You are not logged in.

#1 2022-06-23 09:38:53

RounakDutta
Member
From: West Bengal, India
Registered: 2022-02-11
Posts: 125
Website

Arch taking a lot of time to shut down

I am using kde plasma and whenever I try to shutdown my pc down it takes a lot of time to shut down.
I don't know why.
Here is my shutdown log - http://0x0.st/oS8D.txthttps://gist.github.com/prorounak2005/3 … 62ca4bb2db

Whenever I try to shutdown it. It shows this message https://i.imgur.com/dNxrC8T.jpeg and it takes 4 to 5 minutes for it to completely shut down.

I asked people in the kde forums ( forums.kde.org ) and they said that there is a problem with your arch.

I tried xfce , cinnamon , gnome , budgie , i3 , dwm and bspwm. Faced no problems. Only having this problem with kde plasma.

When I ran coredumpctl command I found this -

 
[rounak@archissexy ~]$ sudo coredumpctl list
TIME                        PID  UID  GID SIG     COREFILE EXE               SIZE
Thu 2022-06-23 13:59:41 IST 587 1000 1000 SIGSEGV present  /usr/bin/kwin_x11 3.0M

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by RounakDutta (2022-06-23 10:12:24)


I am a baller shot caller
I am a arch linux installer
Your proprietary operating system
I wouldn't buy for a dollar

Offline

#2 2022-06-23 10:21:16

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 16,491

Re: Arch taking a lot of time to shut down

Somewhat of a known bug with aurorae engine window decorations, which window decoration are you using and can you reproduce with Breeze ?

Offline

#3 2022-06-23 10:23:31

RounakDutta
Member
From: West Bengal, India
Registered: 2022-02-11
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Arch taking a lot of time to shut down

V1del wrote:

Somewhat of a known bug with aurorae engine window decorations, which window decoration are you using and can you reproduce with Breeze ?

I am using breeze dark and thanks to the great arch man page( https://man.archlinux.org/man/coredumpctl.1). I got more info on this bug - http://0x0.st/oSK8.txt

I am using breeze window decoration - https://i.imgur.com/j1gVJmH.png

Still having the same problem with breeze.

Last edited by RounakDutta (2022-06-23 10:30:41)


I am a baller shot caller
I am a arch linux installer
Your proprietary operating system
I wouldn't buy for a dollar

Offline

#4 2022-06-23 10:42:42

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,308

Re: Arch taking a lot of time to shut down

I always use the following:

In: /etc/systemd/system.conf add:
DefaultTimeoutStopSec=10s
ShutdownWatchdogSec=20s

In: /etc/systemd/user.conf add:
DefaultTimeoutStopSec=10s

This will force the shutdown even if some process refuses to exit cleanly or whatever.
If you're interested in knowing the root cause, don't use it.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2022-06-23 10:44:48)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !

Offline

#5 2022-06-23 10:50:03

RounakDutta
Member
From: West Bengal, India
Registered: 2022-02-11
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Arch taking a lot of time to shut down

kokoko3k wrote:

I always use the following:

In: /etc/systemd/system.conf add:
DefaultTimeoutStopSec=10s
ShutdownWatchdogSec=20s

In: /etc/systemd/user.conf add:
DefaultTimeoutStopSec=10s

This will force the shutdown even if some process refuses to exit cleanly or whatever.
If you're interested in knowing the root cause, don't use it.

Thanks for the workaround 
I already made a bug report. https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=453928
This bug is there in kde for 2 years (since 2020)!!
Here is the coredump file I generated which tells everything in details - https://paste.rs/m0K


I am a baller shot caller
I am a arch linux installer
Your proprietary operating system
I wouldn't buy for a dollar

Offline

#6 2022-06-23 12:31:52

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 16,491

Re: Arch taking a lot of time to shut down

The KDE dev asked for debug  symbols, see https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Debuginfod for how to set up debuginfod, if you rerun coredumpctl gdb and bt full on the coredump with debuginfod properly set up, you should be able to gather debug symbols.

FWIW I can't reproduce this at all here, but with standard breeze decos, breeze dark however should be an adjusted variant that also doesn't run into aurorae engine bugs.

Last edited by V1del (2022-06-23 12:33:03)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB