You are not logged in.

#1 2022-05-14 13:18:41

Elgateau
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 5

[SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

Hello everyone

I'm a newbie with Arch Linux

When i tried to update with

sudo pacman -Syu

I getting the following error

error: Partition /boot too full: 5322 blocks needed, 85 blocks free
error: not enough free disk space
error: failed to commit transaction (not enough free disk space)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

I'm on a dual boot Windows 10 Arch linux on two separate drive
the /boot is located in my Windows drive

Thanks a lot for your response

Last edited by Elgateau (2022-05-14 14:18:34)

Offline

#2 2022-05-14 13:21:46

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,799

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

The error is pretty clear. What's the question?

Offline

#3 2022-05-14 13:32:11

Elgateau
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

Hello Scimmia

Thanks you for your response

I don't know how to allocate more space for the partition of /boot 

I've tried using gparted but even as root i cannot do it

How can i allocate more place for the partition of /boot ?

It's strange because when i do :

sudo pacman -S

on any package, it work

Thanks

Last edited by Elgateau (2022-05-14 13:32:42)

Offline

#4 2022-05-14 14:16:07

Elgateau
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

Hi

I found the solution, the problem seems to come from package intel-ucode, i removed it, and now it's working

Offline

#5 2022-05-14 14:23:56

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,324

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

That's not a very good solution.

du -hs /boot/*

Offline

#6 2022-05-14 14:35:51

Elgateau
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

Hello seth

The problem is i don't have space to install or update it (in the /boot partition)

Do i need to allocate more space to the partition ? And if yes How ?

Last edited by Elgateau (2022-05-14 14:36:54)

Offline

#7 2022-05-14 14:39:31

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,324

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

1st by checking whether there's some space wasted for really useless stuff.
2nd by probably booting from a different partition - growing teh boot partition, which is likely at the head of the drive, is gonna be a complete PITA (w/ inherent risk of data loss) because you'd have to move at least the adjacent partition.
Next to the du, post

lsblk -f

Offline

#8 2022-05-14 17:39:24

Elgateau
Member
Registered: 2022-05-14
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

Thank you seth for your help now it's working

Offline

#9 2022-05-14 19:41:33

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 17,604

Re: [SOLVED] Unable to do update with pacman

None of what seth suggested would inherently fix anything but just be diagnostics, what did you end up doing?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB