where you can search for packages.
On the other hand, type 'pacman -Ss something' gives you a list of all packages that be named 'something' or have a description related to 'something'.

And, 'man pacman' would give you some hint. By the way, don't ever read the wiki.archlinux.org, it is a secret.  wink


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#6 2004-11-28 01:57:31

Murac
Member
Registered: 2004-04-27
Posts: 14

Re: Installing bootloader Grub

i am having the EXACT same problem. I've tried auto and regular partitioning and whenever i install either bootloader, i get the "error loading operating system" i've concluded that this is a bios error in which case there is no bootloader being evoked. It was suggested to me that I install them to the MBR, how can i do this? Also, i do not want to install windows, can anyone help me find a correct solution to this?

Offline

#7 2004-11-28 03:03:31

Bzillins8906
Member
Registered: 2004-10-22
Posts: 31

Re: Installing bootloader Grub

Back when I used to just pray and "auto" load the bootloader grub would almost always fail. Lilo on the other hand worked everytime except once.....


My biggest problem is that arch is de-skilling me. All I have to do is type pacman -Syu everyday - where's the fun in that??
When I used rpm I could spend hours trying to make basic packages work... "robot5x"
Joined:  22 Oct 2004
User # 2279

Offline

#8 2004-11-28 07:26:29

Murac
Member
Registered: 2004-04-27
Posts: 14

Re: Installing bootloader Grub

i got it to work after a low-level reformat : i think windows had just screwed up the mbr...dunno

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB