You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-15 13:32:53

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I want to install Arch Linux on a UEFI desktop computer. I created a USB disk using Rufus (tried both methods and one more USB creator), however it automatically boots to the GRUB screen and some nonsense is typed on its own. After typing some random letters automatically, it gets stuck at typing a long string of Hhhh and doesn't stop. At that point I've no other option other than to restart. I tried the USB in an old non UEFI laptop, it seems to work fine there. Kindly help. It's my first post, so I'm sorry I have missed some rule or guideline regarding posting. Any help is much appreciated. Thank you.

https://i.ibb.co/gzXz4x1/20221110-221220.jpg

Offline

#2 2022-11-15 13:56:42

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

What If you detach both keyboard and mouse?


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Online

#3 2022-11-15 14:02:41

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I did that. Detached the keyboard, changed the USB port, but it didn't help.

d.ALT wrote:

What If you detach both keyboard and mouse?

Offline

#4 2022-11-15 14:21:24

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

Is this happening on which mode? Pure UEFI or CSM (Compatibility Support Module) mode?


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Online

#5 2022-11-15 14:37:59

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

It happens on both. I remember changing the non CSM option in BIOS settings.

d.ALT wrote:

Is this happening on which mode? Pure UEFI or CSM (Compatibility Support Module) mode?

Offline

#6 2022-11-15 14:52:37

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I'm out of ideas...
- try another USB pen
- verify ArchLinux ISO's hash:

Checksums

File integrity checksums for the latest releases can be found below:

    ISO PGP signature
    Bootstrap tarball PGP signature
    PGP fingerprint: 0x9741E8AC
    WKD Lookup: gpg --auto-key-locate clear,wkd -v --locate-external-key pierre@archlinux.de
    SHA256: df6749df55b02cec98e5a9177c7957acfb96fe14d04553b6e4714100a4824f68
    BLAKE2b: 52828ea502aad6aade630518a304be815ebdfd0bf3f925fea0bfa83ffca505a19aa2e93b22dafd456e92af4fa535084132234d6f12a40b5c3316b35c5caf6746


(https://archlinux.org/download/)


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Online

#7 2022-11-15 15:01:10

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,838

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

How are you writing it to USB, exactly?

Offline

#8 2022-11-15 15:01:41

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

As I said, the USB works on a different system. I verified the SHA256 of the ISO. Everything's fine there.
Anyway, I appreciate your help. Thank you.

d.ALT wrote:

I'm out of ideas...
- try another USB pen
- verify ArchLinux ISO's hash:

Checksums

File integrity checksums for the latest releases can be found below:

    ISO PGP signature
    Bootstrap tarball PGP signature
    PGP fingerprint: 0x9741E8AC
    WKD Lookup: gpg --auto-key-locate clear,wkd -v --locate-external-key pierre@archlinux.de
    SHA256: df6749df55b02cec98e5a9177c7957acfb96fe14d04553b6e4714100a4824f68
    BLAKE2b: 52828ea502aad6aade630518a304be815ebdfd0bf3f925fea0bfa83ffca505a19aa2e93b22dafd456e92af4fa535084132234d6f12a40b5c3316b35c5caf6746


(https://archlinux.org/download/)

Last edited by rudin (2022-11-15 15:01:57)

Offline

#9 2022-11-15 15:03:26

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I used Rufus. Tried it both in normal and DD mode, GPT, MBR, everything. Nothing helped.

Scimmia wrote:

How are you writing it to USB, exactly?

Offline

#10 2022-11-15 15:06:00

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 9,838

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

See the note here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/USB_fl … sing_Rufus

getting to a grub prompt means that you have no config, so it's likely not loading the ISO's grub.

Offline

#11 2022-11-15 15:09:53

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I have also tried win32diskimager and did refer the guide for creating USB. Nothing helped.

Scimmia wrote:

See the note here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/USB_fl … sing_Rufus

getting to a grub prompt means that you have no config, so it's likely not loading the ISO's grub.

Offline

#12 2022-11-15 15:11:40

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

Did you try booting-next the usb pen from the Windows' UEFI menu?
Also disable Windows Fast Start (if not already).


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Online

#13 2022-11-15 15:17:32

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

What's booting next? I set USB as the first device for boot, also tried the other way of selecting boot option and booting from the USB, but to no avail. Yes, Fast Start is disabled.

d.ALT wrote:

Did you try booting-next the usb pen from the Windows' UEFI menu?
Also disable Windows Fast Start (if not already).

Last edited by rudin (2022-11-15 15:18:02)

Offline

#14 2022-11-15 15:19:30

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

rudin wrote:

What's booting next?

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-ente … ows-10-pcs

But - at this point - I don't have any hopes it could boot successfully...


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Online

#15 2022-11-15 15:25:08

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I think it's about accessing the boot menu, which I can. I also format the EFI partition, just in case that was creating any issues, but it didn't help. Thank you for your help. Appreciate it.

d.ALT wrote:
rudin wrote:

What's booting next?

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-ente … ows-10-pcs

But - at this point - I don't have any hopes it could boot successfully...

Offline

#16 2022-11-15 15:35:21

d.ALT
Member
Registered: 2019-05-10
Posts: 383

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

Just a "stupid" idea... Last resort... What if you try booting a distro which by default ships with SHIM enabled?
Could you try latest Fedora and/or *buntu?


<49,17,III,I>    Fama di loro il mondo esser non lassa;
<50,17,III,I>    misericordia e giustizia li sdegna:
<51,17,III,I>    non ragioniam di lor, ma guarda e passa.

Online

#17 2022-11-15 16:08:26

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

Yes, seems like I have to try some other distro. I'll look up what's SHIM.

d.ALT wrote:

Just a "stupid" idea... Last resort... What if you try booting a distro which by default ships with SHIM enabled?
Could you try latest Fedora and/or *buntu?

Offline

#18 2022-11-15 16:50:41

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 6,859

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

rudin wrote:

Yes, seems like I have to try some other distro.

Note that the suggestion isn't that you install another distro, unless you wish to. But whether one with shim boots successfully may help figure out the problem booting Arch's.


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

#19 2022-11-16 04:03:49

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I tried to look up what shim is. Apparently it's booting Archlinux with Secure boot enabled? Could you tell me what exactly I should do with this shim method?

cfr wrote:
rudin wrote:

Yes, seems like I have to try some other distro.

Note that the suggestion isn't that you install another distro, unless you wish to. But whether one with shim boots successfully may help figure out the problem booting Arch's.

Offline

#20 2022-11-16 18:55:56

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 6,859

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

rudin wrote:

I tried to look up what shim is. Apparently it's booting Archlinux with Secure boot enabled? Could you tell me what exactly I should do with this shim method?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Unifie … _Boot#shim

But I doubt you need to know that in order to try a live distro which uses it. Just make a live usb or whatever for a distro which uses it and see if it will boot your machine. If so, one relevant difference *might* be the support for secure boot in that distro.

Note that it shouldn't make a difference if you have secure boot disabled, but 'shouldn't' and 'doesn't' are very different things when it comes to UEFI implementations.


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

#21 2022-11-16 22:20:39

rudin
Member
Registered: 2022-11-15
Posts: 11

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

I tried Ubuntu Live USB and it worked absolutely fine with both Secure boot on and off. The Grub version in it is 2.06. The Arch Linux setup works fine in other machines. I tried it in a HP laptop with UEFI mode and it worked alright. One more observation, the Arch Linux setup works in Legacy mode on my pc, however, there also the Grub menu doesn't appear. It barely shows the Grub menu for a split second, and automatically selects some option and opens in the Arch terminal.

cfr wrote:
rudin wrote:

I tried to look up what shim is. Apparently it's booting Archlinux with Secure boot enabled? Could you tell me what exactly I should do with this shim method?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Unifie … _Boot#shim

But I doubt you need to know that in order to try a live distro which uses it. Just make a live usb or whatever for a distro which uses it and see if it will boot your machine. If so, one relevant difference *might* be the support for secure boot in that distro.

Note that it shouldn't make a difference if you have secure boot disabled, but 'shouldn't' and 'doesn't' are very different things when it comes to UEFI implementations.

Last edited by rudin (2022-11-16 22:22:16)

Offline

#22 2022-11-16 23:56:10

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 6,859

Re: Setup automatically opening in GRUB

rudin wrote:

I tried Ubuntu Live USB and it worked absolutely fine with both Secure boot on and off. The Grub version in it is 2.06. The Arch Linux setup works fine in other machines. I tried it in a HP laptop with UEFI mode and it worked alright. One more observation, the Arch Linux setup works in Legacy mode on my pc, however, there also the Grub menu doesn't appear. It barely shows the Grub menu for a split second, and automatically selects some option and opens in the Arch terminal.

You don't get a menu, but you get the regular Arch shell? (Not grub, rescue or emergency? It would tell you if that was the case.)

Something in the Arch ISO your UEFI doesn't like ....

Is installing in legacy mode an option? I assume you could switch to EFI booting later. (If necessary, you could boot Ubuntu, I think, and chroot into your Arch system.) However, it is hard to say what exactly the problem is (e.g. you might find you need to set up secure booting or you might find it likes some boot loaders but not others etc.).

You could also try an older Arch ISO. There were some changes recently (end of the summer??) to the way it boots and I know recent images have caused strange issues on some hardware. What I can't remember is whether that affected legacy or EFI mode.


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB