You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-24 13:48:34

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 66

[SOLVED] Setting monitor vertically....`

HI..

I'm in XFCE & trying to set-up a vertical monitor. I have the monitor rotated to the right & sitting vertically, but I cannot for the life of me get the desktop to display vertically on the monitor. XFCE display setting & xrandr have the options to rotate the display, but don't offer the correct resolution for displaying vertically. The monitor is 1920x1080 & whenever I set the rotation, half of the screen is black & nothing is rotated correctly other than the mouse cursor. Please help....

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-24 14:42:12)


S E L . . . .

Offline

#2 2022-11-24 13:58:09

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,337

Re: [SOLVED] Setting monitor vertically....`

Post the output of "xrandr -q" (when rotating) and disable the https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Xfwm#Composite_manager

Online

#3 2022-11-24 14:02:40

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 66

Re: [SOLVED] Setting monitor vertically....`

Here is the output for xrandr -q. Also screen tearing got sorted because I just needed to turn on Force Composition Pipeline in the nvidia setting.
Just to note.. I can rotate my main monitor vertically just fine. The main monitor is connected to nvidia vga port & this second monitor is connected to the on-board intel vga port....

Last edited by furycd001 (2022-11-24 14:04:21)


S E L . . . .

Offline

#4 2022-11-24 14:22:17

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,337

Re: [SOLVED] Setting monitor vertically....`

I can rotate my main monitor vertically just fine. The main monitor is connected to nvidia vga port & this second monitor is connected to the on-board intel vga port....

Which is going to be the problem.
Post your xorg log.
The xrandr output has only "VGA1" rotated, but not "VGA-0"

Online

#5 2022-11-24 14:27:57

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 66

Re: [SOLVED] Setting monitor vertically....`

seth wrote:

I can rotate my main monitor vertically just fine. The main monitor is connected to nvidia vga port & this second monitor is connected to the on-board intel vga port....

Which is going to be the problem.
Post your xorg log.
The xrandr output has only "VGA1" rotated, but not "VGA-0"

Here is my Xorg.0.log. Yes xrandr is showing correctly, because don't have my main monitor currently rotated. I was just noting that it can be rotated, without encountering any problems....


S E L . . . .

Offline

#6 2022-11-24 14:34:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 33,337

Re: [SOLVED] Setting monitor vertically....`

You're running on the nvidia GPU, using the intel one only as crtc.
I'd first and foremost drop xf86-video-intel and see whether the modesetting driver performs better.
Thta being said:

[  2662.146] (II) intel(G0): switch to mode 1920x1080@60.0 on VGA1 using pipe 0, position (1920, 0), rotation left, reflection none

The rotation is applied, it's probably that the nvidia driver doesn't take that into account.

Consider running the server on the intel chip.

Online

#7 2022-11-24 14:41:56

furycd001
Member
Registered: 2021-07-14
Posts: 66

Re: [SOLVED] Setting monitor vertically....`

seth wrote:

You're running on the nvidia GPU, using the intel one only as crtc.
I'd first and foremost drop xf86-video-intel and see whether the modesetting driver performs better.
Thta being said:

[  2662.146] (II) intel(G0): switch to mode 1920x1080@60.0 on VGA1 using pipe 0, position (1920, 0), rotation left, reflection none

The rotation is applied, it's probably that the nvidia driver doesn't take that into account.

Consider running the server on the intel chip.

I'm sorry.. but.. I owe you soooo much. You got my monitor working & now you've just got it rotating correctly smile I just uninstalled xf86-video-intel & now the monitor is rotating & working perfectly. Thank you ever so much smile


S E L . . . .

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB