You are not logged in.

#1 2022-07-14 02:02:32

TadaenSylvermane
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Reason PKGBUILDs usually aren't multi core enabled?

I noticed this the other day and I checked the documentation, maybe I missed it.

When I do something from the AUR if there is a make process in the PKGBUILD it only does a single core. Is it expected to have a MAKEFLAGS set else is a reason they aren't something like this?

make -j $(nproc)

If I missed it forgive me. Curious to the reasoning as there are so few single core machines these days it seems a bit odd.

Offline

#2 2022-07-14 02:04:43

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 15,092

Re: Reason PKGBUILDs usually aren't multi core enabled?

Offline

#3 2022-07-14 02:08:19

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,428

Re: Reason PKGBUILDs usually aren't multi core enabled?

Yes, you are expected to configure MAKEFLAGS. You set it to what you want, PKGBUILDs should not override that to use all cores. May people don't want it to use all cores.

Offline

#4 2022-07-14 02:45:53

JaydenDev
Member
Registered: 2022-07-11
Posts: 122

Re: Reason PKGBUILDs usually aren't multi core enabled?

While using all processor cores can sometimes double, triple, or quadruple compile times. It can bring your system to a screeching halt, and cause the system to be unusable. As it uses 100% on said amount of cores, it can make your system plain unusable for other tasks. And at the worst, freeze your system and prevent the compilation from continuing until you restart.


System Specs:
Intel Core i5-2400 Nvidia GTX 1050ti Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury (Mouse) BestBuy Essentials USB Keyboard
Software Specifications:
Desktop Environment: KDE Plasma Window Manager: KWin Operating System: Arch Linux (btw)

Offline

#5 2022-07-19 20:41:10

TadaenSylvermane
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: Reason PKGBUILDs usually aren't multi core enabled?

Been away for a few days. Thank you much for the explanation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB