You are not logged in.

#1 2022-10-01 20:10:11

ElMastro
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 57

[SOLVED]git config switched branch on PKGBUILD

Greetings;
I have this PKGBUILD openmodelica-git where the source is downloaded with git, the submodules updated and then configured and 'make' is run.

The problems are:

  • During the compilation I see

    ==> Avvio di build() in corso...
    configure.ac:179: warning: AC_OUTPUT should be used without arguments.
    configure.ac:179: You should run autoupdate.
    configure.ac:179: warning: AC_OUTPUT should be used without arguments.
    configure.ac:179: You should run autoupdate.
    configure.ac:174: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:174: You should run autoupdate.
    ./lib/autoconf/general.m4:2920: AC_TRY_LINK is expanded from...
    configure.ac:174: the top level
    configure.ac:185: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:185: You should run autoupdate.
    ./lib/autoconf/general.m4:2920: AC_TRY_LINK is expanded from...
    configure.ac:185: the top level
    configure.ac:193: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:193: You should run autoupdate.
    ./lib/autoconf/general.m4:2920: AC_TRY_LINK is expanded from...
    configure.ac:193: the top level
    configure.ac:219: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:219: You should run autoupdate.
    ./lib/autoconf/general.m4:2920: AC_TRY_LINK is expanded from...
    configure.ac:219: the top level
    configure.ac:227: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:227: You should run autoupdate.
    ./lib/autoconf/general.m4:2920: AC_TRY_LINK is expanded from...
    configure.ac:227: the top level
    configure.ac:234: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:234: You should run autoupdate.
    ./lib/autoconf/general.m4:2920: AC_TRY_LINK is expanded from...
    configure.ac:234: the top level
    configure.ac:241: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:241: You should run autoupdate.
    ./lib/autoconf/general.m4:2920: AC_TRY_LINK is expanded from...
    configure.ac:241: the top level
    configure.ac:254: warning: The macro `AC_TRY_LINK' is obsolete.
    configure.ac:254: You should run autoupdate

    , which makes me think that I should run 'autoupdate' somewhere, but I don't understand where exactly

  • After this, I see

    Submodule path 'OMSens': checked out 'e3268e9e3ee9cf5129f6509351df084b2562be99'

    and this means that git is cloning the submodule from a different commit/branch from the master one (which I committed yesterday). I believe this happens on the

    git config submodule.OMSens.url "$srcdir"/OMSens 

    part and it could depend on my git configuration (somehow)

Could you please give me some suggestions?

Last edited by ElMastro (2022-10-02 15:53:35)

Offline

#2 2022-10-02 08:14:05

astralc
Member
Registered: 2022-09-17
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED]git config switched branch on PKGBUILD

for the submodule version:
git use a recorded commit hash in the main repo when using "git submodule update". You need to run it with --remote to update submodules to latest -

git submodule update --remote

I think the autoreconf warnings mean that the configure.ac is not updated to latest version, and have something obsolete (as far as I read in man pages)

for the PKGBUILD -
* you have used wget to download a file, instead source array (also wget is not in depends/makedepends)
* python is not in makedepends
* shouldn't you update the submodules of submodules (like OMOptim) before updating the main one?

Offline

#3 2022-10-02 15:21:27

ElMastro
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED]git config switched branch on PKGBUILD

@astralc:
First things first, thank you, the

git submodule update --remote.

solved my problem. I don't have any idea what it is in the configure.ac file, my only left option at this point is to ignore it.
About the PKGBUILD:
*Sorry about the

 rm compiled_model.py
    wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/OpenModelica/OMSens/master/modelica_interface/compiled_model.py 

it is just some trash I added to update that file. Now that you've solved the problem, it will be eliminated.
*I have some problem about

python setup.py install

as it is not suited to be run inside a PKGBUILD script, so I will have to ask/figure something out about how to make it works. Python shall probably be in optdependes as it makes the OMSens part working,as far as I know.
*I have honestly no idea about why there is this part on submodules in the PKGBUILD. I just fixed it in order to work, I don't know why the previous Mantainer wrote this, and still without it the script fails, so I will have to let it stay.

Offline

#4 2022-10-02 15:25:23

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,560

Re: [SOLVED]git config switched branch on PKGBUILD

You do NOT want to use git submodule update --remote. The commit used is set in the main repo, if you want a different commit, change it there, as in upstream.

Last edited by Scimmia (2022-10-02 15:26:18)

Offline

#5 2022-10-02 15:56:49

ElMastro
Member
Registered: 2015-12-02
Posts: 57

Re: [SOLVED]git config switched branch on PKGBUILD

@Scimmia:
I just checked, and the commit on GitHub is "66b920baa17d47b2d03ab789dc6a48d2065ce930", the one I uploaded and the correct one. I am pretty sure the problem is/was on the configuration of git of my computer

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB